SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2015, 05:01 PM
scoful's Avatar
scoful scoful is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Lawrence, Kansas
Posts: 371
Spinning Circle of Death timeout on playback

I'm hoping someone can point me to a setting in either the UI or properties file to shorten the timeout when starting playback. I'm not trying to resolve the playback issue (that's due to physical signal conditions).
I simply want Sage to stop trying so hard to play the file and just give up sooner.
__________________
SageTV 9 / 3 SageTV Clients / Ceton InfiniTV 6 / ComSkip
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2015, 07:33 PM
scoful's Avatar
scoful scoful is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Lawrence, Kansas
Posts: 371
Also

Also - just have to say that I nearly lost it when I saw SageTV was going open source! I've been somewhat depressed when searching for alternatives for some time now.
__________________
SageTV 9 / 3 SageTV Clients / Ceton InfiniTV 6 / ComSkip
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-21-2015, 10:56 PM
Deacon Crusher Deacon Crusher is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 503
Same symptom but looking for cause not symptom alleviation.

I've suddenly started to get a raft of problematic recordings in the last couple days.

All from/through my ceton infinitv6 through sagedct 2.6. recordings from OTA seem fine.

Symptom is spinning circle when playing back on extenders (200 and 300.)

Upon review the primary problem seems to be questionable audio track.

Files playback fine in other software, and can even play some of them back on sage on server, but have to choose a different audio track to hear the voice audio. I hear soundtrack audio but no voice, including sports broadcasts, very weird experience.

Tried videoredo, didn't help. Tried tsmuxer removing what looks like problematic audio track, but still doesn't help. Playing file in sage gives sound track still, but now even though there are extra audio tracks to choose from they all play the same audio. Interestingly. commercial audio is fine, it's show audio only that's a problem.

Thoughts.

EDIT

Above not all true. multiple CW shows have this problem, Flash and izombie tonight both have this issue, but Marvel's agents of shield also have it and that came in over ATSC/OTA via antenna and thumb drive tuner. Have rebooted a couple of times already. Did do some windows updates last week.

Edit 2

And it gets more interesting. Odd behavior noted last night on shows listed above was on the server. When actually viewing those shows on extender they played back fine?????

Really confused.

Help.

Thanks
__________________
Server: PhenomII X4 810, 16GB, 4850, C: 256GB Samsung SSD, D: HGST 3TB, E: HGST 4TB, H: 3T Seagate, 1.5 TB on NAS via UNC, Win 10 x64,
Sage 9 Cable provider is Comcast, Schedules Direct
Tuners: 4 ATSC - 2 seperate HD Homeruns all via Channel Master CM2016 on roof, 6 cable via 2 hdhomerun primes (opendct), 1 HD-PVR (in tuner priority order)
Clients: Wired: HD300, HD200, HD200 running Squeeze Slave, Placeshifters, HD200 (via wireless N bridge)

Last edited by Deacon Crusher; 04-22-2015 at 11:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-24-2015, 05:40 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Make sure none of your IPs have changed both on your devices and your router subnet. I've seen it happen before and the stuff just ran wacko.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-29-2015, 11:19 PM
scoful's Avatar
scoful scoful is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Lawrence, Kansas
Posts: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deacon Crusher View Post
Same symptom but looking for cause not symptom alleviation.

I've suddenly started to get a raft of problematic recordings in the last couple days.

All from/through my ceton infinitv6 through sagedct 2.6. recordings from OTA seem fine.

Symptom is spinning circle when playing back on extenders (200 and 300.)

Upon review the primary problem seems to be questionable audio track.

Files playback fine in other software, and can even play some of them back on sage on server, but have to choose a different audio track to hear the voice audio. I hear soundtrack audio but no voice, including sports broadcasts, very weird experience.

Tried videoredo, didn't help. Tried tsmuxer removing what looks like problematic audio track, but still doesn't help. Playing file in sage gives sound track still, but now even though there are extra audio tracks to choose from they all play the same audio. Interestingly. commercial audio is fine, it's show audio only that's a problem.

Thoughts.

EDIT

Above not all true. multiple CW shows have this problem, Flash and izombie tonight both have this issue, but Marvel's agents of shield also have it and that came in over ATSC/OTA via antenna and thumb drive tuner. Have rebooted a couple of times already. Did do some windows updates last week.

Edit 2

And it gets more interesting. Odd behavior noted last night on shows listed above was on the server. When actually viewing those shows on extender they played back fine?????

Really confused.

Help.

Thanks
I was using two hdhomerun primes and seemed to have quite a bit of difficulty. It seems that signal quality is pretty darn important - literally a signal strength over 90% resulted in playback failures and overall sluggishness while recording and simply browsing the recordings list. I presume this is due to the preview frame feature.
setting auto-convert on favorites corrected lot of them.

I recently replaced the primes with a ceton internal 6 tuner and have so far had much better consistency.

Still would like to be able to shorten up how long it tries to play!
__________________
SageTV 9 / 3 SageTV Clients / Ceton InfiniTV 6 / ComSkip
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
circle of death, playback, timeout


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spinning circle when STOPPING playback Skirge01 SageTV Software 99 10-19-2014 10:08 AM
Another spinning circle of death t4runnr SageTV Software 24 03-07-2014 10:37 AM
Spinning circle of death and thumbnails?? jbuszkie SageTV Software 28 03-07-2012 03:22 PM
Circle of Death when trying to playback video dynamix SageTV Software 10 12-29-2009 10:45 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.