SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-30-2005, 07:52 PM
mightyt's Avatar
mightyt mightyt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: CA.
Posts: 1,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by teknubic
I use enhanced wireless G for my Sage client. D-Link's to be specific. Streaming standard definition over a 108mb link uses about 5% of the bandwidth. I don't have any stuttering.
That's great to hear ... Have you tried more than one client streaming at a time? I wonder how many you could run simultaneously?? Or what happens if you are copying files at the same time ...

T.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-31-2005, 08:24 AM
steingra steingra is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 427
Send a message via MSN to steingra
Quote:
Originally Posted by teknubic
I use enhanced wireless G for my Sage client. D-Link's to be specific. Streaming standard definition over a 108mb link uses abou 5% of the bandwidth. I don't have any stuttering.
Can you let me know which specific models you are using? I am in market to purchase them. (the router and the PCI card)
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-31-2005, 11:25 AM
teknubic's Avatar
teknubic teknubic is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 283
Send a message via ICQ to teknubic Send a message via AIM to teknubic Send a message via MSN to teknubic Send a message via Yahoo to teknubic
I use this Access point & this PCI adapter. My work laptop has a wireless G adapter built in and can use the access point simultaneously without everyone dropping to 54mbps. I don't know how many clients I can have at the same time but theoretically it's only limited to the available bandwith -- which seems to be plenty. HD is another thing: I'm able to transfer an HD file faster than I can watch it so I should be able to stream it without any problems. I haven't been able to find out for sure because my computer is too slow.
HTH
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-31-2005, 03:43 PM
steingra steingra is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 427
Send a message via MSN to steingra
Quote:
Originally Posted by teknubic
I use this Access point & this PCI adapter. My work laptop has a wireless G adapter built in and can use the access point simultaneously without everyone dropping to 54mbps. I don't know how many clients I can have at the same time but theoretically it's only limited to the available bandwith -- which seems to be plenty. HD is another thing: I'm able to transfer an HD file faster than I can watch it so I should be able to stream it without any problems. I haven't been able to find out for sure because my computer is too slow.
HTH
Do you think this would be even better, since it has an antenna that can be placed in different locations?
http://www.cdw.com/shop/products/def...ecoType=upsell

Do you think this would work as well? for the router/access point? I guess I am not sure what the difference between and Access Point and a router is. Maybe the difference means I can do what I want?

http://www.pcconnection.com/ProductDetail?Sku=422694

Last edited by steingra; 10-31-2005 at 03:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-31-2005, 05:41 PM
teknubic's Avatar
teknubic teknubic is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 283
Send a message via ICQ to teknubic Send a message via AIM to teknubic Send a message via MSN to teknubic Send a message via Yahoo to teknubic
Yes, those are essentially the same products I'm using.
The boosted antenna is great if you're in a dead spot or a long distance away where signal strength is not optimal. Otherwise, it's not necessary. If you find that your client is in a dead spot, a replacement booster antenna can be had for around $35.
A router is your gateway to the internet. It goes between your cablemodem and your computer. An access point is for wireless access to your wired network. What you found at PCConnection is a hybrid of both devices. Everyones doing it now. It's all the rage to mash-up network devices.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-31-2005, 10:36 PM
steingra steingra is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 427
Send a message via MSN to steingra
I am currently setup with a Linksys BEFW11S4, here is a link to a 2 page pdf about it. It says its a router...but I am really only using it as a bridge from my wireless network to the wired network. So I am just trying to understand what the main different between an Access Point, and a Router would be. Dlink has both kinds (im sure the other guys do too)

http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satel...&ssbinary=true

It sounds like if I just get the same 2 pieces of equipment you got, I should be happy with them. They are fairly priced (I compared 4 different online sites) for what they offer. Plus you already blazed the trail ahead of me. And sounds like they are working good for you.

PC connection website has 30 day money back return, so it cant hurt to try it. Im game.

There are so many options with routers and PCI cards, 54mbps, Super G class, MIMO class...geeeze and then Linksys, Dlink, Netgear, etc
mind numbing details.

Last edited by steingra; 10-31-2005 at 10:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-01-2005, 12:54 PM
teknubic's Avatar
teknubic teknubic is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 283
Send a message via ICQ to teknubic Send a message via AIM to teknubic Send a message via MSN to teknubic Send a message via Yahoo to teknubic
Keep researching and learning and you'll discover that some start to stick out from the others. As long as you know why they stick out and how that benefits you and your situation, you won't make a bad decision when you go to press the 'Confirm Purchase' button.
PM me or ping me on one of the IMs if you have any questions. We've completely departed the subject of this thread.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-01-2005, 01:02 PM
jominor's Avatar
jominor jominor is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by steingra
I guess I was hoping that the G class wirelss routers would allow playing mpeg files. I have been reading up on a few of them, and they *claim* its OK to stream mpeg2 videos. But what do those marketing guys know anyway, right

I can get a DLINK G class router from radio shack on sale for 29$
And I already have a wireless G card sitting around, as well as in my laptop. So I think I am just gonna try it anyway. At least for the rest of the network, I will have more available bandwidth. Even if the mpegs look crappy, it wont be a waste of money.

Thanks for input
I use a Linksys g router for my laptop when I want to go into a room without a TV(which would be most of my rooms). The wireless works fine. However, when I tried to use my PC micro-ATX client, connected to my TV, as a wireless connection, the results where not good.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.