SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV HD Theater - Media Player

Notices

SageTV HD Theater - Media Player Discussion related to using the SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player, i.e.: in use while not connected to a SageTV server. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to using a SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player should be posted here. Use the SageTV Media Extender forum for issues related to using it while connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2011, 05:40 PM
Doubledose's Avatar
Doubledose Doubledose is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: N. E. Indiana
Posts: 309
HD300 Vs Pc video out

I use to allways watch my sage thru the pc out to the tv and I still have that capabilty. I also bought a HD300 a few months ago and have pretty much been watching it instead of watching the pc video. I have just got a new 60" tv and since I have to redo all of my inputs and cables and so forth. I am wondering what everyone thinks about the HD300 video, is it as good as the pc video? I really don't see much difference and I am thinking about doing away with the pc video and in turn then I can do away with girder that controls a lot of my funtions. So what does every one think?
Wayne
__________________
New setup 1-22
GIGABYTE B560 HD3 MB | Intel I5 6 core CPU | 500 GB WD SSD system drive | (2) 2TB Western Digital SSD drives pooled | 16 GB DDR ram | UHD 630 on board graphics| Win 10 64 bit | SageTV 9 | (5) Sage HD TV extenders | (1) HDHomeRun quad tuner HD OTA | (1) HDHomeRun Dual tuner HD OTA | (2) 1512 HD-PVR2s recording from 2 Dish Network VIP 211K's with Uirt ir control | MX-700 Home theater remote | 60" LED TV | (4) 32" Lcd TV's
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-23-2011, 06:14 PM
fidget's Avatar
fidget fidget is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Posts: 1,185
I have never liked the PC decoders (especially for DVDs) as they look fuzzy to me. The HD-300 uses a hardware decoder and looks very nice.
__________________
Server: i5-2405S (4 core @ 2.5 GHz), 8GB RAM, NORCO RPC-4220 4U case
Tuners: 2 SiliconDust HDHomeRun , 2 Hauppauge HD-PVR Connected to 1 Pace700X and 1 TiVo Series 4
DVD Storage: 24 TB
TV Storage: 11 TB (4x1.5TB for recording, 5TB for archive)
Clients: 3
SageTV Extenders:5
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-23-2011, 06:50 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
I would think that this would be different for each person depending on all sorts of variables like CPU, video card, video drivers, decoders, type of connection (HDMI vs component vs DVI), type of TV, AVR(if any), filetype (MPEG-2, H.264), etc.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-23-2011, 09:25 PM
fidget's Avatar
fidget fidget is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I would think that this would be different for each person depending on all sorts of variables like CPU, video card, video drivers, decoders, type of connection (HDMI vs component vs DVI), type of TV, AVR(if any), filetype (MPEG-2, H.264), etc.
My experience is from watching from the PC's monitor. The problem is that the MPEG-2 playback software produces a "softer" image. Some people extol the virtues of software decoders saying that there is less noise in the resulting image, but that just means that there are fewer hard edges (less crisp).
__________________
Server: i5-2405S (4 core @ 2.5 GHz), 8GB RAM, NORCO RPC-4220 4U case
Tuners: 2 SiliconDust HDHomeRun , 2 Hauppauge HD-PVR Connected to 1 Pace700X and 1 TiVo Series 4
DVD Storage: 24 TB
TV Storage: 11 TB (4x1.5TB for recording, 5TB for archive)
Clients: 3
SageTV Extenders:5
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-23-2011, 09:48 PM
rugerp90 rugerp90 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 18
Well I compared it to the PS3 and I think it is about the same (Can't see a difference).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-23-2011, 11:53 PM
fidget's Avatar
fidget fidget is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by rugerp90 View Post
Well I compared it to the PS3 and I think it is about the same (Can't see a difference).
I think the PS3's upconverter sucks rocks. In order to get something that looked reasonable, I use the 2x scaling rather than having it upconvert the video to 1080p. IMHO, the HD-300 looks far better.
__________________
Server: i5-2405S (4 core @ 2.5 GHz), 8GB RAM, NORCO RPC-4220 4U case
Tuners: 2 SiliconDust HDHomeRun , 2 Hauppauge HD-PVR Connected to 1 Pace700X and 1 TiVo Series 4
DVD Storage: 24 TB
TV Storage: 11 TB (4x1.5TB for recording, 5TB for archive)
Clients: 3
SageTV Extenders:5
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-24-2011, 12:11 AM
CollinR CollinR is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,305
Extender, your uptime will improve enough to offset any quality difference. With PC you can do some cool stuff but as you have basically already figured out the extender has the same interface, almost all hacks work on it. My sage box is basically headless using onboard graphics and a 15" KVM. I still have MVPs active on mine with v7 running the old v6 stv. Just extenders in general work great (some just not in HD and transcoded half the time...) my kids are fine with them.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-24-2011, 06:49 AM
rugerp90 rugerp90 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by fidget View Post
I think the PS3's upconverter sucks rocks. In order to get something that looked reasonable, I use the 2x scaling rather than having it upconvert the video to 1080p. IMHO, the HD-300 looks far better.
Oh I'm sorry were you talking about upconverting? I was talking about blu-ray movie files and mkv that are native 1080p.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-24-2011, 01:21 PM
fidget's Avatar
fidget fidget is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by rugerp90 View Post
Oh I'm sorry were you talking about upconverting? I was talking about blu-ray movie files and mkv that are native 1080p.
I was talking about DVD (or DVD resolution) playback.
__________________
Server: i5-2405S (4 core @ 2.5 GHz), 8GB RAM, NORCO RPC-4220 4U case
Tuners: 2 SiliconDust HDHomeRun , 2 Hauppauge HD-PVR Connected to 1 Pace700X and 1 TiVo Series 4
DVD Storage: 24 TB
TV Storage: 11 TB (4x1.5TB for recording, 5TB for archive)
Clients: 3
SageTV Extenders:5
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-24-2011, 05:48 PM
Doubledose's Avatar
Doubledose Doubledose is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: N. E. Indiana
Posts: 309
Thanks for the reply's. I just thought I would see what everyone was using. As of right now I think it's going to be a HD300 only on my big tv only, as the picture looks good to me. As stated above, I also think that it is a personal preferance as to what a person thinks looks good on there TV.
Thanks
Wayne
__________________
New setup 1-22
GIGABYTE B560 HD3 MB | Intel I5 6 core CPU | 500 GB WD SSD system drive | (2) 2TB Western Digital SSD drives pooled | 16 GB DDR ram | UHD 630 on board graphics| Win 10 64 bit | SageTV 9 | (5) Sage HD TV extenders | (1) HDHomeRun quad tuner HD OTA | (1) HDHomeRun Dual tuner HD OTA | (2) 1512 HD-PVR2s recording from 2 Dish Network VIP 211K's with Uirt ir control | MX-700 Home theater remote | 60" LED TV | (4) 32" Lcd TV's
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-25-2011, 01:41 PM
Chriscic Chriscic is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 729
I like playing back on the PC because I can use FFDshow sharpen as desired. No question that HD-PVR recorded files look a bit soft on my 130" screen; I can sharpen those up as well as any other content that strikes my eyes as less sharp.

The HD300 does a great job but I like the flexibility of the PC on occasion.

Last edited by Chriscic; 02-25-2011 at 01:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-25-2011, 01:52 PM
blade blade is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,500
I don't know about the HD300 because I only have the HD200 and 100, but honestly my PC client (after a lot of tweaking) did have the edge over either of my extenders. I did away with the PC though in favor of the extenders because of power consumption and ease of setup, upgrades, etc....

For most 1080i and 720p I couldn't tell much difference on my 57" TV; however when upscaling 480i my PC client was much better in my situation. The PC client was also much better with the NBC content that I watch on my setup. For example Law & Order SVU would be recognized as film when using the Nvidia decoder resulting in it being decoded to 24 fps and it looked great. Playing back the same content through my extender results in it being displayed at 29.97 fps and I see ghosting on anything fast moving. I'm sure if I had a different TV or video decoder somewhere in the chain my extenders would be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-25-2011, 01:58 PM
kmp14 kmp14 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 264
I could NEVER get PC output to match other HD sources, like the comcast DVR or HD200/HD300. I tried several different versions of ATI and nVidia cards, decoder software, HDMI, DVI, Component, etc. Maybe it was my TV, my choice of cards, decoders, etc...No matter what I tried (and I tried A LOT) PC video output on my TV was always poor compared to dedicated hardware.

Your HD300 video output will be AT LEAST as good as PC, probably significantly better. IMHO
__________________
HP m9040n Quad Core 2.4Ghz, Windows7 Ultimate, Ceton 4 tuner CableCard with SageDCT, 2 HDHomeRun QAM, Netgear 24 Port GiGE Switch, Linksys WRT600N Router, 3 HD200 Extenders, 2 SageTV Clients

Server: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-25-2011, 03:40 PM
Chriscic Chriscic is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 729
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmp14 View Post
I could NEVER get PC output to match other HD sources, like the comcast DVR or HD200/HD300. I tried several different versions of ATI and nVidia cards, decoder software, HDMI, DVI, Component, etc. Maybe it was my TV, my choice of cards, decoders, etc...No matter what I tried (and I tried A LOT) PC video output on my TV was always poor compared to dedicated hardware.

Your HD300 video output will be AT LEAST as good as PC, probably significantly better. IMHO
I never got anything to look as good as my Comcast DVR or Dish Reciever. Not sure what they do but they do something I couldn't repeat for recorded TV at least. My HD300 wouldn't get close either.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD300 Component Video navroan SageTV Media Extender 2 12-31-2010 04:08 PM
HD300 video sometimes goes pink Comitizer SageTV Beta Test Software 30 12-10-2010 04:02 PM
HD300 Video and Audio sflamm SageTV Beta Test Software 28 10-05-2010 12:07 PM
HD Video pixelated/banding but fine on HD300 kkelley929 SageTV Beta Test Software 0 10-02-2010 01:16 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.