SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-28-2009, 07:04 PM
Chriscic Chriscic is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 729
Anyone running HD-PVRs without lock-ups on Dish VIP 211's?

My dual HD-PVRs worked flawlessly with my Dish 211k setup for 6 months, only to start constantly locking up within the last couple of weeks. I'm wondering if Dish may have updated something with these set-top boxes which is causing a problem. I'd made zero changes to my system before it started to do this (automatic Windows updates though on WHS server though).

I'm using the optical inputs.

If anyone is having success with these boxes, please let me know.

I sent Hauppauge an email requesting tech support. We'll see what they say. Probably they're going to tell me I have to reproduce the errors in their own software, which I am willing to do if it looks like it might actually get me somewhere.

Thanks,
-Chris C.

Last edited by Chriscic; 11-28-2009 at 07:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-28-2009, 08:29 PM
jerryt jerryt is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 832
Yes, no lock ups.
1.0.5.301 drivers, RCA audio, E1 version of HD-PVR on it's own enhanced USB controller. STB output locked at 720p, Cooling fan blowing air on bottom of the HD-PVR, and VIP211K

Last edited by jerryt; 11-29-2009 at 08:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-28-2009, 09:27 PM
fidget's Avatar
fidget fidget is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Posts: 1,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryt View Post
Yes, no lock ups.
1.0.5.301 drivers, RCA audio, VIP211K
I am using the same driver version without any lock ups. I am using digital audio rather than RCA.
__________________
Server: i5-2405S (4 core @ 2.5 GHz), 8GB RAM, NORCO RPC-4220 4U case
Tuners: 2 SiliconDust HDHomeRun , 2 Hauppauge HD-PVR Connected to 1 Pace700X and 1 TiVo Series 4
DVD Storage: 24 TB
TV Storage: 11 TB (4x1.5TB for recording, 5TB for archive)
Clients: 3
SageTV Extenders:5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-29-2009, 09:26 AM
Chriscic Chriscic is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 729
Thanks guys. Maybe I'll give those older drivers a whirl; can't hurt, although things were running perfectly with the 1.5.6.0 drivers for all those months.

I might also try the fan idea, but they were running great before without any fan.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-30-2009, 03:23 PM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,254
I'm also using a single HD-PVR on my system with the Disk VIP211k STB.

1.0.5.301 drivers
RCA audio
Hauppauge IR Blaster
Version D I think (but it has been a while since I checked, I know I RMAed one unit).
Onboard USB port (motherboard)

I've tried both the 1.5.6.0 and 1.5.6.1 drivers without success. Both resulted in major lockups for my system.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (32bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Charter cable)
OpenDCT
HD-100 HD Extenders
HD-300 HD Extenders
Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-30-2009, 03:51 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
I'm mostly the same on the 1.0.5.301 but I use S/PDIF and have been quite reliable. Both the 1.5.6.* releases were much worse.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-30-2009, 05:44 PM
Chriscic Chriscic is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 729
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
I'm mostly the same on the 1.0.5.301 but I use S/PDIF and have been quite reliable. Both the 1.5.6.* releases were much worse.
I used the 1.5.6.0 drivers with perfect results for 6 months. I'm going to try to get help from Hauppauge and Sage on this before I mess around with any older drivers. God forbid someone takes responsibility and actually fixes the issue. Appreciate the suggestion though.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-30-2009, 08:03 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chriscic View Post
I used the 1.5.6.0 drivers with perfect results for 6 months.
They exploded on my system within a couple hours of installation.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-08-2009, 05:02 PM
Chriscic Chriscic is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 729
Sage, Hauppauge, and HD-PVR lock-ups

I've requested email tech support from both Sage and Hauppauge on my recurring HD-PVR lock-ups and here is my summary of the companies POVs (at least the techs I dealt with):

Sage: "We know the HD-PVR has problems; we've done everything we can on our end. Please bother Hauppauge as we are under NDA and can't say anything else."

Hauppauge: "We are not aware of any widespread issue with HD-PVR lock-ups. Make sure your USB cable isn't too long. Other than that all we can do is RMA your units."

That's it basically. Note that the Hauppauge tech ignored the several HD-PVR Lock-up threads I referenced, sayng they didn't want to argue the scope of the problem.

The only thing I have left to try is to roll back to the older drivers some are recommending, maybe try RCA-only sound again, and then maybe RMA my two units for replacement (I've already done three of those so I am not optimistic). If none of that works (god forbid), it'll have to be a reluctant goodbye Sage. I'm not sure what to replace it with.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-08-2009, 05:37 PM
SWKerr SWKerr is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,178
Why don't you post you setup and what you have tried to date. I think most people have managed to get to stable setups at this point and their painful learning experece might be of help.

First I would just try to get one working before adding another. It has always been picky about sharing USB channels.

Second: increase the Java heap size.

Third: Keep it away from anything hot. Mine didn't work woth a crap on top of my DirecTV receiver. I keep them out in the open air now.

If you have anther machine to test with, try it. I may be something specific to that setup.

Just general notes to try. Again post you specif setup.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-08-2009, 07:02 PM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chriscic View Post
......If none of that works (god forbid), it'll have to be a reluctant goodbye Sage. I'm not sure what to replace it with.
Chriscic, we do feel your pain. Not that it helps you at all. I have been in the same position myself in the past.

My reaction though, would be a reluctant goodbye to the HD PVRs, not a goodbye to Sage.
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-08-2009, 07:21 PM
mozerd mozerd is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Nepean, Ontario Canada
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chriscic View Post
Hauppauge: "We are not aware of any widespread issue with HD-PVR lock-ups. Make sure your USB cable isn't too long. Other than that all we can do is RMA your units."
I recently set up my brand new HTPC and am having problems getting the HD-PVR [12 days old] working consistently -- works one day then stops working then starts working again etc. I called Hauppauge and after going through some hoops -- turn everything off, etc. they suggested to RMA the unit so they can test it in their labs. I asked if they had any kind of diagnostic tool that I could use [I am technically well trained with have significant experience] but no such tool exists that they would provide. IMO, this is a expensive item and diagnostics should be part of the package. Needless to say I am not at all happy with this Hauppauge HD-PVR expedience.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-08-2009, 07:26 PM
SteveW's Avatar
SteveW SteveW is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chriscic View Post
I've requested email tech support from both Sage and Hauppauge on my recurring HD-PVR lock-ups and here is my summary of the companies POVs (at least the techs I dealt with):

Sage: "We know the HD-PVR has problems; we've done everything we can on our end. Please bother Hauppauge as we are under NDA and can't say anything else."

Hauppauge: "We are not aware of any widespread issue with HD-PVR lock-ups. Make sure your USB cable isn't too long. Other than that all we can do is RMA your units."

That's it basically. Note that the Hauppauge tech ignored the several HD-PVR Lock-up threads I referenced, sayng they didn't want to argue the scope of the problem.

The only thing I have left to try is to roll back to the older drivers some are recommending, maybe try RCA-only sound again, and then maybe RMA my two units for replacement (I've already done three of those so I am not optimistic). If none of that works (god forbid), it'll have to be a reluctant goodbye Sage. I'm not sure what to replace it with.
Interesting. Based on the above referenced e-mails, it sounds like Hauppauge has Sage under some sort of non disclosure agreement... It almost sounds like Sage is aware of the problem(s) with the HD-PVRs, but Hauppauge has them locked down so that they can't say anything....

Since Hauppauge seems to think this isn't a wide spread problem, I guess I better pipe-up with an e-mail to their support with my lockup problems....
__________________
Server: Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Intel i5, 8 GB, Samsung EVO 850 500 GB for OS, WD Black 4 TB + WD Black 1 TB for Recordings, WD Green 2 TB x 1 and WD Red 6 TB x 2 for DVD/Bluray Rips, Music, Home Movies, etc., Sage 9.1.8.770, HDPVR x 2, BellTV 6131 Receiver x 2, USB-UIRT with 56 KHz Receiver

Clients: PC Client x 2, HD-300 x 4 (1 Using Netgear MoCA Coax Bridges), Placeshifter x 1
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-08-2009, 08:00 PM
jerryt jerryt is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chriscic View Post
If none of that works (god forbid), it'll have to be a reluctant goodbye Sage. I'm not sure what to replace it with.
Bye Bye HD-PVR, not Sage.

By the way the other HD-PVR third party softwares like DVBlogic, have people reporting that Sage has the HD-PVR working better. And they all report the lock ups.

Sure it is a pain (and takes some VooDoo magic), but most of us have gotten past lockups.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-08-2009, 08:22 PM
martin martin is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryt View Post
Bye Bye HD-PVR, not Sage.
We need something that just works

Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-10-2009, 08:08 PM
Chriscic Chriscic is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 729
Just another night of missed shows... thanks Sage and Hauppauge

The Sage/HD-PVR dynamo strikes again.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-10-2009, 08:47 PM
jerryt jerryt is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 832
Keep changing things until you get it stable. Are your HD-PVR's the only thing on an enhanced USB controller?

I am running 1.5.6.1 for 7 days straight, no lock ups and recording perfectly.

1.5.6.1 seems to tune video faster for me then 1.0.5.301

I will be going all out in a few weeks, doing all the anti lockup recommendations. Then add a second HD-PVR. I have two netbook cooling pads coming to use for cooling.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-11-2009, 09:36 AM
Chriscic Chriscic is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 729
Can you give me more info. on the network cooling pads? Overheating is still one theory for the lock-ups. Although I really think maybe Dish changed something as well.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-11-2009, 09:42 AM
Chriscic Chriscic is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 729
Quote:
Originally Posted by SWKerr View Post
Why don't you post you setup and what you have tried to date. I think most people have managed to get to stable setups at this point and their painful learning experece might be of help.
I appreciate the offer for help, but right or wrong I feel that more troubleshooting is pointless. I've tried multiple machines and OSes in the past... I really think it's just a hardware issue.

Neither Sage or Hauppauge have any more suggestions, and if it were something that could be nailed down on the software/config. side one would think either they would have figured it out by now OR someone on here would have figured it out. But no-one has and everybody has their pet theories. I believe it's bad hardware. I'm hopeful that with a better cooling solution things will improve. It's *possible* the units ran better in the summer as my basement was cooler with the air conditioning on all the time; now the heater is on (I live in Chicago) and the basement is warmer. It's only a few degrees probably, but maybe that's enough to throw it over the edge.

Either that or Dish did change something in the output signal. That makes a lot of sense since prior I had five months or perfect operation, although some folks also are still using Dish without problems.

Last edited by Chriscic; 12-11-2009 at 09:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-11-2009, 09:43 AM
Chriscic Chriscic is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 729
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chriscic View Post
The Sage/HD-PVR dynamo strikes again.
Sorry for my momentary lapse into pure whining. I got home from a business trip, and just wanted to sit down and watch Survivor. For the second straight week, the HD-PVR crapped out right at the start of tribal council. Argh!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lock ups at 1:08 co30cl SageTV Media Extender 8 07-12-2010 07:30 AM
r5000 w/Dish VIP 211 RandyJohnson Hardware Support 0 01-08-2009 07:43 PM
DISH VIP and IR-200 Mike Young Hardware Support 0 04-11-2006 09:14 AM
DISH VIP-211 Mike Young Hardware Support 0 02-24-2006 06:35 PM
Lock ups! 3.0.7 DynamoBen SageTV Beta Test Software 1 08-18-2005 05:57 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.