SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2014, 12:20 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,068
AV Splitter question

I toyed with a title like "this is probably the dumbest, most lowbrow question ever asked on this forum", but since I dislike subject lines which don't tell you what the question is about....

I would like to split an analog composite video feed. I know that you can use simple splitters for audio - plug in a splitter to the red and another splitter to the white, and you get two feeds (minus some volume and quality, of course). But can you do this with the yellow video jack? Plug in a splitter - you know, like this: http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2 - and get two video feeds?

Just curious. I am playing around with some ideas for my home. If that works, a whopping 40 cents (before shipping ) would get me two analog SD video feeds for what I'm doing....
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2014, 12:40 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjpjpjpj View Post
I toyed with a title like "this is probably the dumbest, most lowbrow question ever asked on this forum", but since I dislike subject lines which don't tell you what the question is about....

I would like to split an analog composite video feed. I know that you can use simple splitters for audio - plug in a splitter to the red and another splitter to the white, and you get two feeds (minus some volume and quality, of course). But can you do this with the yellow video jack? Plug in a splitter - you know, like this: http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2 - and get two video feeds?

Just curious. I am playing around with some ideas for my home. If that works, a whopping 40 cents (before shipping ) would get me two analog SD video feeds for what I'm doing....
Yes you can at one time I had NVIDIA card with videout that I used as a client and I split both the composite Audio and Video to feed 2 TV's,. The signal is degraded a little bit depends on your cable lengths.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2014, 02:55 PM
Paul H Paul H is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 248
This may be overkill for your ap. But this is what I use, (Read the customer comments about passive and cheaper devices):
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0009QZPO6/...l_7j00ai609w_e

Last edited by Paul H; 01-21-2014 at 03:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2014, 07:01 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,068
Thanks guys. Yeah, Paul, that's overkill for what I'm doing.

In case you are curious, we are getting small TVs to mount to our treadmill and rowing machine. I'm buying one of those dual-screen DVD things that you strap to car headrests to keep the kids happy on road trips. I figure we don't need any larger than that (9" screen) and they're built to handle a little vibration and bumps, so they should be a cost-effective solution. I found a model where both TVs have AV in (composite). Both units are below SD (I can't find the resolution right this minute but I think they have 300-some lines of resolution), so a little signal degradation won't make much difference. I'll split the video out of an extender and feed each one. I plan to run the audio to some speakers in the workout area in our basement so I won't need to split the audio - though if we decide we can't hear those well enough, I'll get audio splitters, run the audio to each TV, and we can both use headphones plugged into the respective units.

Thanks again.
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-22-2014, 08:36 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,578
I have also used piggbyback RCA cables for this type of functionality - the local cable company used to include piggbyback audio cables when you rented a cable box.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-22-2014, 09:27 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,068
Wow, wayner, I have never seen those before. Interesting.
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB-UIRT Splitter ericscottf Hardware Support 2 01-29-2010 12:37 PM
HDMI Splitter or Optical Audio Splitter? VikingCrown Hardware Support 2 12-18-2007 07:41 PM
Halli Splitter Polypro SageTV Software 3 10-04-2007 02:07 PM
Which satellite splitter to use??? steingra The SageTV Community 19 02-06-2007 06:49 PM
TV antenna splitter h8dk97 Hardware Support 7 08-18-2005 03:49 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.