SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations > Batch Metadata Tools

Notices

Batch Metadata Tools This forums is for discussing the user-created Batch Metadata Tools for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 12-16-2010, 12:56 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,540
I've had a number of talks with SageTV to better understand the issue and what needs to be fixed.

Here's what I know...
* There are 3 'Ratings' fields in the Metadata, 'Ratings', 'ParentalRatings', and 'ExtendedRatings'. SageTV checks all 3 of those fields when determining what to restrict.
* BMT only sets two of those fields, 'Ratings' and 'ExtendedRatings'. (ie, ParentalRatings is never set)
* 'ParentalRatings' is for TV
* 'Ratings' is for Movies
* While ParentalRatings is for TV and Ratings is Movies, SageTV appears to check all 3 fields for all restriction (as noted above)

So, while BMT may set the 'Ratings' field to 'TV-MA', the original recording metadata should still contain the original, 'TVM' value, even if 'Preserve Recording metadata' is turned off. So, I'm not sure how BMT is causing the parental ratings to fail, given that SageTV checks all 3 fields for restrictions.

But, moving forward, here is the fix.

* I will introduce a 'ratings.properties' file that will map provider ratings (ie, imdb, tvdb, etc) to SageTV ratings for both TV and Movies.
* For TV I will set the 'ParentalRatings' field and clear the 'Ratings' field
* For Movies, I will set the 'Ratings' field and clear the 'ParentalRatings' field
* The ratings.properties will contain a default mapping for both TV and Movie ratings, so that if I cannot find a rating in the ratings.properties, then i'll use the default.
* I will provide a batch tool that will go through all tv and video files that will fix the ratings as per the ratings.properties.
* the ratings.properties will be consulted each time metadata is added/updated, this means for Recordings, parental ratings will only be changed/updated when the recording is complete, since that is when metadata is fetched.
* The default metadata settings in bmt is to NOT update the metadata for recordings, so if you are seeing this issue with that setting enabled, then my fix will have no effect on your problem. If parental ratings is important, then I suggest, for now, that you leave the 'Preserve Recording metadata' enabled.

I may have a build out this weekend that includes the mapping rules for parental controls, and has the batch tools to fix what is currently wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-16-2010, 01:28 PM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Sean I don't know how you keep up with all this. I think this error was caused by the user moving non recorded tv into tv section so it never had or got the parental rating. Either way sounds like you fix will work. People say there must be four of me so I am thinking there are 6 of you.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-16-2010, 01:57 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
Sean I don't know how you keep up with all this. I think this error was caused by the user moving non recorded tv into tv section so it never had or got the parental rating. Either way sounds like you fix will work. People say there must be four of me so I am thinking there are 6 of you.
Well... there's a lot more of me than there used to be... that's for sure... all this holiday eating is not good

BTW... that makes sense, if the tv show was not an original recording, I missed that part, but it all fits now
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-16-2010, 02:04 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
But at the same time, SageTV should also understand TV-MA, since that is the revised standard... It's kinda like when BTV was using .tp for transport file and ignoring the .ts that every other programs used... Eventually SnapStream did acknowledged it as a valid extension...
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-16-2010, 02:18 PM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fonceur View Post
But at the same time, SageTV should also understand TV-MA, since that is the revised standard... It's kinda like when BTV was using .tp for transport file and ignoring the .ts that every other programs used... Eventually SnapStream did acknowledged it as a valid extension...
Agreed there is it is a recognized rating it should be in the core.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-16-2010, 02:33 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
Agreed there is it is a recognized rating it should be in the core.
While I agree with this, looking at it from SageTV's point of view (devil's advocate, if you will), there's no native way for TVM to make it into the SageTV DB. From that view, unless Zap2It starts using TVM as a rating, there's no real reason for them to support it. However, I think we can all agree that SageTV has generally been quite supportive of the community, which is why I think they will add that support anyway.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-16-2010, 03:26 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
The funny thing is, the API lists TVMA as an example in the GetParentalRating call. but it isn't listed (and obviously isn't used) in the AddDetailedAiring API call.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-16-2010, 07:11 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,540
Parental Controls Mapping File

OK, here;s the Parental Controls Mapping file. I need to know if I'm missing any mappings. The Core SageTV TV and MPAA codes were provided by Narflex, so I'm assuming they are right. There doesn't seem to be that many combinations to have to worry about.

Code:
# SageTV MPAA Ratings
G=G
PG=PG
PG-13=PG-13
R=R
NC-17=NC-17
AO=AO
NR=NR

# Custom MPAA Ratings
# Custom Rating = SageTV Rating
PG13=PG-13
PG 13=PG-13
NC17=NC-17
NC 17=NC-17

# default MPAA Rating
default/Movie=NR

# SageTV Parental Ratings
TVY=TVY
TVY7=TVY7
TVG=TVG
TVPG=TVPG
TV14=TV14
TVM=TVM

# Custom TV Ratings
# Custom Rating = SageTV Rating
TV-Y=TVY
TV Y=TVY
TV-Y7=TV7
TV Y7=TV7
TV-G=TVG
TV G=TVG
TV-PG=TVPG
TV PG=TVPG
TV-14=TV14
TV 14=TV14
TV-M=TVM
TV M=TVM
TVMA=TVM
TV-MA=TVM
TV MA=TVM

# default TV Rating
default/TV=TVM
The "default/TV" and "default/Movie" are the default ratings that will be used if rating cannot be located in this file.

Comments?

Last edited by stuckless; 12-16-2010 at 07:14 PM. Reason: Added TVMA
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 12-17-2010, 09:43 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
stuckless... I don't know how you find the time. Kudos for the effort here!
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 12-17-2010, 09:50 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirge01 View Post
stuckless... I don't know how you find the time. Kudos for the effort here!
Well, to be fair... I haven't actually found the time, yet... but I'm trying
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 12-17-2010, 10:22 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Well, to be fair... I haven't actually found the time, yet... but I'm trying
Hehe... yeah, that's why I said for the effort, rather than for doing it. Research sometimes takes longer than coding! Still wanted to say thanks, though.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bmt, parental controls, tv parental ratings, tv-ma


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Parental Controls? mike_ac SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 0 06-01-2009 07:26 PM
SageTV Parental Controls Trusted Client ptaylor SageTV Software 7 04-03-2009 11:26 AM
Parental Controls ptaylor SageTV Software 3 02-04-2006 12:11 AM
Parental Controls Help dman65 SageTV Software 0 03-31-2004 10:22 AM
Parental controls PeteInSF SageTV Software 0 02-10-2004 06:57 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.