SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-14-2010, 01:35 PM
rdefino rdefino is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 771
So...what Raid levels are you guys using.

I just ordered 5- 2TB drives to rebuild my Raid array. I would love to use Raid 10, but I only get half of the total space to use. So I might use Raid 6.

What are you guys using?
__________________
SageTv server: 2008 64 BIT R2, Asus MN2-E, AMD dual core 4200, 4gb ram, Promise raid 5 8TB, 80gb Sata boot drive w/OS, 2/ dual tuner HDhomeruns, HD-PVR

3/HD-100's, 1/HD-200
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-14-2010, 01:45 PM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Was using Raid 5 for a while, but recently (2 months ago) I switched to unRAID which is a sorta kinda sudo raid 4 .

Raid 5 was SUPER fast on a TRUE hardware raid controller (Perc 5/i). I just felt that after 2 years of running it with no drive spin down, and such it was a bit overkill for my needs. I chose to go with unRAID which to me was a much more sensible solution. drive spin down, the ability to add multiple drives, using heterogeneous drives (makes/model) as well as the ability to grow my array as i saw fit..

If i had to do it over i would have gone with unRAID from the get go.

What are you looking to do with this array?

~Pix64
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-14-2010, 01:48 PM
rdefino rdefino is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 771
unraid??? Exactly what is that?

I'll be storing all my dvds, recording, picture, music and software installs there.
__________________
SageTv server: 2008 64 BIT R2, Asus MN2-E, AMD dual core 4200, 4gb ram, Promise raid 5 8TB, 80gb Sata boot drive w/OS, 2/ dual tuner HDhomeruns, HD-PVR

3/HD-100's, 1/HD-200
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-14-2010, 02:01 PM
tonysathre tonysathre is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 233
unRAID is a NAS OS.

http://www.lime-technology.com/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-14-2010, 02:18 PM
rdefino rdefino is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 771
Looks cool, But the only thing holding back is that now I basically have to build another system. Already have my sage server and a Vmware ESX server. I would be putting the raid and drives int eh sage server.
__________________
SageTv server: 2008 64 BIT R2, Asus MN2-E, AMD dual core 4200, 4gb ram, Promise raid 5 8TB, 80gb Sata boot drive w/OS, 2/ dual tuner HDhomeruns, HD-PVR

3/HD-100's, 1/HD-200
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-14-2010, 02:36 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
If you've already got a ESX server with Sage on it, you can pretty easily run unRAID in a VM. That would be my recommendation, and what I've been trying to do. Unfortunately it's not looking like my Sage hardware will play nice in a VM
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-14-2010, 03:18 PM
rdefino rdefino is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 771
don't have sage on the ESX, it's all by itself on it's box.
__________________
SageTv server: 2008 64 BIT R2, Asus MN2-E, AMD dual core 4200, 4gb ram, Promise raid 5 8TB, 80gb Sata boot drive w/OS, 2/ dual tuner HDhomeruns, HD-PVR

3/HD-100's, 1/HD-200
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-14-2010, 03:23 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Wow, I totally spaced out the "and a"

But in that case, I'd consider tossing unRAID on the ESX server, it seems to run pretty good. Just be sure if you got Advanced Format drives you jumper them first. I didn't do that with the first 3 I got, so I got two more and I'm preclearing (unRAID script that sort of tests/torturetests new drives and configures them) them right now and it's going at ~100MB/sec/drive on 2 WD20EARS drives in my ESXi box.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-14-2010, 03:28 PM
rdefino rdefino is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 771
I mess with my ESX box to much to want to store my Sage stuff there. I keep the sage by itself so theres minimal downtime. that's why I keep the raid in the same box. It's big enough to physically hold the drives.
__________________
SageTv server: 2008 64 BIT R2, Asus MN2-E, AMD dual core 4200, 4gb ram, Promise raid 5 8TB, 80gb Sata boot drive w/OS, 2/ dual tuner HDhomeruns, HD-PVR

3/HD-100's, 1/HD-200
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-14-2010, 07:56 PM
CollinR CollinR is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,305
3ware RAID 5 (DVDs) and RAID 1 (Family Pictures/Music). Happy.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-15-2010, 06:20 AM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner
Looks to me like you already have that Promise Raid controller, so either you are going to use that or buy another one. Another option in the spirit of what Stanger and others are saying is, to run a VM on your actual SageTV server, then install UnRAID, Linux, FreeNAS, etc... and run your RAID that way. There are people currently using this method today.
As for advice on what type of RAID? Not sure what your needs are. I agree with you on the, losing half of your storage in a RAID 1+0 situation. As for me, I realized I don't need the speed a RAID 1+0 would give me with media recording and storage. I have a 6X1.5 Terabyte RAID5 Array running on an Ubuntu server sharing out a windows share for my primary storage. I went RAID5 with 4 disks originally, then dynamically expanded the array when I bought the 5th disk, then added a 6th later on, and made it a hot spare. I plan to expand with a few more disks in the future, but am way under my usage at this point.
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5

Last edited by mikejaner; 10-15-2010 at 06:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-15-2010, 08:05 AM
dcardellini dcardellini is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 176
Hardware RAID-6 with 17 drives. Lost two drives within 2 hours of each other after 1 year 24/7 a couple of weeks ago.......so "I am a believer....it can happen to you."

Would never consider RAID-5 for more than 4-5 drives now...and even then....

UnRAID looks real promising, because RAID-5 means lose two drives, lose the entire array. With UnRAID, lose two drives, lose one-drives worth of data. Still think RAID-6 is better, though, but UnRAID has a strong list of other advantages for media serving.

There may be experts out there that understand the statistics on "large arrays" that might even question my RAID-6 strategy with lots-o-drives.

I can say this about my hardware RAID. Flawless, predictable, easy, independent of OS. When I lost two drives, one of the drives "came back to life" and I rebuilt the 2-drive-down degraded array with a new drive and the re-born drive. The reborn drive failed again half-way thru the re-build after two days. The 3Ware didn't miss a beat. Power-down in the middle of the operation, no problem. They just seem to have figured out every ridiculous scenario. I have learned with these types of systems that the true test is not "that they work," but how they recover when things eventually DO fail under a large number of scenarios.

Don't know what the idiosyncrosies of UnRAID are yet.....and that may just be ignorance on my part.

My only advice is "think big." I never would have believed five years ago starting with a ReadyNAS 4x400GB that my needs would have EVER grown so ridiculously.

Last edited by dcardellini; 10-15-2010 at 08:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-15-2010, 09:15 AM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcardellini View Post
Hardware RAID-6 with 17 drives. Lost two drives within 2 hours of each other after 1 year 24/7 a couple of weeks ago.......so "I am a believer....it can happen to you."
Ahh, you got me thinking with this one. Since you can never know, I might have to do that to my array. Good thing mdadm converts raid levels on the fly!
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-15-2010, 10:10 AM
dcardellini dcardellini is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejaner View Post
Ahh, you got me thinking with this one. Since you can never know, I might have to do that to my array. Good thing mdadm converts raid levels on the fly!
As a postscript to my story, I did not fail these two drives on a 17-drive array. I had 11 drives for nearly one year, and failed the two on that 11-drive array. I only expanded my array to 17 right after fixing my degraded array.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-15-2010, 10:16 AM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
my post on unraid from another simliar thread...


http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...773#post452773
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-15-2010, 01:10 PM
barney B.A.'s Avatar
barney B.A. barney B.A. is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South of Baltimore
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
If you've already got a ESX server with Sage on it, you can pretty easily run unRAID in a VM. That would be my recommendation, and what I've been trying to do. Unfortunately it's not looking like my Sage hardware will play nice in a VM
I'm not familiar with ESX but I used to use Parallels workstation to create "guest" OSs which simply ran on the "host" OS

Could you run the Sage stuff on the host OS and set up unRaid in a guest OS?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-15-2010, 01:13 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
I'm sure you can, but in my "New server" thread, another user posted performance issues with unRAID in a VM under a host, vs just under ESXi. It's easy enough to try though.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-15-2010, 01:21 PM
barney B.A.'s Avatar
barney B.A. barney B.A. is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South of Baltimore
Posts: 123
Maybe I'll give it a try. It's been quite a while since I've messed with VMs. I remember the last time I was into that I wasted a whole lot of time. It was addictive.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-16-2010, 11:51 AM
madpoet madpoet is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 262
Also a big Unraid fan
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-16-2010, 07:08 PM
davephan's Avatar
davephan davephan is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,911
I also recommend unRAID for your video library. UnRAID has many upsides, but the downside is much slower throughput to write to the disks. The slow write problem can be to mitigated by adding a cache drive, which I plan to do very soon. UnRAID is fast enough for playing back several HD video streams at once. In a future version of UnRAID, the data protection will be improved to better than RAID 6 by allowing any two drives to fail with no data loss. I think when unRAID introduces P+Q parity, if you loose 3 drives, then you will only loose the contents of one drive, not losing all your data, like a 3 drive failure with RAID 6.

The best answer for large storage SageTV systems may be unRAID for the video libraries and on-board RAID for recordings - a two computer system. The movement of video files you want to keep long term is then moved from the recording drives to the unRAID server - this sounds like a great 'plug-in' idea.

UnRAID is also hardware independent, as long as the computer will boot to a USB flash drive. RAID controllers are hardware dependent. You might want to have an identical spare RAID controller on hand, just in case your RAID controller fails. If your RAID controller fails, you will loose all your data unless you have a spare RAID controller, unless your data is backed up elsewhere, which is tough to do with many terabytes.

My unRAID server will grow to 16 TB plus a cache drive very soon. I plan to reconfigure my SageTV computer's recording drives to RAID 5 with four 1.5 TB drives.

Dave
__________________
SageTV: LIAN LI PC-K58, Gigabyte GA-EX580UD5, i-7 950 3.06 gig quad LGA 1366 CPU, Zalman CNPS9700 CPU cooler 1366 bracket, Memory 24 gigs GB, PNY NVIDIA GeoForce 9800 GT 1024 MB, Corsair 750w PSU, Samsung 500GB SSD boot, 3 SSD recording drives
Capture cards: 2 - HDHR Primes - Comcast Xfinity CableTV
Extenders: 1-HD-300, 2-HD-200
Software: Windows 7 Pro X64, Ghost 15, VideoReDo TVSuite 4 h.264, Playon (Netflix), OpenDCT
UnRAID File Server 4.7 Pro: Lian-Li PC-G70B, MBD-X8SIL-F-O, i3-540, 16 TB
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To Raid or not to Raid? Anyone here running Raid5? Shield Hardware Support 29 12-11-2007 07:59 PM
Maybe you guys can share some tweaks? mohanman SageTV Software 8 04-20-2007 03:06 PM
One user's experiences with RAID 0 and RAID 5 stevech Hardware Support 0 04-04-2007 09:57 PM
TO THE SAGE GUYS.... srothwell SageTV EPG Service 3 01-16-2005 08:58 PM
Here's a little exclusive for you guys. beyond General Discussion 2 03-30-2004 12:39 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.