SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations > Sage My Movies

Notices

Sage My Movies This forums is for discussing the user-created Sage My Movies for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-26-2010, 04:28 PM
blewis blewis is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 13
Problems WHS Install

I recently tried to install SMM in the new beta SageTV V7 for WHS and it doesnt seem to be working. The plugin install did not give me an option to install as a server and then a client and, when I finished installing SMM and went to check out the movie wall, no covers showed up, just grey boxes.

Also, I happened to notice that my mymovies folder was not installed on a share but on D:\ on my WHS.

Thanks,

Barry
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-27-2010, 05:46 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
My Movie for WHS is an add-in. As such you put it in the Add-ins folder and install is thru the WHS console. Did you do that?

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2010, 06:05 AM
blewis blewis is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 13
Gerry,

Yes, I did install My Movies as an addin in the WHS console.

Barry
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2010, 06:19 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
You need to install the SMM as a server to get it to scale and then install the client version on the client.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2010, 10:20 AM
blewis blewis is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
You need to install the SMM as a server to get it to scale and then install the client version on the client.
When I go to install the plugin in sagetv, it does not give me the option to install it as a server and then a client. It only gives the install plugin option.

Barry
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-27-2010, 11:22 AM
jptheripper jptheripper is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 935
Mymovies client install is a seperate standalone program (per the wiki)

You need to install it and point it to your MM server location (your WHS) and THEN install the plugin in Sagetv. For you there are 3 installs.

1. Install server add-in for MM on WHS
2. Install client of mymovies on SAGETV PC and point to WHS
3. Install Sagetv plugin
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3/4gb DDR2/AMD Phenom 955 3.2ghz Quad Core
Windows 7 64bit Home Premium
Hauppauge 1600/1850/2250/colossus/2650(CableCard 2 tuner)
8tb RAID5 storage/media/other &3tb RAID5 backup storage on a HighPoint RocketRaid 2680
1tb 3 disk Recording Pool
all in a beautiful Antec 1200
SageMyMovies/Comskip/PlayON/SageDCT/SRE
HD100/HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-27-2010, 11:23 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by blewis View Post
When I go to install the plugin in sagetv, it does not give me the option to install it as a server and then a client. It only gives the install plugin option.

Barry
Are you talking about smm or mymovies?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-27-2010, 12:13 PM
blewis blewis is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
Are you talking about smm or mymovies?
I am talking about SMM.

But to get everything straight, I have a WHS machine that is connected to a HD-200 and a HD-300 and was using an earlier release of sagetv V7. A couple of weeks ago, I installed mymovies as an addin to WHS and attempted to install smm following the walkthrough is the faq.

I first attempted to install the smm server but it would not let me do so because of the version of sagetv V7 I was using.

Sunday, Sept. 26, I updated Sagetv to V7.0.17 Release candidate 1. I then installed SMM plugin in sagetv using the plugin installer remoting into my WHS. It did not give me an option to install the server or the client, just the plugin. It seemed to install successfully, but when I went into the movie wall from one of the extenders, it would not cache the covers from the server and just showed gray boxes.

Could it be that I did not remove and reinstall the mymovies addin to whs after updating Sagetv?

Thanks for any help.

Barry
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-27-2010, 01:02 PM
wubdich's Avatar
wubdich wubdich is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 235
I had a simmilar problem and solved it this way:
- default Media Center import path of SageTV on WHS is \\localhost\Videos
- monitor path for MyMovies was \\{whs-servername}\Videos
After changing Media Center import path in SageTV to \\{whs-servername}\Videos covers are showing up in SMM

Last edited by wubdich; 09-27-2010 at 01:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-27-2010, 02:55 PM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Barry you don't have to remote in to install server packages for future reference installing from a extender installs to the server for any addin of sagetv

No for your next problem can you go to the current Information screen in smm and tell me what it says for fanart instance and stvi and API versions.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-27-2010, 03:14 PM
Carlton Bale Carlton Bale is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Posts: 96
Please don't take these as criticisms - this is an awesome free plugin and I'm very grateful for all of the work in making it possible. Here are a few suggestions to make it easier for new Sage users, especially those with WHS & extenders to install the plugin and get it working.

I found the installation to have been more confusing than necessary. I have a Windows Home Server (w/MyMovies for WHS previously installed) and a new HD300 extender. The SMM plug-in description says something like "MyMovies collection management must be installed on the client." This lead me to believe that SageMyMovies wouldn't work with extenders because Collection Management can't be installed on those clients. So I did some reading on this forum and the Google Code page and figured out that it does indeed work with Sage extenders, and proceeded with the installation. I was then confused because the wiki/blog how-to-install post says to install both the SageMyMovies client and server; installation via extender only offers an option for "install". I was able to successfully install it, but then I was unable to find the MyMovies view because the instructions don't specify to highlight the Videos main menu and press the right arrow button to change views. (I was selecting the Videos menu item and clicking the Enter button.)

Once I figured all this out, I was in the MyMovies view and, as expected, had problems with playback because the paths were different (//localhost instead of //servername .) The error message was pretty easy to understand, so I changed the paths in the main Sage setup menu, and then got the same error message again in SageMyMovies, but this time the the playback path and the imports paths matched. So I rebuilt the SMM import file and the movies still would not play; exiting and restarting SMM solved the problem. (It might be nice if SMM would offer to perform a rebuild in the error box if the import paths and playback paths match, and also prompt to restart SMM.)

Now almost everything is working (playback of all movies, backgrounds/fan art) but the covers are only showing for about 10% of my collection. It's puzzling that the backgrounds work perfectly, but not the covers. I read in another thread that it may be a MyMovies export issue, so I'll switch to Plastic style covers and back to default style covers (in Collection Management -> Tools -> Options -> Media Center Interface -> Cover styles) and hopefully that will solve my final problem.

In summary, it would be very helpful if the plugin description and install instructions were updated to specify exactly what is required for the various configurations, specifically WHS + extenders. (I'm still not sure if Collection Management needs to be installed via Remote Desktop on my WHS or if "MyMovies for WHS" is all that is required.)

Thanks again for the great plugin.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-27-2010, 06:24 PM
blewis blewis is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
Barry you don't have to remote in to install server packages for future reference installing from a extender installs to the server for any addin of sagetv

No for your next problem can you go to the current Information screen in smm and tell me what it says for fanart instance and stvi and API versions.

Cheers
Plucky,

The fanart location is set to current instanse, the STVi is Beta 1.15 and the API is betabuild 1.19.

Thanks,

Barry
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-27-2010, 06:54 PM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by blewis View Post
Plucky,

The fanart location is set to current instanse, the STVi is Beta 1.15 and the API is betabuild 1.19.

Thanks,

Barry
And all your images are re blank covers correct?

Do this for me delete the sagetv extender folder from the whs mymovies location\sagetv\extender

Stop the sagetv service first using the whs console. Once stopped delete that folder and then restart the service. That folder should get recreated give it about 5 minutes to rescale.

Start up extender and see if covers show. If not send me your mymovies log.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-28-2010, 10:22 AM
Carlton Bale Carlton Bale is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlton Bale View Post
It's puzzling that the backgrounds work perfectly, but not the covers. I read in another thread that it may be a MyMovies export issue, so I'll switch to Plastic style covers and back to default style covers (in Collection Management -> Tools -> Options -> Media Center Interface -> Cover styles) and hopefully that will solve my final problem.
I installed Collection Management on my WHS (via remote desktop) and changed the cover styles within Collection Management so that MyMovies would re-export all of the covers. This fixed the missing covers for me. (Please note that everything else was working: backgrounds displayed properly, movies played, just no cover art.)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-28-2010, 10:23 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlton Bale View Post
I installed Collection Management on my WHS (via remote desktop) and changed the cover styles within Collection Management so that MyMovies would re-export all of the covers. This fixed the missing covers for me. (Please note that everything else was working: backgrounds displayed properly, movies played, just no cover art.)
Yeah that seems to be an error with the collection manager I believe please log it with the mymovies guys.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone install PowerPack 3 on WHS? heatvent SageTV Software 8 11-30-2009 03:27 PM
New WHS Install with Sagetv jorton SageTV Software 5 07-27-2009 09:54 PM
What drive for OS on a new WHS install? btrcp2000 Hardware Support 4 07-19-2009 07:53 AM
Really need help with new WHS install skitter SageTV Software 11 01-15-2009 02:10 PM
SageTV and WHS install spoonman1227 SageTV Beta Test Software 3 06-24-2008 02:12 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.