SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-11-2004, 02:54 AM
mightyt's Avatar
mightyt mightyt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: CA.
Posts: 1,293
Question Multi-Tuner Multi- User System Question

I am told you need a TV card to do all of the following simultaneously;

1 - A show is Recording
2 - Watch Live TV or a Recorded show from the Server
3 - Watch Live TV or a Recorded show from a Client

I can tell what is tying up a TV card when looking at the Recording Schedule.

But how can I tell when someone is tying up a TV card by viewing live or recorded TV, either at the server or at a client device?

Thanks, T.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2004, 03:19 AM
kny3twalker kny3twalker is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,074
you will get an error if you try to change channels and SageTV is recording a favorite

on mlbdude's STV you can see how many current recordings you have going

you will see a yellow ring around a in use tuner in the guide

you can goto system info and it says if the tuner is being used


and recorded TV does not matter(cause it is not tying up the card)

only liveTV
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-11-2004, 05:49 PM
mightyt's Avatar
mightyt mightyt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: CA.
Posts: 1,293
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally posted by kny3twalker
you will get an error if you try to change channels and SageTV is recording a favorite

on mlbdude's STV you can see how many current recordings you have going

you will see a yellow ring around a in use tuner in the guide

you can goto system info and it says if the tuner is being used


and recorded TV does not matter(cause it is not tying up the card)

only liveTV
Thanks Kny3walker ...

I had a crazy thought ... It would be "nice to have" a "small OSD" that lets you know when your TV Cards are occupied. Maybe a series of bullet like icons showing "unavailable" (red) & "available" (green) for each card you have.

Here's a somewhat translated legend to give you the idea ...

= Unavailable (red)

= Available (green)

So, it you have 4 cards, and 3 were used ... you would see this somewhere on the Main Menu.



I know you only have so much real estate, but if you have both server and client usage, it would be great to have this snapshot gauge before you try and watch live TV and get and then error out.

Oh and thanks for the tip on recorded TV. It thought it tied up a card too. Duh!

T.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.