SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations > SageMC Custom Interface

Notices

SageMC Custom Interface This forum is for discussing the user-created SageMC custom interface for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-25-2009, 09:51 AM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Arrow STV Import: TVExplorer for SageMC

Download Page ( Direct Link) | Support Thread | Issues Tracker | Notification Thread

Current Version: 1.01.040 3/6/2010


What it is

TVExplorer is a replacement screen for the My TV screen. It duplicates most/all of the functionality on the My TV screens. It is similar to Windows Explorer and/or the Malore Menus.
  • Very customizable to get the exact look/feel the user is after
  • Fully supports fanart/posters/banners.
  • Multiple different grouping/sorting/filtering settings.
  • Displays imported TV (videos that are TV but are not part of the Sage recording DB) alongside recorded TV. (It is possible to limit the scope of the imported TV search to certain directories using pathfilterexpressions or a property item. I recommend doing this with large dvd/bd collections)
  • Leverages metadata collected by BMT or mediascraper to determine if a particular video is TV and also displays season/episode information
  • Filters groups by Record Year, Original Airing Year, or Season/Episode.
Installation Instructions
  1. Shutdown SageTV including the service if installing on the server
  2. (If upgrading from 1.0) Delete the TVExplorer working directory (usually C:\Program Files\SageTV\SageTV\STVs\SageTV3\SageMCE\TVExplorer)
  3. Extract the latest "TVExplorer_XXX.zip" (where XXX = the TVE Version) file to your sage installation directory (usually C:\Program Files\SageTV\SageTV)
  4. Make sure you are running sagex 6.6.1 or later. You can check what sagex version you have installed in TVEOptions -> Info. You can get the latest sagex version here.
  5. Restart SageTV
  6. Load an STV WITHOUT TVE installed. This is important. TVE will not import correctly if an earlier version exists. The easiest way to accomplish this is to load the base SageMC STV (My Menu -> Settings -> Load STV). See here for more info. Note: You will need to reimport your other customizations after upgrading TVE if reverting back to the base SageMC STV.
  7. Navigate to My Menu -> Settings -> Import STVi
  8. Browse and Select TVExplorer_XXX.xml (where XXX = the TVE Version). Yes to import the STVi.
  9. Show TVExplorer on the main menu. You have 2 choices here:
    Edit sage_menu.xml (in your installation directory)
    1. Shutdown SageTV
    2. Add the following to your sage_menu.xml file in your sage installation directory
      Code:
      <internalScreenMenuItem icon="hover_my tv.png" screen="TV Explorer" title="TV Explorer"
           <evalExpression> </evalExpression
       </internalScreenMenuItem>
    3. Restart SageTV
    Customize the Screen Layout from within the UI
    1. From the Main Menu. Options -> Main Menu Options -> New... -> New Internal Screen.
    2. Browse and Select TV Explorer
    3. Give TV Explorer a Name.
    4. Save the Menu File. File... -> Save menu file
  10. You should have a TV Explorer Menu Item now. Time to go exploring
Requirements
  • SageMC 6.3.9a or later. Have not tested with earlier versions
  • Phoenix api 1.32 or later. The easiest way to get this is to install BMT 3.0 Beta 9 or later
  • sagex 6.6.1 or later. Get it here.
Version History

1.01.040 3/6/2010
-add Alpha option for overlay transparency setting in Group cell (TVE Options -> Browser -> Overlay Alpha)
-Fix bug where the watched count and/or banner for a group would not display (or show null) when entering TVE.
-Fix bug where ignoring indefinite articles during sort was sorting things it shouldnt. For example (A.I... was sorting with I, rather then A). the method will only use " " as a word separator now. previously it also used "." and "_". At the programmers discresstion they can optionally pass additional separators to the method.
-fixed bug where when a mediafile was deleted at the end of playback navigation was corrupted when returned to TVE. If a mediafile is deleted and the group no longer exists TVE will apply default focus. If the group still exists TVE will remove the deleted mediafile from the list and set focus to next episode in the episode list.
-fixed bug where if you deleted the only episode in a group (Focus on Episode -> Options -> Delete) navigation would get corrupted
-updated ortus api (0.5.03.265)

1.01.038 3/3/2010
-Fix "Episode Sorting" menu title so it makes sense
-Store the UIContext after a fork where it sometimes would not get passed properly to the fork
-Add grouping option "Title: Original Air Date". Update Cell Time Display for new grouping option so the time displayed is the original airing date when grouping by that date.
-Left Selection Panel Width is now configurable from the UI (TVEOptions -> Browser -> Left Selection Panel Width)
-Update some ortus api metadatamethod names for consistency
-Fixed bug where when a show was deleted it would remain visible in TVE until TVE was reloaded
-Group Options is now wholly TVE and not linked to SageMC options menus.
-Episode Options is now wholly TVE and not linked to SageMC options menus.
-Group Options available from EpisodeFilterPanel for the currently Selected Filter (ie the currently display Episode List)
-Added Option to NOT display recorded TV (that is not a filter). TVEOptions -> ImportedTV -> Display Recorded TV (Default Enabled)
-Added Option to Disable Deleting mediafiles. TVEOptions -> Main -> Allow MediaFileDeletion (Default Enabled)
-Fixed some bugs with navigation to/from Episode Filter Panel.
-update ortus.api (0.5.03.263)

1.01.028 2/4/2010
-Make Left Selection Panel scrollable to make sure all options are displayed
-Fix bug where Imported TV that was a DVD object would not display (or group correctly)
-add Disc information in episode panel when displaying tv dvd discs (follows same format as Season Episode information)
-use ortus method ( ortus_api_GetFilePathForSegment(mf, 0) ) to return the path to the mediafile
-add segment information (number of segments) to expanded episode info
-add ortus logging options (TVE Options -> Ortus Config)
-Fix menu highlighting to use Scaling Insets
-Expand "Play" and "Group/Select" Navigation options (TVE Options -> Navigation)
-When an Episode Title is unknown (ie no mediatile, episode title, or description) display the filename instead of "Unknown"
-Load and Save TVE Options method name updated to latest ortus method names
-Update ortus.api version (0.5.03.254)

1.01.025 01/17/2010

New Features:
  • Rework UI to add more customization options
  • Rework Options screen for better navigation
  • Movies can be grouped into a single item
  • Protect Options screen with password. The default password is "0000" (no quotes). The password is disabled by default.
  • Ability to load/save TVEOptions.properties files. Makes saving different configurations a snap and it can be used to deploy settings across multiple machines
  • Auto generation of playlists for "Play All" functionality
Bug Fixes:
  • Group operations (Set All Watched, Archive All, Delete All, etc) work as expected
  • Preview Window display issues fixed
  • original air date sorting issues fixed
  • sorting by season episode fixed
  • Removed the incorrect property item for the Load Fanart Deley

1.00 07/25/2009
  • Initial public release
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer

Last edited by razrsharpe; 09-21-2010 at 09:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-25-2009, 09:51 AM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Feature Requests:
  • 07/25/09 - Mouse Navigation
  • 07/25/09 - Add ability to store filter sets and call them up via multiple different menu items
  • Add category based filtering ala Malore
  • Specific sorting for each grouping and save that sorting behavior... long term todo.
  • 08/03/09 - Season Poster support... when sorting by season/episode display poster for the current season (if selected)
  • 09/01/09 - Navigate Tables with numbers (1 = top, 9 = bottom, 5 = 50%)
  • 12/30/09 - Add support for rotating backgrounds ala stock SageMC
  • 01/19/10 - Add group options when focused on season filter
  • 01/19/10 - Add custom groups (ie creating groups of shows based on something other then title (ie groups of shows, certain categories, channels, etc)
  • 02/16/10 - Support for imported Movies and Videos to be treated like recorded movies
  • 02/16/10 - Sort groups so that if an entire group as been watched move it below all the groups that are only partially watched.

Known Issues:
  • Not very friendly with mouse navigation... keyboard/mouse work fine
  • When you delete a show from the options menu, the show still appears. Leaving and reentering TVE (back to the main menu) will clear the deleted show
  • Page Up/Down from the top box in the title grid causes empty episode list.... not repeatable
  • Apply episode filtering (season episode, record year, release year) to the episode list, Play an episode, Return to TVE (stop or episode completes), Only the selected filter (and All) is available in Episode Filter list.
  • 01/19/10 - can not focus on the preview window. use the TV button on the remote (ctrl+v on a keyboard) until fixed
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer

Last edited by razrsharpe; 02-16-2010 at 07:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-25-2009, 09:52 AM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Reserved
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer

Last edited by razrsharpe; 07-25-2009 at 10:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-25-2009, 10:23 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Nice job. Looks real nice.


Bug:
When mousing straight over to the list of files it disappears and it seems like focus goes back to the first main column and shoots straight to the first item in the list. Remote or keyboard works fine.

EDIT: Also would be nice to be able to group the Movies into a single group.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.

Last edited by gplasky; 07-25-2009 at 10:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-25-2009, 10:36 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
first off just wanted to give razor a thanks this app is pretty much everything I wanted from sage from the start. Testing this app and getting to know razor he has a really good app that is very well coded. Also thanks for creating and sharing your great jar

Nice job

To Gerry who uses a mouse
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-25-2009, 10:52 AM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
first off just wanted to give razor a thanks this app is pretty much everything I wanted from sage from the start. Testing this app and getting to know razor he has a really good app that is very well coded.
and thanks for all your testing and constructive criticisms

Quote:
Also thanks for creating and sharing your great jar
definitely. I still need to fully document it and release that publicly too... its on the todo list
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-25-2009, 10:55 AM
toricred's Avatar
toricred toricred is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 1,719
How are you controlling the fanart display time? Mine seems to be changing every 2 - 4 seconds and it's really distracting. I think I have the MC setting to 10 seconds, but it doesn't seem to effect this screen.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-25-2009, 10:47 AM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by gplasky View Post
Nice job. Looks real nice.
thanks

Quote:
Bug:
When mousing straight over to the list of files it disappears and it seems like focus goes back to the first main column and shoots straight to the first item in the list. Remote or keyboard works fine.
like plucky said who uses a mouse ... ya it's a known issue and i havent spent that much time exploring mouse navigation because i only use a client with a mouse for dev... but will add it to the list because i know people will want to use a mouse

Quote:
EDIT: Also would be nice to be able to group the Movies into a single group.
should be easy enough to do, will also add it to the list
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-10-2009, 09:49 PM
cowboyway cowboyway is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 44
No picture on top of viewer?

I believed i've installed everything correctly and can access the TV Explorer interface, but when i click on a show i don't see a graphic image on the top for the item (i.e. "Friends" for example). Any idea what might be wrong?

I will note i had setup BMT and configured it to use MyMovies stuff if that matters. thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-11-2009, 06:52 AM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by cowboyway View Post
I believed i've installed everything correctly and can access the TV Explorer interface, but when i click on a show i don't see a graphic image on the top for the item (i.e. "Friends" for example). Any idea what might be wrong?
can you provide a screenshot? When you say graphic image do you mean fanart (the full screen background) or the poster (the coverart in the upper right of the screen)? Does the episode panel (right table) and info box populate when a show is selected?

Also TVE is very unfriendly to mouse navigation (and will exhibit what i think you are describing). I say this because you say "when i click on a show...". Try navigation with the keyboard and/or a remote control.

Quote:
I will note i had setup BMT and configured it to use MyMovies stuff if that matters. thanks.
shouldn't matter. Sage does not care where the metadata came from once BMT has done its magic.
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-11-2009, 12:02 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
Quote:
Originally Posted by razrsharpe View Post
anyway ill have an option to auto create a playlist (given the grouping and sorting) to play that...shouldn't be impossible and i think fairly transparent to the user during use
That'd be a nice feature for the filtering/sorting API you're working on. Take a list of mediafiles and a filtering/sorting string and pop out a playlist.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-11-2009, 12:46 PM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilpenguin View Post
That'd be a nice feature for the filtering/sorting API you're working on. Take a list of mediafiles and a filtering/sorting string and pop out a playlist.
good point. I don't know if it makes more sense to do it as part of the api or just inside studio... i suppose its more universal if its part of the api... feed it a list of mediafiles (already filtered/sorted) and pop out a playlist... then it could be used anywhere... good point... thanks
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-11-2009, 06:53 PM
cowboyway cowboyway is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by razrsharpe View Post
When you say graphic image do you mean fanart (the full screen background) or the poster (the coverart in the upper right of the screen)? Does the episode panel (right table) and info box populate when a show is selected?
I believe it's the fanart that is not appearing. The info panel on bottom right does populate with episodes. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-11-2009, 07:09 PM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by cowboyway View Post
I believe it's the fanart that is not appearing. The info panel on bottom right does populate with episodes. Any ideas?
-Make sure TVE Options -> Fanart -> Context Sensitive Fanart is enabled.
-Make sure TVE Options -> Fanart -> Random Fanart is enabled.
-Does fanart work in the default SageMC TV interface?
-Does fanart exist for a particular show in the central fanart folder (make sure the jpgs are not 0 bytes and contain an actual image)?
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-12-2009, 06:41 PM
cowboyway cowboyway is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by razrsharpe View Post
-Make sure TVE Options -> Fanart -> Context Sensitive Fanart is enabled.
-Make sure TVE Options -> Fanart -> Random Fanart is enabled.
Done.. this first was not enabled.

-Does fanart work in the default SageMC TV interface?
After a restart... still no fanart anywhere in sagemc

-Does fanart exist for a particular show in the central fanart folder?
I have a folder setup under the root sage install dir. I have yet to ever see any files show up there?!

Other thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-22-2009, 10:41 PM
theiceman1973 theiceman1973 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: California
Posts: 42
TVExplorer help

I just started to use TvExplorer because I have a lot of Tv Series That I have copied on my server and want to be able to view them by series/episode with the banner art etc.

However when I point to that directory and do a import rescan I so no media what so ever. What am I doing wrong? And what is the correct way to import your tv series into this cool looking ad-on?

Thanks in advanced.

* merged *
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-23-2009, 07:11 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by theiceman1973 View Post
I just started to use TvExplorer because I have a lot of Tv Series That I have copied on my server and want to be able to view them by series/episode with the banner art etc.

However when I point to that directory and do a import rescan I so no media what so ever. What am I doing wrong? And what is the correct way to import your tv series into this cool looking ad-on?

Thanks in advanced.
This should really be in the TVE explore topic.

But to the question at hand. Do they show up in the standard sagemc video library? Also you must be using BMT to get metadata for the shows as that will mark the meida type as "tv" and TVE needs that to reconize the files.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-23-2009, 07:24 AM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Andy, maybe you can merge this thread with the TVExplorer support thread.

Couple questions (mainly reiterating what plucky said... thanks btw )
  • After you add the import path and do a rescan do the videos show up in the SageMC default video library?
  • When you unzipped TVE did you unzip to the sagetv install directory, overwriting existing files, preserving defaults?
  • When you say you see no media on the TVE screen... Do you have any sage recorded tv? That should display unless you have specifically filtered them out.
  • Is BMT installed, what version?
  • Is Phoenix installed, what version? TVE Options -> Info -> Phoenix.api version?
  • Does metadata exist for the videos? BMT is the most universal means of gathering metadata so that is the recommended approach. The short answer is that the MediaType needs to be TV for TVE to recognize the videos as TV. You can check this from the bmt web browse feature.
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-23-2009, 06:31 PM
bug1124 bug1124 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 57
I have a question on adding in custom Banners, Backgrounds, and Posters. If I wanted to add or remove banners, what is the process. Sorry if this question has been answered somewhere already.

Last edited by bug1124; 09-23-2009 at 06:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-23-2009, 07:14 PM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by bug1124 View Post
I have a question on adding in custom Banners, Backgrounds, and Posters. If I wanted to add or remove banners, what is the process. Sorry if this question has been answered somewhere already.
TVExplorer reads banners from your central fanart folder (..\CENTRAL_FANART_FOLDER\TV\SHOWNAME\ ..\Banners, ..\Backgrounds, ..\Posters '). It uses the phoenix apis to handle all the heavy lifting (the same as sagemc, smw, fanart for the default stv, etc). To add/delete banners i find the easiest thing to do is navigate to your central fanart folder and add/delete images from the correct folder. TVE displays only the default banner and poster (which i believe is the first one when ordered lexically... by name... just rename it so it appears first in the list in windows explorer ie 0.jpg)
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STV Import: Pandora Internet Radio (Default STV and SageMC) cncb SageTV Customizations 290 10-20-2010 03:37 PM
STV Import: JRMC Media Explorer 2 (Default STV and SageMC) cncb SageTV Customizations 34 03-21-2010 11:03 PM
STV Import: SageMC Enhancements (incuding Import Folder Fix in 6.2.x) twieder SageMC Custom Interface 59 05-06-2008 01:42 PM
STV Import: Multispeed Continuous FF/REW Import for SageMC MeInMaui SageMC Custom Interface 20 12-16-2007 04:27 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.