SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 04-03-2016, 09:46 AM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
I guess this Miniclient is not recommended for livetv as it refuses to play most of my channels. What is the best setting to use for the Nexus Player? ... or is it a problem with ffmpeg v3? Maybe someone else that has Comcast and uses OPenDCT and is going through the H.264 conversion can try livetv on several channels.
I tested this earlier this morning and was going to report that the ijkplayer hanging when stopping video content while it's still recording or live and the player is close to the edge of the recording was still happening. I tested a few H.264 channels and only one of them actually tuned in live with ijkplayer. The only other way I could watch something "live" was to start a recording, then watch it. I'm not sure what's actually happening since OpenDCT dumps at least 1MB of data before it tells SageTV is successfully tuned the channel. ExoPlayer will play absolutely nothing for me in MPEG-2 or H.264 that's in an MPEG-TS container.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 04-03-2016, 11:03 AM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
I haven't had Comcast go to any H264 channels in my area so I can't comment on the H264 scenario, but with default install settings in the latest releases of OpenDCT and Sage Miniclient I'm able to watch live from the HDHRPrime and my OTA tuners on my Shield.

So, at this point, I'm a happy camper.
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 04-03-2016, 11:13 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelenWeathers View Post
I haven't had Comcast go to any H264 channels in my area so I can't comment on the H264 scenario, but with default install settings in the latest releases of OpenDCT and Sage Miniclient I'm able to watch live from the HDHRPrime and my OTA tuners on my Shield.

So, at this point, I'm a happy camper.
Unfortunately for me it does not work most of my channels from Comcast are H.264 ... Even playing MPEG2 is hit or miss. More miss than hit.

Edit also when it crashes sometimes I have to reboot the google Nexus because anything I play after that (NETFLIX) audio is bad it appears it holds on to the memory.... and does not release it.

Latest crash attached. Which appears not to release the memory.
Attached Files
File Type: txt sagetv-miniclient.txt (92.0 KB, 37 views)
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 04-03-2016 at 11:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 04-03-2016, 12:15 PM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
I spoke too soon. Stopped watching a live show and back at sage main menu noticed REC icon was still showing. Could not get recording to stop so ended up stopping/restarting sage server.

I upgraded several things this morning so am rolling back some to try to see where problem is and then how to reproduce.
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 04-03-2016, 12:49 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelenWeathers View Post
I spoke too soon. Stopped watching a live show and back at sage main menu noticed REC icon was still showing. Could not get recording to stop so ended up stopping/restarting sage server.

I upgraded several things this morning so am rolling back some to try to see where problem is and then how to reproduce.
While I haven't had this issue... one thing that I have noticed when watching a show, is that when I stop a show, and the navigate back to the menu, the show will start playing again. (Only appears to happen in gemstone). I only start playing a show the request of sagetv action, so I'm not sure what is going on there When this happens I'll bring up the on screen nav (long press select), and click the "stop" icon, which sends a stop command to sagetv, and it will stop the video. I have to track this down, but, it doesn't happen all the time, which is odd. This might be what you encountered here.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 04-03-2016, 01:08 PM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
When this happens I'll bring up the on screen nav (long press select), and click the "stop" icon, which sends a stop command to sagetv, and it will stop the video......
I had discovered that while a video is playing you can press the Microphone button on the Shield remote and an onscreen dialog pops up with Stop, Detailed Info, and other choices so I've been using that to stop. Unorthodox I guess so might be part of my problem as well.

EDIT: I did about 20mins of watch live, stop, watch live, stop moving channel to channel (cable & OTA) using the standard menu icon to stop and had not one problem. I'll not use the Stop from the Microphone button press in future unless I really want to crash my system.
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT

Last edited by HelenWeathers; 04-03-2016 at 02:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 04-08-2016, 05:35 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelenWeathers View Post
I had discovered that while a video is playing you can press the Microphone button on the Shield remote and an onscreen dialog pops up with Stop, Detailed Info, and other choices so I've been using that to stop. Unorthodox I guess so might be part of my problem as well.

EDIT: I did about 20mins of watch live, stop, watch live, stop moving channel to channel (cable & OTA) using the standard menu icon to stop and had not one problem. I'll not use the Stop from the Microphone button press in future unless I really want to crash my system.
It's probably best to NOT use the microphone "hack" (or get used to it), since at some point it will likely trigger a search (like it should). I actualy fogot that I did this, since, my 3 ways of stopping are...
1. Long press, and then stop
2. Back button
3. If I'm almost done the show, I seek to the end (ie, couple right button clicks) and then you get the stop dialog.

That being said, I can't see why the SageTV dialog, using stop, would behave that much differently than the actual OSN stop. (There maybe a clean-up tidy operation that happens in the latter that is not happening in the first, not sure). I'll keep an eye on things.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 04-08-2016, 05:42 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Just an update on the Play Store suspension saga...

I did appeal the suspension, mainly because I didn't want a suspension on my account for somtehing as trivial as this (you only get 3 in a lifetime... so make em count).

The response that I got back was that it was suspended due to "SageTV branding", so at least there was a clear direction in terms of how to resolve it. I included Jeff on my reply and included links to his posts on the forum where he has stated a couple of times that he wants to keep the SageTV branding in the open source products, and, Jeff also sent an email on my behalf giving his blessing, and the suspension has been lifted.

This doesn't change anything, since I've later combined the Tablet/TV versions into a single release, but at least from my person peace of mind, the suspension is gone.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 04-08-2016, 08:16 AM
Fredo44's Avatar
Fredo44 Fredo44 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 27
Send a message via Skype™ to Fredo44
..just installed it on my Samsung Note4 through playstore
__________________
AMD Phenom X6 1090T black,4GB Ram, ASUS Crosshair IV Formula,6TB onboard, 2x Digital Devices Cine S2 Dual DVB-S2 via unicable
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 04-08-2016, 05:47 PM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Just an update on the Play Store suspension saga...

I did appeal the suspension, mainly because I didn't want a suspension on my account for somtehing as trivial as this (you only get 3 in a lifetime... so make em count).

The response that I got back was that it was suspended due to "SageTV branding", so at least there was a clear direction in terms of how to resolve it. I included Jeff on my reply and included links to his posts on the forum where he has stated a couple of times that he wants to keep the SageTV branding in the open source products, and, Jeff also sent an email on my behalf giving his blessing, and the suspension has been lifted.

This doesn't change anything, since I've later combined the Tablet/TV versions into a single release, but at least from my person peace of mind, the suspension is gone.
Oh when was it lifted?

I downloaded SageTV Client from Play store on Nexus like 4 or 5 days ago to check on the Closed Captioning before I made that post in the CC thread. So it seem suspension was lifted for some time.

Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 04-08-2016, 06:01 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechBill View Post
Oh when was it lifted?

I downloaded SageTV Client from Play store on Nexus like 4 or 5 days ago to check on the Closed Captioning before I made that post in the CC thread. So it seem suspension was lifted for some time.

Bill
My last sentence wasn't clear... but, I pushed 2 entries to the play store, one for TV and one for Phone/Tablet. Google suspended the phone/tablet one, but allowed the TV one. When the suspension happened, I decided to combine the TV/Phone/Tablet in to a single release. So, I no longer needed the suspended entry. But I did want to clear it from my record.

So, long story, short, yes, the version in the play store is for TV/Phone/Tablet and it's been there since last weekend
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 04-09-2016, 12:06 AM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
My last sentence wasn't clear... but, I pushed 2 entries to the play store, one for TV and one for Phone/Tablet. Google suspended the phone/tablet one, but allowed the TV one. When the suspension happened, I decided to combine the TV/Phone/Tablet in to a single release. So, I no longer needed the suspended entry. But I did want to clear it from my record.

So, long story, short, yes, the version in the play store is for TV/Phone/Tablet and it's been there since last weekend
Oh sorry, English is my second language so my fault for not reading you correctly!

Now I get what your saying!

Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 04-09-2016, 09:17 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Later today (or tomorrow), I'll be pushing a new release to the play store. This release will only include phone/tablet enhancements, where the biggest change is that the touch events are completely changed.

This page will always include the updated help for touch.
https://github.com/OpenSageTV/sagetv..._NAVIGATION.md

The biggest change is really that touch should now be more "natural" in that taps will click/select items and scolling by using drag/flings should move the items in the opposite direction of your drag/fings.

There is one drawback... The sagetv cascading menus are a little harder to navigate, but a 3 finger swipe left/right will issue the right/left commands.

But they are posted here for convenience as well.
Navigation
  • Single Tap will Click
  • Double Tap will bring up Options menu
  • Touch/Drag Up/Down will scroll Down/Up
  • Fling Up/Down will scroll Down/Up
  • Fling Right/Left will scroll Page Back/Forward
  • 2 Finger Swipe Left will go Back
  • Swipe in from the left edge will bring up the On Screen Navigation
  • 2 Finger Swipe Right will bring up the On Screen Navigation
  • Swipe up from the bottom edge will bring up the Keyboard

Video Playback
  • Double Tap will bring up Video Options menu
  • Use On Screen Nav for other Video Controls
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 04-09-2016, 07:04 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Later today (or tomorrow), I'll be pushing a new release to the play store. This release will only include phone/tablet enhancements, where the biggest change is that the touch events are completely changed.
and I'd just like to add, once again, what a fine haircut that dog has...
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 04-09-2016, 07:37 PM
trallyus trallyus is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
My last sentence wasn't clear... but, I pushed 2 entries to the play store, one for TV and one for Phone/Tablet. Google suspended the phone/tablet one, but allowed the TV one. When the suspension happened, I decided to combine the TV/Phone/Tablet in to a single release. So, I no longer needed the suspended entry. But I did want to clear it from my record.

So, long story, short, yes, the version in the play store is for TV/Phone/Tablet and it's been there since last weekend
Looks like it is finally compatible with my hisense vision So now I can finally install it from the app store. Thanks again stuckless!!!

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ent.android.tv
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 04-10-2016, 12:35 AM
thatdude90210 thatdude90210 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 385
Very nice. Got it installed on my OnePlus One and it's working brilliantly. Love the new onscreen controls arranged as a remote. And skipping around seems be working better than ever before. Actually I didn't have much luck with it before, but now it's working as well as on my HD300. Just tried it on a Nook HD+ with CM13 and seems to be working OK there too.
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 04-10-2016, 06:55 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
As per my previous post...
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...1&postcount=73

There is a new version, primarily for phone/tablet, that updates the OSD and totally changes the touch interactions. See the post to understand how this changes. Hopefully this is a good change.

See the first post for the download links.

Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 04-10-2016, 11:30 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
As per my previous post...
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...1&postcount=73

There is a new version, primarily for phone/tablet, that updates the OSD and totally changes the touch interactions. See the post to understand how this changes. Hopefully this is a good change.

See the first post for the download links.

seems to work fine on a Samsung Galaxy S5 running 5.1.1
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 04-10-2016, 12:03 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
[*]Swipe up from the bottom edge will bring up the Keyboard
sorry, probably a stupid question, but how do you get rid of the keyboard?
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 04-10-2016, 12:08 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
sorry, probably a stupid question, but how do you get rid of the keyboard?
On an Android Phone/Table there should be a down/back triangle that you hit. For TV, use the back button.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV MiniClient for Android Indiegogo Campaign (Thanks) stuckless SageTV Clients Development 10 02-17-2019 10:13 AM
[Android MiniClient] Now in BETA stuckless SageTV Clients Development 487 07-03-2016 03:55 PM
[Android MiniClient] Need a better start screen stuckless SageTV Clients Development 16 01-29-2016 01:55 PM
[HELP] Android MiniClient Play Store artwork stuckless SageTV Clients Development 6 01-29-2016 09:34 AM
MPEG2 Support in Android MiniClient stuckless SageTV Clients Development 24 01-03-2016 10:09 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.