SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-04-2016, 12:35 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,363
digitizing from vhs / svhs. HD-PVR?

I'm digitizing some stuff from VHS, and wondered if feeding it thru the HD-PVR is as good as any other method. It looks a little soft compared to the CRT I'm previewing on simultaneously. Is that as good as things get? The sharpness control in Arcsoft just introduces more noise I think
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-04-2016, 12:39 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,504
The HD-PVR is notorious for softening video in recordings. I don't think there is much that can be done.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-04-2016, 01:23 PM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
I used to have an s-vhs vcr with Y, Pb, Pr outputs (bought 15 years or so ago) and that gave me best results, followed by s-hvs. From there it's downhill rapidly.
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-04-2016, 09:25 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,363
ok, thanks, that's what I was afraid of. I have two SVHS machines, and the Mitsubishi gives a little more detail than the JVC does via the HD-PVR. If anyone knows of an internal card or external box that gives better results and isn't $1000, then let me know.
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-04-2016, 10:36 PM
thomaszoo thomaszoo is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 485
I have a Sony digital 8 camcorder that can input composite or s-video and convert that to digital. It did a better job for me than my hd-pvr. YMMV.
__________________
i5-6400, MSI B150M Micro ATX MB, 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 - WD Green 2TB SATA Drives, Lite-On SATA 4X Blu-ray Reader, Corsair 400W 80+ Power Supply, Silverstone Sugo SG02-BF MicroATX Case, Windows 10 (64), HDHR Dual X2, Quatro and Prime, 5 x HD300 + 2 x HD100
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-05-2016, 06:05 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,026
The Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 and WinTV-HVR-2255 can take both composite and S-Video inputs. I have no idea how the video quality from either of those options would compare to the quality from the HD-PVR. But it might be an option.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-05-2016, 08:28 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomaszoo View Post
I have a Sony digital 8 camcorder that can input composite or s-video and convert that to digital. It did a better job for me than my hd-pvr. YMMV.
How does it convert to digital - via what kind of output on it's way to the computer?
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-05-2016, 09:45 AM
thomaszoo thomaszoo is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
How does it convert to digital - via what kind of output on it's way to the computer?
I had meant to include that, thanks for asking. It is output via firewire and captured as an .avi file.
__________________
i5-6400, MSI B150M Micro ATX MB, 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 - WD Green 2TB SATA Drives, Lite-On SATA 4X Blu-ray Reader, Corsair 400W 80+ Power Supply, Silverstone Sugo SG02-BF MicroATX Case, Windows 10 (64), HDHR Dual X2, Quatro and Prime, 5 x HD300 + 2 x HD100
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-06-2016, 01:32 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomaszoo View Post
I had meant to include that, thanks for asking. It is output via firewire and captured as an .avi file.
do you have a capture app of choice? I could use Sony Vegas. Any others?
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-06-2016, 11:44 AM
thomaszoo thomaszoo is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
do you have a capture app of choice? I could use Sony Vegas. Any others?
I have Sony Vegas that I use for editing. But for captures I like to use a freeware program called WinDV. Capturing is pretty much all that it does, so the interface is very simple.
__________________
i5-6400, MSI B150M Micro ATX MB, 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 - WD Green 2TB SATA Drives, Lite-On SATA 4X Blu-ray Reader, Corsair 400W 80+ Power Supply, Silverstone Sugo SG02-BF MicroATX Case, Windows 10 (64), HDHR Dual X2, Quatro and Prime, 5 x HD300 + 2 x HD100
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-07-2016, 01:11 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomaszoo View Post
I have Sony Vegas that I use for editing. But for captures I like to use a freeware program called WinDV. Capturing is pretty much all that it does, so the interface is very simple.
ok, thanks. I'll check it out
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-07-2016, 11:36 PM
thomaszoo thomaszoo is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 485
A couple things I liked about it was it showed the number of dropped frames (should only happen at the beginning of a sequence) and for digital tapes it did automatic AVI splitting according to the timestamps on DV recordings - every video sequence can be saved into a unique file. Best of luck with your transfers.
__________________
i5-6400, MSI B150M Micro ATX MB, 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 - WD Green 2TB SATA Drives, Lite-On SATA 4X Blu-ray Reader, Corsair 400W 80+ Power Supply, Silverstone Sugo SG02-BF MicroATX Case, Windows 10 (64), HDHR Dual X2, Quatro and Prime, 5 x HD300 + 2 x HD100
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-08-2016, 10:30 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomaszoo View Post
A couple things I liked about it was it showed the number of dropped frames (should only happen at the beginning of a sequence) and for digital tapes it did automatic AVI splitting according to the timestamps on DV recordings - every video sequence can be saved into a unique file. Best of luck with your transfers.
thanks - it's amazing how many interesting (to me at least) tv broadcasts, concerts, news items that I have that have never been released any other way, going back to the mid 80's!!!
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digitizing S-VHS to DVD - which tuner card is good for this? tvmaster2 Hardware Support 0 07-01-2010 12:33 PM
Force MVP video output to svhs? Zladotimov SageTV Media Extender 1 12-09-2006 08:51 AM
Only SVHS displayed with WinTV 350 jchiso Hardware Support 3 11-26-2003 12:17 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.