SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-15-2007, 09:27 AM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
Blu Ray or HDDVD 3rd Party integration with Sage

Does anyone have a fairly workable setup where you can launch an external application (PowerDVD for instance) to view Blu Ray and or HD DVD on your Sage client?

If so, how did you do it? Is it as close to seamless as possible? Does it work well? (hardware and video quality considerations aside - I'm just looking for a way to smoothly switch to and from other apps.....)

btl.
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient

Last edited by bialio; 10-15-2007 at 09:49 AM.
  #2  
Old 10-15-2007, 01:19 PM
Mark SS Mark SS is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 608
HIP works reasonably well. Defined a 'master' key on your remote which pops up the HIP dialog and from there you can switch between Sage, PowerDVD or any other app.
  #3  
Old 10-15-2007, 02:35 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
The default STV can use a plugin to call an external app. SageMC also has this capability built in. Now you would need a Blue-ray or HD app like PowerDVD and set to open full screen on play. Then the last piece would be a remote app like Girder, HIP or Event Ghost that would allow you to control both apps based on which one is active and focus. It's doable but there is a learning/difficulty curve to it to get it perfect/seamless. And how seamless you want it.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
  #4  
Old 10-16-2007, 11:13 AM
petereader's Avatar
petereader petereader is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 266
Am I correct in assuming that all of you are referring to Blu-ray or HD-DVD content that you have on your hard drive? If so, will that even show up in the movie list in Sage? I've been trying to get that going for months? I realize that Sage will not play the movies internally, but it would be nice to see them show up along with my other movies, then when I push play have PowerDVD launch as an external app.
__________________
Throughout space there is energy. ... it is a mere question of time when men will succeed in attaching their machinery to the very wheelwork of nature. -Nikola Tesla
  #5  
Old 10-16-2007, 11:19 AM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
No, I'm not talking about ripped HD DVD / BD movies. I'm talking about the real thing. PC drives are a bit less expensive than standalone players, and I'm beginning to think they might work better anyway. The trick is getting SageTV and some other app (powerDVD most likely) to 'play nice.'

btl.
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
  #6  
Old 10-29-2007, 02:25 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Do the 3rd party apps support directshow playback? For instance, once installing the program, are the discs viewable in windows media player, like is the case with standard dvd's? If so, it sholdn't be a lot of work to integrate HDDVD playback into sage, as it should again, just be an issue of setting up the filters.

But I may be completely wrong. I don't have an HDDVD drive as of yet (Though, there is one coming in the mail, so hopefully I'll start tinkering later)
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
  #7  
Old 10-29-2007, 02:32 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Does anybody acually make a player worth launching? PowerDVD can't play the new MKB V4 disks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy
Do the 3rd party apps support directshow playback? For instance, once installing the program, are the discs viewable in windows media player, like is the case with standard dvd's? If so, it sholdn't be a lot of work to integrate HDDVD playback into sage, as it should again, just be an issue of setting up the filters.
HD DVD and Blu-ray can't be played via Directshow. AACS requires a protected path and Directshow isn't a protected path.
  #8  
Old 10-29-2007, 08:20 PM
mikesm mikesm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Does anybody acually make a player worth launching? PowerDVD can't play the new MKB V4 disks.



HD DVD and Blu-ray can't be played via Directshow. AACS requires a protected path and Directshow isn't a protected path.
They can play fine through Directshow if they are being played from the hard drive.

Thx
Mike
__________________
Server: Sage 6.5.9 - X2 3800+, DFI NF4 MB, 1 GB, 300 GB HD (system disk), NV 7600GS, - Windows XP SP2
Client 1: Sage 6.5.9 - E7200, Abit IP35 Pro, ATI 4850 with HDMI connect to Denon 3808CI and Sony A3000 SXRD TV
Client 2: HD200 connected to Denon 3808CI and A3000 SXRD TV
Client 3: Media MVP to 15" Toshiba LCD
Client 4: HD100 connected to Samsung 23" 720P LCD
Client 5: HD100 connected to Vizio VX37L
  #9  
Old 10-29-2007, 08:59 PM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
So ripping a BD or HD-DVD to hard drive is the best way to play via HTPC? What kind of disc space does a single movie require?
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
  #10  
Old 10-29-2007, 09:11 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikesm View Post
They can play fine through Directshow if they are being played from the hard drive.
This is not what was being discussed... the previous discussion was about playing from the DVD disks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bialio View Post
So ripping a BD or HD-DVD to hard drive is the best way to play via HTPC?
Since you are the one who started this conversation & you wanted to play the movies from the DVD disks:

Quote:
Originally Posted by bialio View Post
No, I'm not talking about ripped HD DVD / BD movies. I'm talking about the real thing.
Please take any discussion of ripping commercial DVD content to another forum. Thank you.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
  #11  
Old 10-29-2007, 11:13 PM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
If you follow the thread of this discussion, this is where it lead. Yes, I started the thread, and I was talking about actual discs. But a very good point was made that software HD players are lacking, and ripping is an alternative. That's a very pertinent piece of info to the discussion at hand.

As long as we aren't talking about methods to rip commercial HD content I don't see what the problem is. My question was a very general one about the size of an HD movie.

If it reaches the point where you think it's crossed the line, just delete the thread. But until then what is the point of raining on the discussion?
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
  #12  
Old 10-29-2007, 11:22 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by bialio View Post
If you follow the thread of this discussion, this is where it lead. Yes, I started the thread, and I was talking about actual discs. But a very good point was made that software HD players are lacking, and ripping is an alternative. That's a very pertinent piece of info to the discussion at hand.
Not when the forum rules prohibit discussion of ripping encrypted DVDs.

Quote:
If it reaches the point where you think it's crossed the line, just delete the thread. But until then what is the point of raining on the discussion?
Because I've already deleted content in this topic that isn't allowed on this forum.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sage Marketing Plan tmiranda General Discussion 17 09-13-2007 12:06 PM
Re-Install Sage on Vista System rodo55 SageTV Software 2 06-05-2007 07:14 AM
After Lockup - Sage Not working wolfpackmars2 SageTV Software 3 08-05-2006 10:23 PM
Sage UI disappears during playback Keith SageTV Software 17 03-03-2006 03:31 AM
MCE2005 = Sage 2.0 killer? rotaryracer General Discussion 45 10-27-2004 06:50 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.