SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2006, 05:50 PM
XSiVE XSiVE is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 15
MVP Blinking black screen + Sage "booting up" screen.

I have 2 MVP's that I purchased at the same time, One of them is working just fine(v2.04, wired), the other(v2.05 wireless) is blinking between a blank screen and the SageTV "booting up" screen.

I have installed the Hauppauge server software on a different PC than my main media server and both MVP's load that software just fine as well.

After stopping the Sage service, I deleted the clients folder from my Sage server's directory, then started the service back up.

I enabled the SageTV server's logfile and this is what it spits out when the "bad" mvp tries to connect. It IS a wireless MVP, however I am using the wired port to ensure its not a wireless issue. (it acts the same way when using both wireless and wired connections)

Mon 6/12 19:35:48.730 Received mvp packet

Mon 6/12 19:35:48.899 Sending mvp reply
Mon 6/12 19:35:52.204 Received mvp packet

Mon 6/12 19:35:52.369 Sending mvp reply
Mon 6/12 19:35:52.376 Received tftp packet

Mon 6/12 19:35:52.377 Reading dongle.bin.ver in mode octet
Mon 6/12 19:35:52.379 Received tftp packet

Mon 6/12 19:35:52.380 Reading dongle.bin in mode octet
Mon 6/12 19:35:52.381 Opening file
Mon 6/12 19:35:52.577 TFTP timeout

Mon 6/12 19:35:52.578 Retry count exceeded

Mon 6/12 19:35:57.174 At last block
Mon 6/12 19:35:57.374 TFTP timeout

Mon 6/12 19:35:57.574 TFTP timeout

Mon 6/12 19:35:57.774 TFTP timeout

Mon 6/12 19:35:57.975 TFTP timeout

Mon 6/12 19:35:58.175 TFTP timeout

Mon 6/12 19:35:58.375 TFTP timeout

Mon 6/12 19:35:58.575 TFTP timeout

Mon 6/12 19:35:58.775 TFTP timeout

Mon 6/12 19:35:58.976 TFTP timeout

Mon 6/12 19:35:59.176 TFTP timeout

Mon 6/12 19:35:59.376 TFTP timeout

Mon 6/12 19:35:59.376 Retry count exceeded

Remember, my other MVP works just fine.

Last edited by XSiVE; 06-12-2006 at 05:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-12-2006, 06:31 PM
_Demo_ _Demo_ is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 863
Send a message via ICQ to _Demo_
Quote:
Originally Posted by XSiVE
I have 2 MVP's that I purchased at the same time, One of them is working just fine(v2.04, wired), the other(v2.05 wireless) is blinking between a blank screen and the SageTV "booting up" screen.

I have installed the Hauppauge server software on a different PC than my main media server and both MVP's load that software just fine as well.

After stopping the Sage service, I deleted the clients folder from my Sage server's directory, then started the service back up.

I enabled the SageTV server's logfile and this is what it spits out when the "bad" mvp tries to connect. It IS a wireless MVP, however I am using the wired port to ensure its not a wireless issue. (it acts the same way when using both wireless and wired connections)

Mon 6/12 19:35:48.730 Received mvp packet

Mon 6/12 19:35:48.899 Sending mvp reply
Mon 6/12 19:35:52.204 Received mvp packet

Mon 6/12 19:35:52.369 Sending mvp reply
Mon 6/12 19:35:52.376 Received tftp packet

Mon 6/12 19:35:52.377 Reading dongle.bin.ver in mode octet
Mon 6/12 19:35:52.379 Received tftp packet

Mon 6/12 19:35:52.380 Reading dongle.bin in mode octet
Mon 6/12 19:35:52.381 Opening file
Mon 6/12 19:35:52.577 TFTP timeout

Mon 6/12 19:35:52.578 Retry count exceeded

Mon 6/12 19:35:57.174 At last block
Mon 6/12 19:35:57.374 TFTP timeout

Mon 6/12 19:35:57.574 TFTP timeout

Mon 6/12 19:35:57.774 TFTP timeout

Mon 6/12 19:35:57.975 TFTP timeout

Mon 6/12 19:35:58.175 TFTP timeout

Mon 6/12 19:35:58.375 TFTP timeout

Mon 6/12 19:35:58.575 TFTP timeout

Mon 6/12 19:35:58.775 TFTP timeout

Mon 6/12 19:35:58.976 TFTP timeout

Mon 6/12 19:35:59.176 TFTP timeout

Mon 6/12 19:35:59.376 TFTP timeout

Mon 6/12 19:35:59.376 Retry count exceeded

Remember, my other MVP works just fine.

There is nothing unusual in that log. Could you try to ping the wireless mvp when it is showing the flashing black/sagetv screen?

_Demo_
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-12-2006, 06:49 PM
XSiVE XSiVE is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 15
Using the Hauppauge Menus
Reply from 192.168.1.10: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.10: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.10: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.10: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.10: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.10: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Clicked GO
Request timed out.
Loading bar starts lighting up / scrolling
Reply from 192.168.1.10: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.10: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.10: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Loading bar stops moving
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Sage Logo / Black screeen starts blinking.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.10:
Packets: Sent = 51, Received = 44, Lost = 7 (13% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 17ms, Average = 0ms
Control-C
^C
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-12-2006, 08:34 PM
spence spence is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Question

I'm having the exact same problem... It's a new MVP as of Friday from Sage!

Wired works after several reboots of the MVP, but when I go wireless - Exact same problem!

When I place the MVP within a few feet of my router it starts to work but NOT 14 Feet away and also line of sight!

I get only 1 bar on the MVP, 2-3 when it's on the workbench besides the router!

Also I have 2 other items on the wirless end of things, one is ~60 feet and the other is in the mother-in-laws bunker behind the house ~100 from the router with both displaying 3 bars...

Btw everything was off except the MVP and my router during my troubleshootng...

I'm in the middle of the woods and the closest electrical anything is almost 1/4 mile from me - Hell the cell starts to work when I get into town

I hope that none of my cows are jaming me

Spence

Last edited by spence; 06-12-2006 at 08:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-13-2006, 12:22 AM
Fallen Kell Fallen Kell is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 80
I too have the exact same problem. I recieved my wireless mvp from sage today and initially hooked it up wirelessly, (had 3 bars), but after the setup and download of the boot image, it starts flashing with a blue background with the sagetv logo and a booting up "please wait" screen...

I then thought that it might be my wireless connection, so I forced the network to G-only and changed the channel I was using to one that was farther away from other channels in the area. That didn't make any difference, same symptoms. I then broke out a Linksys WRT54GL and loaded up DD-WRT onto it and set it up as a wireless/ethernet bridge and connected the MVP into that with a wire. It looks like that helped some with the setup times as it more easily found everything on the MVP (my server was found automatically, whereas before I had to force it to scan once or twice each time before it would find it).

I am going to connect a laptop to the WRT54GL and run some network speed tests between it and other computers on the other end of the wireless bridge to get a better idea of what my speeds are over the link, but that won't happen until tomorrow night, I am tired
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-14-2006, 11:10 AM
XSiVE XSiVE is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 15
I was looking at those ping statistics and got to thinking..

When it loads out to sage, is this the point at which the device "switches" to its actual MAC Address versus the "simulated" address that we've heard about?

Are the devices having problems switching to the real MAC address and this is causing the boot / blinking? if perhaps its having trouble getting a new IP to match it's new MAC? iunno.. it just seems to get more confusing the deeper I get in to it.

next up: Ill connect the MVP to the same hub that the server is on, then i might even try a crossover cable.. tho, no DHCP server might make things difficult. Trying to eliminate all possibilities here, but my signs point to the way sage works on the device since the Hauppauge MVP server running on a different PC can be conected to without a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-14-2006, 11:38 PM
mmitch mmitch is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
MVP blinking screen + Sage "booting up" screen

I am having the same problem. Tried a lot of stuff. Loaded new 5.04 version of server, no luck. Load Hauppauge application and it works great. Remove it and back to the same problem. Rebooting after each attempt. 7 hours later (I told you I tried everything) I give up. I see a lot of people have had this problem but I have not seen a solution yet.

Please help....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-15-2006, 08:22 AM
_Demo_ _Demo_ is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 863
Send a message via ICQ to _Demo_
Can you try this test version of the mvp.bin:

mvp.bin

Note that other things might be broken in it since it is work in progress. I'm curious if it helps fix the flashing problem.

_Demo_
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-15-2006, 01:02 PM
XSiVE XSiVE is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 15
Is this new firmware for the MVP or is it just a new version of the sage program for the MVP?

In either case, how do you load it onto the MVP?

If its a new version of sage for the MVP I would assume you put it somewhere on the server so it sends it out to them as their executable file..

as for flashing the mvp? no clue here
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-15-2006, 01:04 PM
_Demo_ _Demo_ is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 863
Send a message via ICQ to _Demo_
You should replace the current mvp.bin in your SageTV directory with this test one. (Make a backup copy of the original one)

_Demo_
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-15-2006, 03:39 PM
XSiVE XSiVE is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 15
It makes the SageTV "booting up" screen stick on the tv about 1/2 second longer, thats the only visible change...

ping behavior is the same..

log file is the same..
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-15-2006, 08:39 PM
mmitch mmitch is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
I appreciate the try. This version, that I downloaded, still does the flashing but you see SageTV for a 1/2 second longer than before, as the previous person said. Also, if you look at the squares on the bottom of the screen while loading, this new version takes three less squares than the original. Bottom line, were still not working.

I will be more than happy to try other versions when you want. And again thanks for the effort.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-17-2006, 08:57 AM
dagar dagar is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 667
Concur with mmitch. My system exhibits the same behavior with 5.04 using either bin file.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-17-2006, 09:02 AM
_Demo_ _Demo_ is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 863
Send a message via ICQ to _Demo_
Quote:
Originally Posted by dagar
Concur with mmitch. My system exhibits the same behavior with 5.04 using either bin file.
Could you verify you are using mixed mode on your wireless router?

_Demo_
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-17-2006, 03:16 PM
XSiVE XSiVE is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 15
it does the same thing when running WIRED or mixed mode or forced G.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-19-2006, 08:40 AM
_Demo_ _Demo_ is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 863
Send a message via ICQ to _Demo_
Check your PMs.

_Demo_
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-20-2006, 07:22 AM
XSiVE XSiVE is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 15
I was working extensively with _Demo_ last night on this issue using many different MVP.bin files and it looks like we've found what the problem is.. now its just a matter of figuring out a solution which will apparently involve Hauppauge.

Im sure they will give us an update when they come up with a solid solution.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-20-2006, 07:33 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Can you give us a hint as to what the problem is?
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-20-2006, 11:20 AM
_Demo_ _Demo_ is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 863
Send a message via ICQ to _Demo_
I have uploaded an updated version :
mvp.bin

Let me know if it fix your flashing logo issues.

_Demo_
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-20-2006, 08:44 PM
XSiVE XSiVE is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 15
the wireless mvp was somehow being forced into wireless mode, or atleast it thought it was.. and was having trouble finding the server once it switched from its builtin software to sage's software.

The new file that Demo has posted worked beautifully for me, hopefully it will for the rest of you too.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.