SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2008, 10:12 PM
172pilot 172pilot is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 19
Troubleshooting experience...

Hi,

I just built a SageTV server with a cheap HP (ASUS) MoBo, P4 2.66 single core, 2 gb ram, a 250 gig boot drive and a 1tb single drive SATA for storage, formatted as 64k blocks as recommended.

I've got 2x Hauppauge 1600 dual-input cards (each has one cable, one OTA digital) and one USB HD-PVR.

For output, I'm NOT using the server, but I have 2 MVPs and one Sage HD Extender. I have only 2 extender licenses, so only 2 of the 3 will be active at max at a time - Usually it's just me playing 'till the WAF gets high enough, so presume 1 client..

Since it's a brand new system, and I wanted to test it's capabilities, I basically told it to record all things olympic, and set it on it's way. In 36 hours, it had filled the TB drive...

So, when I started watching stuff on the MVPs, I quickly found what I have seen talked about here - HD just can't be transcoded fast enough to be watchable... It's close, but it's just too darn jumpy. What I didn't expect is that even the SD stuff is unreliable, but it seems that it's not that it can't playback fast enough, it's just that sometimes it seems to go into a quasi-fastforward mode and jump around. Sometimes if I pause for a couple seconds, I can get it to play fine for a while, then it messes up again. Fast forward (smooth) isn't reliable at any speed, and doing the 10 second jumps makes it seem to "go bad" more often...

It's really hard to describe, but it seems to be that the MVP is short on processing power, but to my knowledge, there's not much it's doing, right??

My switch is a Cisco 10/100 with two gig ports on it. I have the sage server on one of the gig ports so at least it'll have bandwidth to talk to more than one 100 mbps extender at a time. I dont think the extenders are gig anyway, so that shouldn't be a problem, right??

Any idea where to look for my best improvement bang for the buck? Am I just overloading this thing w/ 5 separate tuners? Is the HDPVR exceptionally processor needy because it's USB? I'd think with it's internal encoding, that it wouldn't be, but I dont know for sure...

Should I go for a separate recorder box, with my extender boxes talking to a recorder-less front-end sage box?

Thanks in advance... Really want this to work because it's certainly a better HD option than I've got with my Tivos!


-Steve
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-14-2008, 05:16 AM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,764
How does stuff look on the HD Extender ? What if you were to plug the server into a 100mb port, any difference? What version of windows, java, what speed drive?

B
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-18-2008, 07:41 PM
172pilot 172pilot is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 19
More detail...

Thanks for the reply..

1: I'm running Server 2003, fully patched up w/ MS Update..
2: I didnt know Sage used Java, so I never installed it. If there was one installed, it got installed automatically through sage or a site I went to, so just to be sure, I downloaded the latest from SUN at java.com..
3: Things WERE looking fine on the HD extender, but now they dont seem to be, which makes me think the problem is during the recording.. At least partially.
4: The boot drive is a 5400 rpm PATA drive, but the recording drive is a WD10EACS, which is a 7200 rpm, 3gbps SATA drive w/ 16 meg cache. It is one of their new "green" drives, which makes me wonder if it may be going slow to save the environment...

I did some perfmon captures over the last couple days, and I see that it LOOKS LIKE my processor is being pegged regularly, say about every minute, then it comes right back down to like 15%... I'm wondering if that's when I am missing some content, which is causing the jerkyness..

I had been keeping up with the betas, but I just upgraded to the released 6.4 just as I am typing this, so we'll see if that helps.

If there's a specific java I should go with, please let me know!!

Thanks!!!!

-Steve
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-19-2008, 04:17 AM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,764
Did you set up 64k clusters on your hard drive?
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-19-2008, 09:43 PM
172pilot 172pilot is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 19
64k clusters?

Yep - Brand new quick format w/ 64k blocks... Nothing but video on that "V" drive! :-)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-19-2008, 10:46 PM
Conejo Conejo is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: California
Posts: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by 172pilot View Post
Hi,
HP (ASUS) MoBo, P4 2.66 single core, 2 gb ram, a 250 gig boot drive and a 1tb single drive SATA for storage, formatted as 64k blocks as recommended.
I've got an HP AMD 64 box that easily handles recording 2 SD and 2 HD streams and plays back SD to an MVP and SD/HD to a SageTV Client PC.

Quote:
For output, I'm NOT using the server, but I have 2 MVPs and one Sage HD Extender. [...] So, when I started watching stuff on the MVPs, I quickly found what I have seen talked about here - HD just can't be transcoded fast enough to be watchable... It's close, but it's just too darn jumpy.
Yea, you would need a really fast duo process HD to SD realtime.

Quote:
What I didn't expect is that even the SD stuff is unreliable, but it seems that it's not that it can't playback fast enough, it's just that sometimes it seems to go into a quasi-fastforward mode and jump around.
Some people can get their MVPs to work well with SD content, while others struggle and are not willing to put up with any quirks. I'm happy using my SageTV Client so my MVP sits in a box. The MVP could play and pause but I was really unhappy with FF/RW.

Quote:
My switch is a Cisco 10/100 with two gig ports on it. I have the sage server on one of the gig ports so at least it'll have bandwidth to talk to more than one 100 mbps extender at a time. I dont think the extenders are gig anyway, so that shouldn't be a problem, right??
Some 10/100 devices really don't play well on gig ports, or the gig ports have inherent settings that create data-flow issues.
BCJENKINS asked if you had played with the MVP or HD100 on a standard 10/100 port? And if your HD100 viewing experience with SD/HD programing was better?

Quote:
If there's a specific java I should go with, please let me know!!
The latest version for your OS should be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-22-2008, 09:21 PM
172pilot 172pilot is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 19
More info...

As for the gig port, I think there was a misunderstanding, or I mis-spoke...
The ONLY device on gig is my sage box, which has a real gig nic.. All my MVPs are on 10/100 ports..

A couple more data points.. One - I upgraded to the newly released code, and I have to say that my perception is that it's WAY better than even the RC just prior to the released code... Probably my imagination / coincidence, but it's working great...

I have noticed a little bit of jumpyness in the playback of HD on the MVP, but not much, and not consistently, so I decided to see what was going on while it was playing back, and I saw my processor pegged... About 85-90% on the SageTranscode process, so I guess I know what's happening!! :-)

Thanks for helping this process - I think the answer for me is going to be perhaps going to a dual or higher core CPU of at least 2ghz, and just go from there..

-Steve
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-23-2008, 05:53 AM
paulbeers paulbeers is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,550
There is an option to lower the video quality of the transcoding process to the MVP's (if you haven't tried it already). Within the MVP Setup there is an option to set the video to either "High" or "Standard"....the playback of HD content will not be the best, but it might just be doable on your 2.66ghz P4 for the time being while you are deciding on your upgrade path.


FYI: My Intel core2duo e4300 at 1.8ghz could not handle it, but overclocking it to 2.2ghz or better was able to handle it. Last I knew the transcoder was single threaded, so you need to have enough speed at each core in order to pull the conversion off.
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Athlon II 630, Asrock 785G motherboard, 3GB of RAM, 500GB OS HD in RAID 1 and 2 - 750GB Recording Drives, HDHomerun, Avermedia HD Duet & 2-HDPVRs, and 9.0TB storage in RAID 5 via Dell Perc 5i for DVD storage
Source: Clear QAM and OTA for locals, 2-DishNetwork VIP211's
Clients: 2 Sage HD300's, 2 Sage HD200's, 2 Sage HD100's, 1 MediaMVP, and 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STB and Cabling to maximize SageTV Media Extender Experience johnwmreed Hardware Support 3 06-17-2008 03:19 PM
D-link DAP 1555? Any experience? sainswor99 The SageTV Community 0 11-10-2007 08:44 PM
PlaceShifter Experience Khristopher SageTV Placeshifter 2 10-02-2007 04:31 PM
My Mac Mini Sage TV Experience! mohanman Hardware Support 20 05-25-2007 12:00 PM
Any experience with .mkv video files? JParedis SageTV Software 3 04-26-2007 01:02 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.