SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2011, 10:49 PM
Gustovier Gustovier is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 460
a way to kill a hung SageTv.exe process (win7)

All,

I've seen this posted around here before but not a solution. Every once in a blue moon sagetv process I'll get hung. And I haven't been able to identify anything that lets me kill it besides a reboot in windows 7. I've seen this now when running sage as a service and just standalone. I've tried all the command line options,force kills, 3rd party tools. Nothing seems to work besides a reboot. Had anybody been able to identify a way to kill this hung SageTv.exe (the main proc not the nanny one ) process?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-21-2011, 05:48 AM
trallyus trallyus is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 392
Have you tried putting your mouse on an empty part of the start bar and right clicking it and choose start task manager and click the processes tab and and kill the sagetv.exe files that way as that is how I usally kill processes.

You can also start task manager by pressing ctrl+alt+del keys until a screen pops up that lets you choose task manager.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-21-2011, 07:53 AM
Gustovier Gustovier is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 460
Yes task manager is useless in this situation. It will not kill the process. I think I really blame this on windows 7. It's like it took 2 steps backward in process mgmt. But I wonder if sage needs to do something different in the code to allow task manager to truly kill the pid in these situations.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-21-2011, 08:46 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
This is a way better process manager. It works better than task manager and gives you 10 times the information.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2011, 08:47 AM
Gustovier Gustovier is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
This is a way better process manager. It works better than task manager and gives you 10 times the information.
Tried it didn't work either
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-21-2011, 07:28 PM
robogeek robogeek is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Appleton, WI USA
Posts: 561
Just wanted to say that you're not alone. Since installing SageTV v7.15 when it was released, I've had this happen twice. Both times it happened shortly after SageTV started spitting out Out of Memory errors in the debug log and my extenders (MVP's) started acting wierd before hanging. I think when SageTV runs out of memory, the JVM eventually pukes and it isn't able to recover, causing it to become totally unresponsive. Attempting to stop or restart the service results in the service status listed as Stopping in the Windows Service Control Panel and then you can't do anything else with it from there. Once it hangs, no amount of selecting End Task in the Task Manager will kill the hung SageTVService.exe process. The only way out is a reboot.

As a work-around, restarting the SageTV Service a couple of times a week and restarting after installing plugins (including UI plugins that don't require a restart) seems to be working for me.
__________________
--Jason

Server Hardware: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R, Intel Q9550 CPU 3.2GHz, 11GB RAM, 1xHDHR, 1xHVR1600, 1xHVR2250
29TB Server Storage: 1TB SSD (OS), 1TB (data), 2x6TB+2x10TB (22TB FlexRaid storage pool), 2x2TB (recordings), 1x750GB (VMs).
Server Software: Win10 Pro x64 OS, SageTV 64bit v9.2.0.441, Java 1.8 u201, PlayOn, Comskip (Donator) v0.82.003, WampServer v2.5.
Clients: 3xHD300s, 2xHD100, 2xPlaceshifters
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-21-2011, 08:13 PM
Thomas Wischgol's Avatar
Thomas Wischgol Thomas Wischgol is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 256
I use pskill for that. It is especially convenient in my case as it is command line based. So I can log into the server (or my client) via ssh (I have a cygwin sshd running) and just kill it using pskill.

Thomas
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-21-2011, 11:12 PM
sleonard's Avatar
sleonard sleonard is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,506
Do you have a Colossus? I have seen this only twice, both times after installing a Colossus and both times Sage support was able to pin it on the Colossus drivers hanging and bringing down the entire Sage service with it.

S
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-22-2011, 01:02 AM
robogeek robogeek is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Appleton, WI USA
Posts: 561
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleonard View Post
Do you have a Colossus? I have seen this only twice, both times after installing a Colossus and both times Sage support was able to pin it on the Colossus drivers hanging and bringing down the entire Sage service with it.

S
No Colossus for me. I'm fairly certain my issue is plugin related. I'm leaning towards it being something fanart related. Something causing high memory usage and unused objects not getting unallocated fast enough to free up memory. Maybe a Java garbage collection issue in my case? I think garbage collection routines were changed in one of the recent betas, if I remember the release notes correctly.
__________________
--Jason

Server Hardware: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R, Intel Q9550 CPU 3.2GHz, 11GB RAM, 1xHDHR, 1xHVR1600, 1xHVR2250
29TB Server Storage: 1TB SSD (OS), 1TB (data), 2x6TB+2x10TB (22TB FlexRaid storage pool), 2x2TB (recordings), 1x750GB (VMs).
Server Software: Win10 Pro x64 OS, SageTV 64bit v9.2.0.441, Java 1.8 u201, PlayOn, Comskip (Donator) v0.82.003, WampServer v2.5.
Clients: 3xHD300s, 2xHD100, 2xPlaceshifters
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-22-2011, 06:39 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
I use EventGhost to launch Taskkill when a command to SageTV fails on my client PC. The parameters I use are "/F /IM SageTVClient.exe". Not sure how well it will work for SageTV.exe, though.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-22-2011, 08:07 AM
CanadianEh CanadianEh is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Colchester, VT
Posts: 433
What version of HD-PVR drivers are you using? I kept randomly experiencing this issue until I downgraded to the 1.5.0.301 driver set. I have been running for about 2 months without this issue occuring since that change.

Additionally, I have a dual HD-PVR setup and have only experienced one episode of "halt detected in recording" since going back to these drivers. I was using 1.5.6 and 1.5.7.
__________________
My systems:
Server: AMD Phenom Quad-Core 2.3Ghz, 4GB RAM, ECS A780GM-A MB, 2x HD-PVRs (connected to DirecTV HD STBs using ethernet channel changing), 1x AverMedia A180, OS RAID-1 mirror - 2x250GB 7200rpm SATA, Media RAID-1 mirror - 2x1TB 7200rpm SATA, USB-UIRT (remote control)
Main Client: Sage STX-HD100 Media extender
Second Client: Athlon XP 4000+, 2GB MB PC3200 DDR, Asus A8N5X MB, 512MB PCI-E ATI HD Radeon 3650, 160 GB SATA - hardware mirrored
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-23-2011, 09:03 AM
Gustovier Gustovier is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 460
I've tried taskkill as well. It still won't kill SageTv when the process gets hung like this. As stated most times I can kill sage but once in a while it will get so fubar'ed that nothing can kill it besides a reboot.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-23-2011, 09:40 AM
peternm22 peternm22 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 607
I've had this happen with Firefox last year on Windows 7. Absolutely no way to end the process when it hanged except to restart the computer. No idea why Windows 7 can't do this when Windows XP never had a problem killing a process. Worse that Windows 98, which could take a while to actually kill the process but eventually did do it.

I've seen other people online with the same problem, and no one seems to have a solution unfortunately.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-23-2011, 05:36 PM
Gustovier Gustovier is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by peternm22 View Post
I've had this happen with Firefox last year on Windows 7. Absolutely no way to end the process when it hanged except to restart the computer. No idea why Windows 7 can't do this when Windows XP never had a problem killing a process. Worse that Windows 98, which could take a while to actually kill the process but eventually did do it.

I've seen other people online with the same problem, and no one seems to have a solution unfortunately.
I seem to be seeing the same stuff across the web as well. It looks like windows 7 has taken a step backwards in process management. If it wasn't for sage(even though there is a Linux version) and commercial skipping I think I would move to Linux
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-25-2011, 06:13 AM
Savage1701 Savage1701 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 668
I don't have a solution, but it's good to know this is not unique to my system. I run my Server on XP and can kill at will, not that I hardly ever need to.

But not on Win 7 64-bit when its Sage Client hangs. I've tried the same things - different process killers, Task Manager from the taksbar, etc. Hope someone finds a workaround.
__________________
Asus P5Q Premium MB, E6750, 4GB RAM, 32-bit XP Pro SP3, 3Ware 9590SE controller, 80GB 7.2K Laptop boot drive w/SuperSpeed Cache Utility & eBoostr, (1) KWorld ATSC-110, (1) 950Q USB, (1) 2250 tuner, (1) HD-PVR using USB-UIRT, (1) 1600 Dual card, (1) DVICO Fusion 5 Gold, (1) Hauppauge 1250, (1) Hauppauge 2250, 8 various storage HD's, NEC-based x1 USB add-on card, 2 outdoor antennas capturing 2 different OTA markets, Dish Network w/HD Receiver for HD-PVR.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-25-2011, 07:10 AM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Savage1701 View Post
Hope someone finds a workaround.
This could be wrong but i think i am remembering it correctly. If you enable the console window you should be able kill the sage client by closing the console window even with OoM errors on win7. The console window is a dos window that shows the running debug log if you have debugging enabled. I use it on my dev machine (win7 x64). During stvi development i had a bug that gave me a OoM error in the java jvm... iirc i was able to kill the process with the console window. You enable the console window in the registry... If you use babgvant's registry tool it should be pretty easy to enable it.
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-25-2011, 11:46 AM
Gustovier Gustovier is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 460
This is truly a windows 7 process management problem. Since starting the thread I've seen numerous topics and threads on other forums that date back almost 2 years about the issue with no resolution. Basically it's a microsoft fail..
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-25-2011, 12:22 PM
aflat aflat is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 302
Use process explorere, and the default tree view. Make sure you right click on procexp and "Run as administrator". Then right click on sage.exe, and click "kill process tree" It could be something in the java that is hanging, not the exe itself. So killing it won't help, you need to kill the appropriate java.exe(or is it javaw.exe, I forget which)

I haven't had it hang, and I've never tried this myself, but I have found that WIn7 kills processes much better then all the previous version, as long as you kill the correct process.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-26-2011, 07:13 PM
sdsean's Avatar
sdsean sdsean is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 537
Does anyone have a valid link to information about Win 7 having an issue where task manager end process is not working?

I have win7 64bit ultimate, and have never ever ever experienced this problem.
(not saying its not real, i'm just saying I want to make sure to look out for it. . .)

Are you sure you are viewing all processes from all users?
Are you sure you are killing the right SageTV process (since there are 2, one just being a shell).
Have you tried using End Process Tree?
__________________
i7 3.33 GHz EE Quad Core+HT, 12GB DDR3 1333Mhz RAM, ATI HD6870 2GB VRM, 512GB Samsung SSD OS Drive, EVGA SLI x58 Mobo, Win7 Ultimatex64, Gyration MCE Remote, Hauppauge HD-DVR (x3), HD-HR, 2x H21-100, 1x H21-200 DirecTV STBs, 1 SIIG / CyberSerial 4 Port Serial PCI card, 1 PCIex1 Inland/NEC 5 port USB card
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-27-2011, 06:38 PM
Gustovier Gustovier is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdsean View Post
Does anyone have a valid link to information about Win 7 having an issue where task manager end process is not working?

I have win7 64bit ultimate, and have never ever ever experienced this problem.
(not saying its not real, i'm just saying I want to make sure to look out for it. . .)

Are you sure you are viewing all processes from all users?
Are you sure you are killing the right SageTV process (since there are 2, one just being a shell).
Have you tried using End Process Tree?
This thread has been going for a couple of years and gets pretty passionate. Interesting read.. http://social.technet.microsoft.com/...-5fa53dc62661/
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sage Hangs Sometimes Cannot KILL process OldPCGUY SageTV Beta Test Software 4 05-19-2009 08:40 PM
SageTV won't exit - must end process - 6.0.14 YourNameHere SageTV Beta Test Software 2 11-21-2006 10:47 PM
SageTV server logs & hung SageTV service Surtr SageTV Software 4 02-15-2006 08:37 PM
SageTV tried to kill Windows kny3twalker SageTV Beta Test Software 1 10-17-2004 07:01 PM
Adding Firewire Drives Kill Audio in SageTV sshapiro63 SageTV Software 0 06-05-2003 07:19 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.