SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

View Poll Results: Will sage benefit from multi-core, multi-cpu systems?
Yes 23 92.00%
No 2 8.00%
Voters: 25. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-25-2008, 10:15 AM
kamikaze2112 kamikaze2112 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 106
Would Sage benefit from multi-core, multi cpu configurations?

Just as the title says, would you notice a big performance boost running sage on a dual quad core xeon system, say for arguments sake, 2.5ghz xeons on an Asus workstation/server board with something like 4 or 8 gb of ram?

I"ll be running 2 hauppauge pvr 150's, and the possibility of 2 HD-PVR's as well, and will be streaming to MediaMVP's (both SD and HD).

Or am I better off building a single CPU system, likely with a 3+ghz quad core xeon or core-quad duo (or whatever they are called these days)? WIll sage take full advantage of that many cores. Keep in mind that this machine will be strictly a media server, for sagetv and storing other media (ripped dvd's, music, etc)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-25-2008, 10:22 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
I would do a dual-core at least(probably quad-core) for the server. Its not required, but will definitely help you out with these things:
  • any transcoding (MVP with HD)
  • HD-PVR playback requires at least dual-core if you are using this for playback.
  • commercial detection of h.264 files (HD-PVR) are very CPU intensive and you'll be much happier if you choose quad-core with more power.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-25-2008, 10:36 AM
kamikaze2112 kamikaze2112 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
I would do a dual-core at least(probably quad-core) for the server. Its not required, but will definitely help you out with these things:
  • any transcoding (MVP with HD)
  • HD-PVR playback requires at least dual-core if you are using this for playback.
  • commercial detection of h.264 files (HD-PVR) are very CPU intensive and you'll be much happier if you choose quad-core with more power.
See, it's for that CPU intensive stuff, I'd wonder if going with dual quad cores would be faster then a single quad core at a higher clock rate.

Also, not quite sure why this was moved, as I was trying to gauge opinion rather than solve a particular problem, which is why I put it in general discussion to begin with.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-25-2008, 10:59 AM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
I believe all those tasks (transcoding, decoding, commercial detection) are sequential, single-threaded tasks. So more CPU cores probably won't speed up any individual task, since they're not set up to divide the load that way. (Comskip experts, feel free to correct me if I'm wrong here.)

Multiple cores will help make multiple simultaneous tasks run faster. So if you're transcoding for several clients at the same time, more cores might be a good idea. But my gut feeling is that an eight-core system is probably overkill (unless you're just looking for an excuse to spend money).
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-25-2008, 11:28 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Seems like quad core should be more than enough.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-25-2008, 03:28 PM
gilded07's Avatar
gilded07 gilded07 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 436
I'm assuming that SageTV v6 is not optimized for multi-cores. Has there been any indication from Sage if they will be considering this in a future upgrade to v6 or with v7?

My single core P4 is more than adequate for playing .avi movies and recording / watching SD TV with comskip. But since all new CPUs are multi-core now it seems like it would make sense for future versions of SageTV to be optimized to take advantage of this extra processing power.
__________________
Headless Server: Q8400 2.66ghz / MSI P45 Neo2-FR / 4GB
Storage: 120 SSD for SageTV / 3TB for TV recordings / Unraid NAS 5TB for vids, pics, music w Plex Docker
Tuners: HDHR3 x 2
Extenders: Nvidia Shield x2 / 3 placeshifters
Server Software: Win 10 64, SageTV 9.1.5.683, Java 8_241, Real VNC
Other: MiniClient, Commercial Detector UI, Sage Recording Extender
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-25-2008, 03:42 PM
Sam Sam is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilded07 View Post
I'm assuming that SageTV v6 is not optimized for multi-cores. Has there been any indication from Sage if they will be considering this in a future upgrade to v6 or with v7?
I can't speak to SageTV server directly, but where you benefit from multiple cores is in transcoding and commercial detection. Use HD100's and you minimize the need for transcoding (compared to the MVP). Placeshifter still needs transcoding though. Since ffmpeg can use multiple cores, I assume Sage can as well.

Commercial detection is done by third party apps, so whether Sage itself can utilize additional cores or not may not be a major factor. Maybe it is when you have enough concurrent users or tuners active.

I'd be more likely to go with a faster quad-core than a slower eight-core, but that's just me.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-25-2008, 03:57 PM
mickp's Avatar
mickp mickp is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 468
I agree that multiple cores will definitely help. Going dual quad core xeon (8 cores) is probably overkill though

Mick.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-25-2008, 05:05 PM
davephan's Avatar
davephan davephan is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,911
A dual-core CPU really helps with video transcoding compared to a single core CPU. I don't know how much more performance would be gained by a quad-core. If I were buying today, with the lower prices, I would go with a 3.0 gig quad core.

If you want even more cores, can wait awhile, and pay premium prices, you could go with a six core CPU!

http://www.engadget.com/2008/02/25/i...u-info-leaked/

Dave
__________________
SageTV: LIAN LI PC-K58, Gigabyte GA-EX580UD5, i-7 950 3.06 gig quad LGA 1366 CPU, Zalman CNPS9700 CPU cooler 1366 bracket, Memory 24 gigs GB, PNY NVIDIA GeoForce 9800 GT 1024 MB, Corsair 750w PSU, Samsung 500GB SSD boot, 3 SSD recording drives
Capture cards: 2 - HDHR Primes - Comcast Xfinity CableTV
Extenders: 1-HD-300, 2-HD-200
Software: Windows 7 Pro X64, Ghost 15, VideoReDo TVSuite 4 h.264, Playon (Netflix), OpenDCT
UnRAID File Server 4.7 Pro: Lian-Li PC-G70B, MBD-X8SIL-F-O, i3-540, 16 TB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-26-2008, 03:03 AM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,764
SageTV will run transcode processes on separate threads. Depending on how many simultaneous shows you watch on MVPs (transcode)/comskip scans/whatever else you may throw into the mix should drive your decision.

B

PS - Take a look at the processor requirements for comskip/SA on hdpvr files.
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-26-2008, 09:13 AM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcjenkins View Post
SageTV will run transcode processes on separate threads. Depending on how many simultaneous shows you watch on MVPs (transcode)/comskip scans/whatever else you may throw into the mix should drive your decision.
Right, but one transcoding process will not split off into multiple threads. In general it often doesn't really matter, since most dual/quad core processors are fast enough that one core can do the job on it's own (e.g. for transcoding HD for the MVP). But, it does mean video conversions in Sage are slow. Also, without a multithreaded transcoder we'll probably never see transcoding H.264 files from the HD-PVR to the MVP.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multi Region Sage Flatstanly Hardware Support 1 09-14-2008 07:54 PM
Updated CPU to dual core and Sage locked my license cenwesi SageTV Linux 13 09-02-2008 09:54 AM
Sage 100% cpu forever after trying to use an MVP mjrogers99 SageTV Media Extender 0 04-21-2006 08:47 AM
Sage crashes rfutscher SageTV Software 0 01-23-2006 04:31 PM
90% CPU usage from sage client! Djinn_X SageTV Software 4 01-17-2006 12:25 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.