SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux

Notices

SageTV Linux Discussion related to the SageTV Media Center for Linux. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Linux should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2007, 03:21 PM
Peggysis's Avatar
Peggysis Peggysis is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 31
Anyone else have a DST issue?

I didn't expect Gentoo itself to adjust with the new start of Daylight Savings Time, but the time is usually off until I force a sync with the Guide anyway. However, I've done this, even rebooted, and the time has still not updated to the new DST. Boo!

The one application I own where I have no control over the time used, and where the correct time is crucial to the usefulness of the product, and it doesn't work correctly! #@$^*!

Suggestions, anyone?

-Judy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2007, 05:11 PM
ataren ataren is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 25
Early on, I made the following changes to keep time accurate (and DST adjusted automatically) by updating the clock daily from a timeserver:
1) Change clock setting from "UTC" to "local" in /etc/conf.d/clock
2) Install rdate ("emerge rdate")
3) create a new file, "refresh_clock", in /etc/cron.daily with the following 3 lines in it:
#!/bin/sh
# this script updates the system and hardware clocks from an ntp server
rdate -s clock.psu.edu && hwclock --systohc

4) Note: You may want to find an ntp server geographically closer to you than clock.psu.edu. Go to http://ntp.isc.org/bin/view/Servers/..._A_Time_Server, find a server and replace "clock.psu.edu" with the ntp server of your choice.
__________________
SageTV 6; Athlon XP 3200; Biostar M7NCD; ASUS V 9520-X/TD GeForce FX 5200; Gentoo 2006.1; PVR-500; Streamzap
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2007, 10:37 PM
Peggysis's Avatar
Peggysis Peggysis is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 31
Thumbs up

Well, that didn't work for me.

I even tried setting the TZ variable, and doing an emerge on the JRE. That would only get me to jre-1_5_0_05-linux-i586.bin, which I didn't think had the update. That was fun just trying to find!

After backing everything out, except the jre change, AND making sure I chose a timezone in SageTV that specified CST6CDT - it worked!!! There's got to be a dozen or so that say CDT or CST, but this is the only one that seemed to work correctly. Go figure!

Oh, and I also changed the system clock. Black Magic, this stuff! Trying to be pragmatic about it, but I guess I really need to look into upgrading the darn thing to the latest SageTV version...

I appreciate your suggestions, though! Maybe they will work better for me when I upgrade.

-Judy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-12-2007, 07:43 AM
Peggysis's Avatar
Peggysis Peggysis is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 31
Spoke too soon

I checked again this morning, and while the Time the SageTV server was showing was correct, the Guide was not showing the correct programs for that time of day. Grrr!

After some more playing with it, I was able to get it in a state where, while it thinks it's 1pm when it is really 8 am, at least it is consistent, and I have a chance of recording the shows I want.

Unless anyone knows what would cause this problem and how to fix it, and I can make it play nice by this weekend, I guess I've got an upgrade to do!

-Judy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-17-2007, 07:11 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peggysis View Post
Well, that didn't work for me.

I even tried setting the TZ variable, and doing an emerge on the JRE. That would only get me to jre-1_5_0_05-linux-i586.bin, which I didn't think had the update. That was fun just trying to find!

After backing everything out, except the jre change, AND making sure I chose a timezone in SageTV that specified CST6CDT - it worked!!! There's got to be a dozen or so that say CDT or CST, but this is the only one that seemed to work correctly. Go figure!

Oh, and I also changed the system clock. Black Magic, this stuff! Trying to be pragmatic about it, but I guess I really need to look into upgrading the darn thing to the latest SageTV version...

I appreciate your suggestions, though! Maybe they will work better for me when I upgrade.

-Judy
That version of java, to jre-1_5_0_05-linux-i586.bin, is not DST compliant, is it? You would need 1_5_0_11.


Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with 5 minutes of audio at beginning of recording gone, video is fine? GoldenTiger SageTV Software 3 02-12-2007 05:35 PM
SageMC and Standby, progress on issue! CadErik SageMC Custom Interface 1 11-20-2006 07:23 PM
an issue resolved with my wireless keyboard reboot_this Hardware Support 0 10-17-2006 12:39 PM
Strange issue with my MVP Blkhrtd SageTV Media Extender 2 05-23-2006 05:57 AM
AUUUGH I Give UP!!! TripleTapper SageTV Media Extender 46 01-03-2006 02:35 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.