SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV EPG Service

Notices

SageTV EPG Service Discussion related to the SageTV EPG Service used within SageTV. Questions about service area coverage, channel lineups, EPG listings, XMLTV, or anything else related to the service or programming guide data for SageTV should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-08-2017, 06:28 PM
scoful's Avatar
scoful scoful is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Lawrence, Kansas
Posts: 373
Radical Channel Lineup Change not syncing

My local cable company was acquired by yet another company - and they decided to move a TON of my channels around this week. Schedules Direct got the lineup corrected on their end (I've verified it on their website , but it's not reflecting the lineup changes in SageTV. I tried disabling and enabling channels in channel setup (which I thought was supposed to resync the EPG data) and even removed the lineup completely and added it back in.
This is what I get for thinking just last week how reliable my system had been lately since moving to OpenDCT. It also appears the new owners are using HDCP on the premium channels too.

Any ideas why my EPG won't update?
__________________
SageTV 9 / 3 SageTV Clients / Ceton InfiniTV 6 / ComSkip
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-09-2017, 08:41 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,372
Have you tried force updating the EPG? I know you can do it with the web interface. If you bring up the default web interface page, almost at the bottom there is a "Program Guide" section. There is a "Force EPF Update" button you can press to immediately update the EPG.

I'm sure there must be a way to do it with a local interface, but I haven't looked into it.
__________________
i7-6700 server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2017, 01:33 PM
scoful's Avatar
scoful scoful is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Lawrence, Kansas
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by sic0048 View Post
Have you tried force updating the EPG? I know you can do it with the web interface. If you bring up the default web interface page, almost at the bottom there is a "Program Guide" section. There is a "Force EPF Update" button you can press to immediately update the EPG.

I'm sure there must be a way to do it with a local interface, but I haven't looked into it.
Thanks - that worked.
__________________
SageTV 9 / 3 SageTV Clients / Ceton InfiniTV 6 / ComSkip
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After channel lineup change, USBUIRT is tuning wrong channel timg11 Hardware Support 1 08-28-2014 10:47 PM
?? Change Order of Channel Lineup in EPG ?? Crunch SageTV Customizations 3 08-19-2010 06:08 PM
EPG Channel Lineup Change Order Crunch SageTV EPG Service 3 02-19-2009 02:49 PM
FiOS TV Channel Lineup Change Alert Washington Metro bcjenkins SageTV EPG Service 1 10-19-2008 02:01 PM
Channel lineup change question.. Stuntman SageTV EPG Service 1 08-31-2006 03:33 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.