SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2015, 10:35 AM
Paul H Paul H is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 248
Will 2015 leap second effect SageTV?

Since the software is no longer 'supported' will it be effected by the time change?
At 11:59 p.m. on June 30, clocks will count up all the way to 60 seconds. That will allow the Earth's spin to catch up with atomic time.

Story:
http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/w...ares/21433363/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2015, 10:54 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul H View Post
Since the software is no longer 'supported' will it be effected by the time change?
At 11:59 p.m. on June 30, clocks will count up all the way to 60 seconds. That will allow the Earth's spin to catch up with atomic time.

Story:
http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/w...ares/21433363/
If Sage supports counting to 60 (which I suspect it doesn't), then it should handle it without any issue. If it doesn't support it, then Sage will probably be ahead by a single second until the next time sync is done, which isn't a big deal anyhow. All my computers are set to sync their clocks every 10 minutes just so recordings and the guide look right.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2015, 11:50 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Shouldn't be an issue at all. By default Windows syncs it's clock to the internet.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-2015, 12:18 PM
Paul H Paul H is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 248
The article mentions Java, anyone see a problem there?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-09-2015, 12:31 PM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,372
Java and now increasingly C# is widely used in the stock market and that is, I reckon, where people are more concerned about glitches
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-09-2015, 12:38 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,027
You could just shut the SageTV service down just before midnight, wait until after midnight, force an internet time update, and start the service back up afterwards.

That being said, my SageTV server has been up and running thru multiple daylight savings time changes, both backwards and forwards, and I've never had a problem (at least that I'm aware of) with it handling the time change properly. It even handled leap day correctly a few years back. If it can handle all of those situations, it seems like it should easily be able to handle one second. Just saying...
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-15-2015, 10:06 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
...my SageTV server has been up and running thru multiple daylight savings time changes, both backwards and forwards, and I've never had a problem (at least that I'm aware of) with it handling the time change properly. It even handled leap day correctly a few years back. If it can handle all of those situations, it seems like it should easily be able to handle one second. Just saying...
That's my thinking, too. Sage is just using the Windows clock which is (by default) updated automatically.

I suppose if you have a show set to record at Noon on that day and your clock update in Windows doesn't update right at Noon, you might want to add a minute padding to that show to make sure you don't miss that one second...
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-15-2015, 11:48 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
This happened on June 30, 2012, did anyone here notice anything.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-15-2015, 04:38 PM
PhilH's Avatar
PhilH PhilH is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edinburg, TX (Deep South Texas)
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
This happened on June 30, 2012, did anyone here notice anything.
I didn't.. I didn't even know anything was happening then..
__________________
SageTV v7.1.9 Gemstone WHS + 3 HD200's, 1 Client & 1 Placeshifter
WHS - Dual Xeon 2.8ghz - 3gig ECC Ram - 25 Drives - 30 Terabytes
Blu-ray Titles 498
HD-DVD Titles 166
DVD Titles - Too Many To Count..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-15-2015, 07:11 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
I didn't either until I saw this thread and looked it up.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-16-2015, 07:43 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
This happened on June 30, 2012, did anyone here notice anything.
Darn, that's what happened! That extra second was driving me nuts. Thanks Stanger
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Merry Christmas & Happy New Year 2015 SHS General Discussion 25 01-01-2015 08:59 PM
Effect widgets in SageTV version 7 Opus4 SageTV Studio 2 11-08-2011 06:28 AM
About to Make SageTV Leap kevine Hardware Support 12 08-26-2007 01:00 PM
Zap2It Labs shutting down, how will this effect sagetv? jhendrix SageTV EPG Service 41 08-10-2007 07:13 AM
Heads Up: XCard issue and its effect on SageTV DFA Hardware Support 6 11-22-2004 01:17 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.