SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations > Batch Metadata Tools

Notices

Batch Metadata Tools This forums is for discussing the user-created Batch Metadata Tools for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-24-2011, 02:25 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,579
Displaying and editing metadata in a spreadsheet-like grid

One thing which I would find very useful is if you could have an option for displaying metadata for all files in a folder in a spreadsheet-like grid (or a database table in Access, etc.). In other words when browsing in BMT you would have the option of seeing a list that contains stuff like: Filename, Show Title, Recording Type (TV/Movie), Fanart Title, Episode Title, Season Num, Episode Num, etc, rather than the current browsing screen which shows a box with one Fanart image file plus some metadata like ShowTitle, EpisodeTitle, SeasonNum, EpisodeNum.

It would be particularly nice if one could copy from the grid to Excel (or another spreadsheet program), make changes and then paste back into the grid. But even just a one way transfer of data would be very useful.

This would also facilitate reporting and would easily allow you to see what episode numbers that you are missing for certain shows, etc.

Is something like this possible?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-24-2011, 03:57 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
It's sure possible, but it's outside the scope of anything that I'm willing to do right now (too many other things on the go). But, I'm not against someone else taking a stab at it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2011, 05:02 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,579
How do you get at the metdata? Is it in a relational database that can be accessed via ODBC tools or do you have to get each data element individually with calls to the Sage API?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2011, 05:40 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
How do you get at the metdata? Is it in a relational database that can be accessed via ODBC tools or do you have to get each data element individually with calls to the Sage API?
I use the sagetv apis. There is no relational database for the metadata.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-24-2011, 10:08 PM
skiingwiz skiingwiz is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
But even just a one way transfer of data would be very useful.
If you know javascript, python, or groovy then you could use stuckless's Sage Scripting Framework.

It wouldn't be too hard to write a script that dumps the metadata to a CSV file, which Excel will happily read.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about padding in a cell/grid PLUCKYHD SageTV Studio 0 04-16-2009 02:48 PM
Clean out old metadata created by My Movies before creating new metadata for SageTV? Texas-Hansen SageTV Customizations 0 02-12-2009 10:31 AM
Comskip and Grid Computing Skiier__Dude SageTV Customizations 3 11-03-2008 09:37 AM
Nvidia 6150 grid problem memory related? blade Hardware Support 6 10-16-2006 12:35 PM
TV out not displaying on TV? kevthor SageTV Software 2 07-04-2003 03:04 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.