SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-19-2022, 02:03 PM
hb4 hb4 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 342
Channels Tuner Sharing - Sage on VMs.

I understand it's possible to use ChannelsDVR as a tuner for a Prime, OpenDCT for tuner pooling, and OpenDCT/Sage as the client to request a program from ChannelsDVR.

Is it also possible to have two instances of OpenDCT/SageTV, each on a separate Windows V10 Virtual Machine, each requesting programs from ChannelsDVR and OpenDCT running on a third VM or the native Windows OS?
__________________
Server: Intel i5-11400 @4.4GHz 6 cores Windows10 Pro, Sage 9.2.6.976, Comskip Donators
Capture: Now> Xfinity/TVEverywhere/Channels OpenDCT_0.5.32_x86.
Future> remote HDHR Prime with Firmware version 20150826
Storage: 120gB SSD, 4tB HD on Server
Network: Now> gb LAN; Future> 500Mb Comcast to WAN to 20Mb rural ISP.
Playback: FireStick 4K, miniclient V1.9.3
Tech Level: Hobbyist
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-19-2022, 03:24 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by hb4 View Post
I understand it's possible to use ChannelsDVR as a tuner for a Prime, OpenDCT for tuner pooling, and OpenDCT/Sage as the client to request a program from ChannelsDVR.

Is it also possible to have two instances of OpenDCT/SageTV, each on a separate Windows V10 Virtual Machine, each requesting programs from ChannelsDVR and OpenDCT running on a third VM or the native Windows OS?
This is my Setup ... this was made possible thanks to hvymetal XMLTV and boukmandutty

Channels DVR controls all tuners ... TVE OTA Cable and Pluto.
OPENDCT is Installed in the Channels DVR Server with 20 Pipe tuners. I can use as many SagetV servers as I like ... No pooling needed as Channels DVR will handle all the tuner sharing. The 20 pipe tuners are setup like this ....

sagetv.device.3572338.streaming_executable=/bin/ffmpeg -i http\://127.0.0.1\:8089/devices/ANY/channels/%c%/stream.mpg?format\=ts -c copy -f mpegts -

Code:
generic.pipe.device_names_csv=tve1,tve2,tve3,tve4,tve5,tve6,tve7,tve8,tve9,tve10,tve11,tve12,tve13,tve14,tve15,tve16,tve17,tv118,tve19,tve20
SageTV is setup with the tuners using OPENDCT on Channels Server ...



__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 01-19-2022 at 03:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-19-2022, 03:35 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,799
I also have EMBY using M3U from Channels DVR and their guide data..

Emby Tuner ... http://1.0.0.2:8089/devices/ANY/channels.m3u?format=ts
Guide Data ... http://10.0.0.2:8089/devices/ANY/gui...ration=1209600


ALL in all Channels DVR Emby and SageTV will share 1 tuner when recording or watching the same Channel.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 01-19-2022 at 03:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-19-2022, 05:59 PM
hb4 hb4 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 342
Thanks once again for the info, great to know it's possible. I am fairly new to linux - if you don't count bringing the EE department's Unix system to its knees 40 years ago.
__________________
Server: Intel i5-11400 @4.4GHz 6 cores Windows10 Pro, Sage 9.2.6.976, Comskip Donators
Capture: Now> Xfinity/TVEverywhere/Channels OpenDCT_0.5.32_x86.
Future> remote HDHR Prime with Firmware version 20150826
Storage: 120gB SSD, 4tB HD on Server
Network: Now> gb LAN; Future> 500Mb Comcast to WAN to 20Mb rural ISP.
Playback: FireStick 4K, miniclient V1.9.3
Tech Level: Hobbyist
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-19-2022, 06:06 PM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by hb4 View Post
Thanks once again for the info, great to know it's possible. I am fairly new to linux - if you don't count bringing the EE department's Unix system to its knees 40 years ago.
System V Release 3? Or maybe SVR2?
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-19-2022, 07:19 PM
hb4 hb4 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 342
Beats me; one of the guys that ran the system gave me an account and we ran a wire through the utility tunnels to my office. Hooked it up to a terminal and proceeded to try and document our campus energy management system. After a script with a bunch of greps and vi's I got a call... That was the end of my 'ix career and I went back to the Altair and SuperCalc.
__________________
Server: Intel i5-11400 @4.4GHz 6 cores Windows10 Pro, Sage 9.2.6.976, Comskip Donators
Capture: Now> Xfinity/TVEverywhere/Channels OpenDCT_0.5.32_x86.
Future> remote HDHR Prime with Firmware version 20150826
Storage: 120gB SSD, 4tB HD on Server
Network: Now> gb LAN; Future> 500Mb Comcast to WAN to 20Mb rural ISP.
Playback: FireStick 4K, miniclient V1.9.3
Tech Level: Hobbyist
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-19-2022, 07:29 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,799
I found out that WinSCP is a valuable to transfer and edit files from windows to linux.... this and putty makes it so easy ...'


https://sourceforge.net/projects/winscp/
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-19-2022, 07:53 PM
hb4 hb4 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 342
Thanks for your info, nyplayer; I'm still trying to absorb all of this; knowing that you've done it gives me incentive.
__________________
Server: Intel i5-11400 @4.4GHz 6 cores Windows10 Pro, Sage 9.2.6.976, Comskip Donators
Capture: Now> Xfinity/TVEverywhere/Channels OpenDCT_0.5.32_x86.
Future> remote HDHR Prime with Firmware version 20150826
Storage: 120gB SSD, 4tB HD on Server
Network: Now> gb LAN; Future> 500Mb Comcast to WAN to 20Mb rural ISP.
Playback: FireStick 4K, miniclient V1.9.3
Tech Level: Hobbyist
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-21-2022, 03:02 PM
hvymetal hvymetal is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
I found out that WinSCP is a valuable to transfer and edit files from windows to linux.... this and putty makes it so easy ...'


https://sourceforge.net/projects/winscp/
Try MobaXTerm it is free and replace WinSCP and Putty in one package
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-21-2022, 03:22 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by hvymetal View Post
Try MobaXTerm it is free and replace WinSCP and Putty in one package
Thanks that is great all in one like it.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-21-2022, 05:31 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Putty isn't really needed anymore as you Windows now has a proper ssh client built in, although it may not get installed automatically. You can also edit files in Linux using a text editor in Windows, assuming that you create shares on your Linux machine.

Or you can use the SFTP process built into Notepad++ to directly edit files on a Linux box.

Speaking of Linux, you can now run pretty much a full featured install of Linux from within Windows using WSL2.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-21-2022, 05:53 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Putty isn't really needed anymore as you Windows now has a proper ssh client built in, although it may not get installed automatically. You can also edit files in Linux using a text editor in Windows, assuming that you create shares on your Linux machine.

Or you can use the SFTP process built into Notepad++ to directly edit files on a Linux box.

Speaking of Linux, you can now run pretty much a full featured install of Linux from within Windows using WSL2.
I prefer WinSCP/Mobaxterm as I can drag and drop files into Linux without having to share any folders also has built in editors all in one. You can also create folders and change permissions. I like all in 1 rather than use 3 or 4 different apps to accomplish the same thing.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-21-2022, 08:22 PM
hb4 hb4 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 342
OK, I've looked into Dockers for Windows vs a Windows VM. The pros and cons seem to be..
Dockers; Pros: Uses less PC resources.
Windows; Pros: Easier for me to understand - linux is a mystery to my DOS brain.

So, I've installed Dockers... Is it true that there's a choice between, say, Ubuntu and linux Sage in a Docker versus a straight Sage Docker?

With a HD Homerun &TVE sources/ChannelsDVR/OpenDCT/Comskip/Sage setup in both Windows and Docker, where do the pieces go?

ChannelsDVR is running on Windows presently.
HD Homerun in Windows when I set it up in a month or so
OpenDCT ? Separate instances for Windows and Docker?
Comskip ? Same question.

I've had Channels running on a different PC than Sage, so keeping it on Windows seems logical. Running OpenDCT in Windows seems doable, but it seems I'd have more flexibility with it in Dockers as well. If it works, it seems like Comskip should be in Windows unless I'm experimenting with it - which I'm not planning to do.
__________________
Server: Intel i5-11400 @4.4GHz 6 cores Windows10 Pro, Sage 9.2.6.976, Comskip Donators
Capture: Now> Xfinity/TVEverywhere/Channels OpenDCT_0.5.32_x86.
Future> remote HDHR Prime with Firmware version 20150826
Storage: 120gB SSD, 4tB HD on Server
Network: Now> gb LAN; Future> 500Mb Comcast to WAN to 20Mb rural ISP.
Playback: FireStick 4K, miniclient V1.9.3
Tech Level: Hobbyist
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-24-2022, 06:13 PM
Striker:WG Striker:WG is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 435
so I run Dockers on my Unraid server, so I haven't done this on Windows before, but I don't see why the same wouldn't apply.

A docker is like a mini virtual machine. It runs just enough to support a contained environment to perform the purpose it is designed for, eg. a SageTV server. So if you are getting a pre-made Docker that someone else has published (eg. Stuckless or Jusjoken), then you will get the environment they have setup (linux, java, etc.) plus the Sage files. I don't recall offhand the variant of Linux that is typically used, but I don't think it's Unbuntu. Long way of saying there isn't a straight Sage docker.

Jusjoken has released some new dockers that have OpenDCT and Sage in the same docker. Currently my Comskip already runs inside the Sage docker.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-24-2022, 10:00 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,566
Quote:
Originally Posted by Striker:WG View Post
so I run Dockers on my Unraid server, so I haven't done this on Windows before, but I don't see why the same wouldn't apply.

A docker is like a mini virtual machine. It runs just enough to support a contained environment to perform the purpose it is designed for, eg. a SageTV server. So if you are getting a pre-made Docker that someone else has published (eg. Stuckless or Jusjoken), then you will get the environment they have setup (linux, java, etc.) plus the Sage files. I don't recall offhand the variant of Linux that is typically used, but I don't think it's Unbuntu. Long way of saying there isn't a straight Sage docker.

Jusjoken has released some new dockers that have OpenDCT and Sage in the same docker. Currently my Comskip already runs inside the Sage docker.
Docker on Linux is pretty mature. Docker on windows for windows containers is also pretty solid. Linux containers on Docker for windows works for some simple cases but seems to have a ways to go for sage.

The sagetv dockers run Ubuntu 20.04 internally. It is a paired down version.

K
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-24-2022, 10:44 PM
hb4 hb4 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
Docker on Linux is pretty mature. Docker on windows for windows containers is also pretty solid. Linux containers on Docker for windows works for some simple cases but seems to have a ways to go for sage.

The sagetv dockers run Ubuntu 20.04 internally. It is a paired down version.

K
How about Linux on Windows Hyper-V VM, with Docker on Linux, to get two instances of Sage on one PC?
__________________
Server: Intel i5-11400 @4.4GHz 6 cores Windows10 Pro, Sage 9.2.6.976, Comskip Donators
Capture: Now> Xfinity/TVEverywhere/Channels OpenDCT_0.5.32_x86.
Future> remote HDHR Prime with Firmware version 20150826
Storage: 120gB SSD, 4tB HD on Server
Network: Now> gb LAN; Future> 500Mb Comcast to WAN to 20Mb rural ISP.
Playback: FireStick 4K, miniclient V1.9.3
Tech Level: Hobbyist
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-24-2022, 11:44 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
It is pretty straightforward to have multiple dockers of SageTV running at least on unRAID. So you could probably run multiples dockers on your setup. On my unRAID server I have a few different dockers installed and I have a Win 11 VM. I guess for fun I could try installing SageTV in the Windows VM.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-25-2022, 06:40 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,566
Quote:
Originally Posted by hb4 View Post
How about Linux on Windows Hyper-V VM, with Docker on Linux, to get two instances of Sage on one PC?
I believe that will work fine, just have not tried it yet, but I can.

I run unraid and right now I have SageTV running in 7 dockers and 3 windows VMs... For testing of course.

K
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-01-2022, 10:09 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by hvymetal View Post
Try MobaXTerm it is free and replace WinSCP and Putty in one package
Thanks for posting about MobaXTerm. I like that it has a portable version, but I especially like that the built-in text editor has color-coding, and is language-aware. I probably will not be using WinSCP much anymore...
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.9.2, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Signal in Sage on some Channels but HDHR3 QuickTV Tunes Channels Fine LexLS Hardware Support 8 03-15-2014 05:12 PM
enabling channels on analog tuner also enables them on digital tuner LaoChe SageTV EPG Service 2 02-02-2011 08:09 PM
Sharing the same sage interface xml file ericscottf SageTV Media Extender 4 01-29-2010 02:58 PM
IP connection issue with MVP and Sage sharing one cat5 cable matt91 Hardware Support 3 03-21-2006 02:11 PM
Auto-tuner for channels benneg SageTV Software 4 02-01-2004 01:33 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.