SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software

Notices

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2006, 10:01 PM
White94Cobra's Avatar
White94Cobra White94Cobra is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Coast
Posts: 557
Incomplete recordings are unplayable

I might be remebering things incorrectly, but I used to have recordings that spanned multiple files (usually due to a reboot or a glitch with a tuner) that played fine prior to Sage v6. Since upgrading to v6, any show that spans multiple files is unplayable. It either just gets a black screen or will play normally until I try to ff/rw - after which it loops a 3-4 second segment over and over. The files do seem to play back fine in Media Player 11.

I think I'm having an issue with my power supply (my PC randomly reboots with no onscreen errors or any warnings 4 to 5 times per week). If Sage happens to be recording anything during that time, it is either unwatchable or I can't ff/rw.
__________________
----------------------------------------------
Core2Quad Q6600 @ 3GHz, 4 Gig DDR2-800, 8.5 TB storage, 8800GTS PCIe, Windows 7 32bit, Hauppauge HD-PVR, Hauppauge HVR-2250, HD-HomeRun, Fusion 5 USB Gold ATSC, SageTV v7.x, HD100, HD200, HD300, 60" Mitsubishi DLP
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-19-2006, 01:43 AM
Goodspike's Avatar
Goodspike Goodspike is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 599
I don't have that issue, but I do have a similar issue with files recorded by my MyHD card. Sage won't FF/REW properly on most such files if they get cut off before the end.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-19-2006, 10:16 AM
deria deria is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 408
I tested this on my system by dtarting a recording, then rebooting the system deliberately. I was interested in this because there was previously a problem where recordings from network encoders wouldn't resume -at all-.

That particular problem appears to be resolved (the pieces of the recording are all there).

However, as the original poster mentioned, there is some strangeness. Particularly, this:

1) In the first segment of the recording, you cannot fast forward or rewind. You CAN use the commercial skipping deal to jump to another point in the video though.

2) In the second segment, fast forwarding and rewinding seems to work more or less fine.

3) Performance seemed very choppy. That could have been from the commerical marking process, though.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-20-2006, 09:38 PM
krbaugh krbaugh is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 38
same problem

I have the same problem!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-20-2006, 09:50 PM
Patilan Patilan is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lake Forest, Illinois, USA
Posts: 237
Oh yeah?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-21-2006, 05:16 PM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by White94Cobra
I think I'm having an issue with my power supply (my PC randomly reboots with no onscreen errors or any warnings 4 to 5 times per week).
Check your event log, see if you have an entry for "Save Dump" when it reboots. If so that might be a little suspect, it means something is crashing. Should give you some detail about what's causing the dump.
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 16GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x4TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 2x3TB + 1x4TB SATA Array, 1x TBS 6284 PCIe DVB-T2 Quad, 2x TBS 6205 PCIe DVB-T Quad, Cable TV from TBS2603 sat/IP, IPTV via Telly & node-ffmpeg-mpegts-proxy, unRAID 6.6.6, TVheadend for recording back end, OpenDCT, SDEPG, SageTV 9
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 2 Android Miniclients (Amlogic S905X), 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-21-2006, 05:59 PM
jlabrue jlabrue is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 320
Same problem for me. HD recording, first half will not FF/RW, second half plays fine. I can play the first half straight through however.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-21-2006, 06:26 PM
White94Cobra's Avatar
White94Cobra White94Cobra is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Coast
Posts: 557
I've found that sometimes I can play the first half straight through (as long as I don't try to ff/rw at all) and other times I just get a black screen.
__________________
----------------------------------------------
Core2Quad Q6600 @ 3GHz, 4 Gig DDR2-800, 8.5 TB storage, 8800GTS PCIe, Windows 7 32bit, Hauppauge HD-PVR, Hauppauge HVR-2250, HD-HomeRun, Fusion 5 USB Gold ATSC, SageTV v7.x, HD100, HD200, HD300, 60" Mitsubishi DLP
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-21-2006, 06:42 PM
deria deria is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 408
I emailed Jeff about this and he said he thought it was a format detection issue and that I should install the dshowplayer.dll thats posted in the first post of this thread. I did that, but haven't had an opportunity to deliberate savage a recording since I did. Those of you experiencing tghe same problem should give it a try and see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-21-2006, 07:19 PM
White94Cobra's Avatar
White94Cobra White94Cobra is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Coast
Posts: 557
Don't worry... I can easily reproduce bad recordings (I'm randomly rebooting 2 to 3 times per day now). I am going to try connecting my two USB Fusion 5 tuners to a powered USB hub. I've heard rumors that they draw too much power, and two of them might be pushing me over edge - I've noticed the reboots do tend to occur more frequently when I'm recording two HD programs at once.
__________________
----------------------------------------------
Core2Quad Q6600 @ 3GHz, 4 Gig DDR2-800, 8.5 TB storage, 8800GTS PCIe, Windows 7 32bit, Hauppauge HD-PVR, Hauppauge HVR-2250, HD-HomeRun, Fusion 5 USB Gold ATSC, SageTV v7.x, HD100, HD200, HD300, 60" Mitsubishi DLP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.