SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-07-2009, 09:12 AM
Diego Garcia Diego Garcia is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 264
Confused about Creating MetaData and Importing TV Recordings

I would like to import some TV shows that I've recorded outside of SageTV into the Sage database. In other words, I'd like them to show up in the Sage Recordings menu structure. That presumably means I need to (a) get or create metadata for the recordings and (b) import the recordings into sage.

I'm finding that surprisingly confusing. I've read up on BMT and mediascraper, for example, but I'm not clear if BMT will generate the metadata, and when I ran Beta13 of mediascraper it didn't create any property file associated with the test recording I fed it.

Actually, that's not quite true: the first time I ran it against the recording it did >>something<< but I have no idea where it stashed the file it created, if, in fact, it created one. The second time I ran it against the same file it apparently recognized that it had already created a file, and didn't create a new one. Now if only I could get it to tell me where it put the file...

But, even if I get that first step working, I'm not clear what I do next. Both BMT and mediascraper have provisions for directly modifying the sage database...and both carry warnings to use that at one's own risk (no one seems to have reported serious problems, though). On the other hand, there's a thread that Opus wrote which talks about sage automatically reading an associated property file when it imports a video, but I'm unclear as to how to make sage import a file. I couldn't find a sage menu command that did that.

Maybe importing is associated with the directories sage periodically asks me if it should scan when it starts up. But I haven't been able to find where those directories are configured in the menu tree (which might be where the import command is).

Which is why a how to would be nice. BTW, if that only exists in pieces I'd be happy to write one by pulling things together.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-07-2009, 02:15 PM
Peter_h Peter_h is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kailua, HI
Posts: 798
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diego Garcia View Post
I would like to import some TV shows that I've recorded outside of SageTV into the Sage database. In other words, I'd like them to show up in the Sage Recordings menu structure. That presumably means I need to (a) get or create metadata for the recordings and (b) import the recordings into sage.

I'm finding that surprisingly confusing. I've read up on BMT and mediascraper, for example, but I'm not clear if BMT will generate the metadata, and when I ran Beta13 of mediascraper it didn't create any property file associated with the test recording I fed it.

Actually, that's not quite true: the first time I ran it against the recording it did >>something<< but I have no idea where it stashed the file it created, if, in fact, it created one. The second time I ran it against the same file it apparently recognized that it had already created a file, and didn't create a new one. Now if only I could get it to tell me where it put the file...

But, even if I get that first step working, I'm not clear what I do next. Both BMT and mediascraper have provisions for directly modifying the sage database...and both carry warnings to use that at one's own risk (no one seems to have reported serious problems, though). On the other hand, there's a thread that Opus wrote which talks about sage automatically reading an associated property file when it imports a video, but I'm unclear as to how to make sage import a file. I couldn't find a sage menu command that did that.

Maybe importing is associated with the directories sage periodically asks me if it should scan when it starts up. But I haven't been able to find where those directories are configured in the menu tree (which might be where the import command is).

Which is why a how to would be nice. BTW, if that only exists in pieces I'd be happy to write one by pulling things together.
Do you have the Web interface installed? That's the easiest way to do it.

Mediascraper relies on the Web interface to import shows into the sage database.

I'm not quite sure how BMT does it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clean out old metadata created by My Movies before creating new metadata for SageTV? Texas-Hansen SageTV Customizations 0 02-12-2009 10:31 AM
Metadata newbie - confused by all the choices ThePaladinTech SageTV Customizations 2 01-10-2009 07:19 PM
Program metadata and recordings that have been compressed vca SageTV Software 1 07-14-2008 01:04 PM
Moving recordings to imported dirs and metadata files, using SageMC brzez SageMC Custom Interface 1 03-13-2008 01:45 PM
importing other TV recordings into archive Belgrath SageTV Customizations 1 09-29-2006 09:21 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.