SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-20-2020, 02:10 PM
dinki's Avatar
dinki dinki is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Should I use an SSD for live tv?

I'm back to using SageTV full time and we are watching a lot of live tv. Is it better for my hard drive to get an SSD to use for live tv? Is there a way to have Sage use an SSD for live tv but have it store recordings on a different drive?
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500, 16GB RAM, OMV Linux 4.17, 3 TB of Data
SageTV 9 Docker, Open DCT Docker
Silicondust HDHomeRun Duo + Quatro
Sage Mini Client on Amazon Fire Sticks and Android TVs
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-21-2020, 10:40 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,372
My comments are assuming you are recording to a storage drive that isn't your OS drive. While you will definitely see a overall speed improvement (not just with SageTV) if you have a SSID drive for your OS drive, I don't think you will see any benefit by recording to an SSID drive vs a regular drive. In other words, recording a stream or two isn't going to max out the write speed of a regular hard drive. Of course if you are trying to record a lot of concurrent recordings, it's possible you could max out the write speed. I think I've seen it sometimes on my system, but only when the cable card tuner is recording on all 6 tuners at the same time and not all the time either. I think it only happens when the bit rate is high on all the recordings for some reason.
__________________
i7-6700 server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all

Last edited by sic0048; 08-21-2020 at 10:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-21-2020, 10:47 AM
dinki's Avatar
dinki dinki is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
I guess I could have been clearer with my concern. My main concern was the constant wear on the drive with all the writes and not so much the speed of the drive.

The plan is to use a portion of the SSD for the OS and the remainder for the SageTV recording directory for the Live TV watching and recordings. I'll then create a cron job to run nightly to move any recordings to the large data drive.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500, 16GB RAM, OMV Linux 4.17, 3 TB of Data
SageTV 9 Docker, Open DCT Docker
Silicondust HDHomeRun Duo + Quatro
Sage Mini Client on Amazon Fire Sticks and Android TVs
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-21-2020, 01:06 PM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 387
That's what I was doing under Windows, spreading recordings over two SSD's, then moving them to the NAS overnight. The faster SSD's help playback startup and skipping around, as well as comskip tasks, go more quickly.

And with SSD drives being pretty inexpensive these days, even if you do wear one out more quickly, the cost amortized over time (say $50 for a 500GB SSD that wears out in 3 years) is 4.5 cents per day. Well worth the cost for an appliance you probably use every day. And I suspect it will last much longer than 3 years.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-21-2020, 06:52 PM
peternm22 peternm22 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 698
I noticed there were a few TV companies including SSD's in their latest DVR's (Telus up here in Canada for instance), so if they think it's reliable enough, that's good enough for me.

I switched my recording drive to a 2 TB Crucial drive a year or two ago, and no problems yet.

In my experience the reliability of SSD's is pretty close to that of old school spinning drives at this point. I've had multiple spinning drives fail over the years, but I have yet to experience an SSD failure. I know failures can happen, but so far so good!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-21-2020, 07:05 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by peternm22 View Post
I've had multiple spinning drives fail over the years, but I have yet to experience an SSD failure.
I'm in the same boat, plenty of spinner failures, but never had an SSD failure since my first one in 2008. This isn't to say that the SSD drives haven't experienced cell loss, but nothing that compromised any files to my knowledge.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-22-2020, 08:28 AM
dinki's Avatar
dinki dinki is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Unfortunately my last HDD failure was an SSD though it was the very first SSD I had ever purchased so I guess nothing last forever, right?
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500, 16GB RAM, OMV Linux 4.17, 3 TB of Data
SageTV 9 Docker, Open DCT Docker
Silicondust HDHomeRun Duo + Quatro
Sage Mini Client on Amazon Fire Sticks and Android TVs
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-22-2020, 03:05 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,798
Recording isn't that write extensive you are Writing at the most an HD recording say 12 Gigabit long over an hour period it is not like you are writing 12 GIG in a few seconds like copying a file. Most of my recordings last night are at the most 4 GIG for a 1 hour show ... It does not take much bandwidth to write 4 GIG over a 1 hour period.... it is barely a blip on a HD.

As far as I know you cannot direct live TV to another drive other than the recording drives. SageTV treats livetv as if it was a recording that is why when you are viewing Livetv and hit record it will record from the time you started watching.

Channels DVR when watching livetv uses the client storage for the buffer.... therefore if you hit record only from the time you hit record will be saved.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 08-22-2020 at 03:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-22-2020, 03:31 PM
dinki's Avatar
dinki dinki is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
I'm not concerned with speed/bandwidth. My concern is the constant writing going on on the spinning drive and how that might wear it out faster. Perhaps I'm misguided in that thought.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500, 16GB RAM, OMV Linux 4.17, 3 TB of Data
SageTV 9 Docker, Open DCT Docker
Silicondust HDHomeRun Duo + Quatro
Sage Mini Client on Amazon Fire Sticks and Android TVs
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-22-2020, 04:15 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinki View Post
I'm not concerned with speed/bandwidth. My concern is the constant writing going on on the spinning drive and how that might wear it out faster. Perhaps I'm misguided in that thought.
Gotcha I think the lifespan of an SSD is lessoned if you fill it up and delete fill it up and delete ... In your case for LiveTV it would not hurt much ... but at the moment there is no way to seperate LiveTV I wish there was. At one time I was recording to an SSD then moving to a nas ... but that defeats the way SageTV maintains space. I was using SJQ to move the files.

A SSD does help with Comskip.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 08-22-2020 at 04:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-22-2020, 08:58 PM
Striker:WG Striker:WG is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 435
You could solve this with Unraid.

Setup a cache drive pool with SSD's.

When Unraid's nightly mover job kicks in, it will move it to your platter based array.

From Sage's perspective, it will see it all as the same drive.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WD TV Live Plus - anyone? tvmaster2 Hardware Support 10 10-06-2011 08:31 PM
Live TV is not always "live" in SageTV V7 bohan SageTV v7 Customizations 6 05-28-2011 03:52 PM
Crashing When Setting Up Live TV - Cannot Set Up live TV poobumwee SageTV Software 0 01-01-2009 02:38 AM
View two shows at once? live or combo or live and taped glmason SageTV Software 4 02-20-2007 02:24 PM
"Live TV" jumps to Delete before Live TV (Cayars STV) eobiont SageTV Customizations 2 04-13-2005 06:02 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.