SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2007, 01:34 AM
stevech stevech is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,643
Moving Sage and Videos

Another question re migrating video recording directories...
I need to do these things:
1. Move Sage from Old to New PC. I'll move wiz.bin and sage.properties. New PC at the moment has a different name than the old PC.

2. COPY all my recordings from three drives on the old PC to one drive on the new PC. These recording directories are on the old PC...
D:\Sage\Recordings
E:\Sage
F:\Sage\Recordings

go to this on the new PC...
V:\Recordings

I've read the FAQs and so on. Not clear on how to do this risk-free.
I plan to first copy all the video files to the new PC, then shut down Sage and move Sage and its license to the new PC. Not sure how that's done either. New PC doesn't have D: E: and F: drives.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2007, 09:03 AM
opy01 opy01 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 97
Send a message via AIM to opy01 Send a message via MSN to opy01
I just did this myself. I got 2 of my 4 videos to import but 2 of them that autocompressed as .AVIs dont show up. I went to Vista and when I copied the properties file it had the old directory. When I changed the directory in the file (didnt realize I could do it through the videos section) two of the videos dont show up still and now the ones that were there now only show up as folders with the file names as their names and theres nothing in them. I deleted the directory in Sage and reimported them and the ones that showed up before show up correctly but as soon as I exit and re-open Sage they go back to look like folders. I moved them out of there to another directory and added that directory to the video list and it look fine now but the 2 autocompressed files still dont show up. Is there anything I can do to fix this? I really dont want to reinstall since it took me several days of playing to get everything perfect (except this issue of coarse).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-2007, 01:50 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,643
I hope someone replies to my (OP) posting.
I haven't been able to find a clear, concise how-to. Lots of rambling postings.

Doing this kind of migration is common and there must be clarity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-2007, 02:13 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevech View Post
Not clear on how to do this risk-free.
The risk-free part seems fairly simple: just don't dismantle the old PC until the new PC is fully operational with all recordings where they belong. That way you can always revert and start over if something goes wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevech View Post
I haven't been able to find a clear, concise how-to.
The FAQ entries include step-by-step instructions. If you're still confused after reading those, maybe you could say which steps in particular you're having trouble with.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-10-2007, 02:30 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,643
I've read those FAQs over and over.
They are, sadly, very unclear and ambiguous.
What's needed is
I. Moving a collection of recordings from one PC to another
2. Moving a collection of recordings to a different arrangement of disks on the same PC.

The FAQs seem to treat #2.
Also, in #1, I have the issue of owning one not two Sage licenses during the migration.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-10-2007, 02:53 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
The page I linked includes a detailed 11-step procedure for moving Sage from one PC to another, not just for moving files around on the same machine. That page is meant to be the clear, consise how-to you're looking for, so if something there doesn't make sense, you should try to be as specific as possible in pointing out what, so it can be fixed.

On the license issue, you can use Sage on the new PC for 15 days without a license. That should be plenty of time to accomplish the move.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-10-2007, 03:36 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,643
step 7 says "may not be needed for v5 and later." What is the actual case here?

Having two PCs with the same name would tend to confuse networking.

Is this concept correct:

For any drive <x> on the old PC, those drive letters must exist on the new PC and must be or be mapped to a real file system but need not contain Sage's data. Example: Old PC has recordings in D:\sage\recordings and E:\recordings. The new computer must have a D and E drive but need not have those folders and pathnames.

These schemes and unwritten rules are not at all intuitive nor documented adequately.

Why, pray tell, can't we have concise and correct user guide instructions instead of rambling semi-relevant FAQ chatter?

I apologize for flaming, but geeze, all we want to do is move the app to a newer/better PC and not risk the WAF. Just moving 400GB of recordings is hard enough. Steps 5, 6 suggest that Sage has to be down all this time.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sage playing imported videos upside down OverClock SageTV Software 2 04-06-2007 05:09 PM
Resuming videos crashes Sage... travisbell SageTV Beta Test Software 8 03-21-2007 05:07 AM
Sage Recordings appear in Imported Videos Alfiegerner SageTV Software 7 03-07-2007 12:51 PM
Imported Videos Close Sage OttoNP SageTV Software 1 11-04-2006 01:46 PM
getting sage to play a playlist xlr8shun SageTV Software 4 05-19-2006 12:53 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.