SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-04-2006, 10:29 PM
Fluffdaddy Fluffdaddy is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Philly, Pa
Posts: 1,004
Cool Sage blew off Sci Fi Friday. And IR thinks I'm Gay

I have
1)Battlestar Galactica
2)Stargate SG-1's
3)Stargate Atlantis
on my Favorite list First run only. I had no Manual recording set for my C-band pvr250 card. Before I left work work I enabled intelligent recording for the first time in months because I just added a 400Gig HD and had space to spare. Intelligent Recording just take over and by-pass my 3 Favorites and was recording whatever it wanted.

I just happened to make a pit stop home to pick up some dollar bills for the G-sting girls around 10:45PM when I notice my ird led was not on the right channel. When I turn on the TV to check to see what was going on, intelligent recording overrode my Battlestar Galactica,Stargate SG-1's and Stargate Atlantis and was living it up on OuT-TV and and LOGO, both Cable channels providing programming geared towards lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender adults and was recording everything in sight................what !!
Not that its anything wrong with that. But that's not what I set to record

Have v4.1.6 beta, IR overrode anyones Favorites before ?

Lucky for me I saw it in time to MANUALLY set my Favorites for the west coast feeds. And I turned IR off until I have time train it some. Why would IR think I'm gay? Think it may be my online Nick

SageTV v4.1.6 beta
2 SageTV / Clients
5th day on my 7 day MVP test
Five turners
Two 250's for Star Choice
One 250 for C-Band
Two Avermedia A180 cards for OTA HD

Last edited by Fluffdaddy; 02-06-2006 at 02:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-04-2006, 10:35 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
1) If you've read the forum, you'll realize that for some reason Zap2It has those shows marked as rerun (apparently they've run in Canada or something ) (though I just checked and mine weren't) Might want to check if your recordings were first runs or reruns.

2) Thus, when Sage decided not to record them (because they aren't first runs) it felt free to use the tuners for IR. SageTV never overrides Favorites with IR, unless (possibly, but I don't think it's usual) it would decide to record the Favorites later.

3) If you've been ignoring IR, I'm not terribly surprised if it's a bit off. Especially if you watch a lot of LiveTV in Sage.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-04-2006, 10:48 PM
Fluffdaddy Fluffdaddy is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Philly, Pa
Posts: 1,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89
1) If you've read the forum, you'll realize that for some reason Zap2It has those shows marked as rerun (apparently they've run in Canada or something ) (though I just checked and mine weren't) Might want to check if your recordings were first runs or reruns.

2) Thus, when Sage decided not to record them (because they aren't first runs) it felt free to use the tuners for IR. SageTV never overrides Favorites with IR, unless (possibly, but I don't think it's usual) it would decide to record the Favorites later.

3) If you've been ignoring IR, I'm not terribly surprised if it's a bit off. Especially if you watch a lot of LiveTV in Sage.
1) That could be it. I did not check to see if Zap2It had it as a first run or not.

3) when I did a new install back in 4.0 and trained IR from the very first recording it was great. But if you have 300 gigs worth of recording already when you turn on IR, it seems to go nuts. Plus IR can burn up some HD space if you don't keep a eye on it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-05-2006, 12:18 AM
aperry's Avatar
aperry aperry is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 680
Of course, with a name like "Fluffdaddy", I can see why IR may have thought what it did... Just kidding...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-05-2006, 09:32 PM
robertmcox's Avatar
robertmcox robertmcox is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 137
Exclamation

aperry's right, if you don't watch gay pornos in the first place, then IR won't pick up on it!

hehehahahhaahehehehaha ROFLMAO!!!



Seriously though, I always set my BattleStar, Stargates, Lost, and Invasion to manual record. Call me paranoid, but I have seen IR choose to record my very important shows on the Saturday second-run instead of the premiere night for some reason...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-06-2006, 04:55 AM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
Only semi related, but my webserver has an 'intelligent suggestions' page where you can preview what IR would schedule without actully enabling it..

I also check the rec schedule for really absolutely cannot miss shows (but then I use XMLTV which is not exactly reliable!)
__________________
Check out my enhancements for Sage in the Sage Customisations and Sageplugins Wiki
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-06-2006, 06:40 AM
ben_95sl1 ben_95sl1 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 290
For me, IR is for filling up the hard drive to capacity so that I have as many shows as possible to watch at any given time....my hd is constantly full.
And, IR has found a number of shows I've then added as favourites.

Oh yeah, I'm in canada....battlestar I thought aired in europe before north america; we're just getting the 2nd season now on space channel. Normally, canada never gets anything before the US, but maybe there are exceptions.
__________________
Server: XP SP3, X2 BE 5000+, WD 1.5TB x 2, PVR150 & HD-PVR, USB-UIRT
Clients: HD300, HD100 x 2, Media MVP in a box somewhere
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-06-2006, 08:09 AM
JUC's Avatar
JUC JUC is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vermont, USA
Posts: 1,399
Quote:
Originally Posted by nielm
Only semi related, but my webserver has an 'intelligent suggestions' page where you can preview what IR would schedule without actully enabling it..

I also check the rec schedule for really absolutely cannot miss shows (but then I use XMLTV which is not exactly reliable!)

Does the stock sage .stv or any custom .stv's have this feature? Would be nice...
__________________
Server: Athlon 2000XP; 1GB Kingston Ram; 250GB Seagate; 160GB Seagate; 160GB Western Digital; Lite-on DVD player; Hauppauge Rosyln; Hauppauge PVR-150; ATI AIW 7500; Actisys 200L; running stock v5 .stv


Client: MVP Extender running SageMC
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-06-2006, 09:00 AM
Fluffdaddy Fluffdaddy is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Philly, Pa
Posts: 1,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by nielm
Only semi related, but my webserver has an 'intelligent suggestions' page where you can preview what IR would schedule without actully enabling it..

I also check the rec schedule for really absolutely cannot miss shows (but then I use XMLTV which is not exactly reliable!)
1)'intelligent suggestions' preview page, now that's a good idea.

2)My sage has been working so well that most of the time I never check my rec schedule. But my rec schedule is really basic, about 8 weekly "absolutely cannot miss shows" and whatever movie I manually set.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-06-2006, 09:06 AM
Fluffdaddy Fluffdaddy is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Philly, Pa
Posts: 1,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertmcox
aperry's right, if you don't watch gay pornos in the first place, then IR won't pick up on it!

hehehahahhaahehehehaha ROFLMAO!!!
...
When I was surfing I only stopped on the LOGO channel to watch one music video...........I swear
But I guess thats all it took for IR
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-06-2006, 09:19 AM
Fluffdaddy Fluffdaddy is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Philly, Pa
Posts: 1,004
Is there a way to have Intelligent Recording only record movies ?

I use to love the movies IR finds. But when IR gets on it's 1/2 hour sitcom kick, it takes days to stop it some times. Give Sage IR 12 hours and 5 tuners to work with.....Well You get my point

If there was a setting to have IR only record movies............Ahhh Nirvana
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-06-2006, 10:06 AM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
... 'intelligent suggestions' page where you can preview what IR would schedule without actully enabling it.....
Quote:
Originally Posted by JUC
Does the stock sage .stv or any custom .stv's have this feature? Would be nice...
Working on it...
__________________
Check out my enhancements for Sage in the Sage Customisations and Sageplugins Wiki
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-06-2006, 10:45 AM
malore's Avatar
malore malore is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Iowa
Posts: 877
Quote:
Originally Posted by nielm
... 'intelligent suggestions' page where you can preview what IR would schedule without actully enabling it.....

Working on it...
Cool. That's something I wanted to do a long time ago, but the Studio API didn't seem to offer any way of doing this.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-06-2006, 11:01 AM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by malore
Cool. That's something I wanted to do a long time ago, but the Studio API didn't seem to offer any way of doing this.
it was introduced in 4.1.something
GetSuggestedIntelligentRecordings
__________________
Check out my enhancements for Sage in the Sage Customisations and Sageplugins Wiki
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-06-2006, 01:13 PM
Rogue9 Rogue9 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 65
Yea, last week I checked my rec. schedule, like I always do, and SG Atlantis was not showing up in the list. Apparently, it was not flagged as a 1st run. So I set it to a manual record. Its possible that something similar happened to you.

I also have my DVR cable box set up to record all 3 shows on Sci Fi Fridays as well, just in case something happens to Sage. Don't want to miss anything!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-07-2006, 05:59 AM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by nielm
... 'intelligent suggestions' page where you can preview what IR would schedule without actully enabling it.....
Quote:
Originally Posted by JUC
Does the stock sage .stv or any custom .stv's have this feature? Would be nice...
Working on it...
Done!
__________________
Check out my enhancements for Sage in the Sage Customisations and Sageplugins Wiki
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.