SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > The SageTV Community

Notices

The SageTV Community Here's the place to discuss what's worth recording, HTPC deals at retail stores, events happening outside of your home theater, and pretty much anything else you'd like. (No For-Sale posts)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2015, 08:07 AM
Paul H Paul H is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 248
Thumbs down Need information about playon/playlater

First off sorry if I placed this in the wrong place.
Back story:
I just got my Comca$t bill, they raised my monthly payment by 33%.
Seriously considering cutting the cord. After reading the forum for replacements I think that Playon /Playlater would best fit my needs.

What I have:
SageTV V6.5.8.203
Java 1.7.0_67
Windows XP Pro
1-Server, 1-Client

Quick questions:
1- can I use what I have to use Playon /Playlater?
2- what is involved? I see that I would need to install a Plugin.

I've tried to find answers on this forum but there's just too information.

Please help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-18-2015, 10:04 AM
metapath's Avatar
metapath metapath is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingston, WA nw of Seattle
Posts: 104
It's unlikely you'll be happy with the results. You didn't post what processor/speed/mem you have, but if it came with XP it's probably very old/slow. Certainly you won't have good results if you want HD.

First, I'd replace XP with something only 10 years old. :-/
Actually, just buy a new or reconditioned machine and put Windows 10 on it (or Linux). With the money you'll be saving by cutting the cord, it will pay for itself in one or two months.

Then move Sage to version 9.

I've been happy with PlayOn/PlayLater.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-18-2015, 11:01 AM
Paul H Paul H is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 248
I have zero funds for any rebuild.
I'm not interested with HD.
Server has a Pentium III Quad core 2.666 GHz,
2G RAM
2TB scratch HDs (4-500gB HDs)
7TB storage HDs (3-2TB & 1TB HDs)
2 SDHD OTA boxes
The server runs Sagetv Service. Mainlobby / DVDlobby, and HomeSeer with an Ocelot PLA. And a 1Ghz over copper network.
No problems.

BTW, SW Comc@st and got a better package w no contract, this gives me more time to consider my options

Last edited by Paul H; 12-18-2015 at 11:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-18-2015, 11:57 AM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
Also keep in mind that for most channels (like AMC, FX, TNT BBCA etc) that come via cable, you'll have to enter your cable company's name and your cable account password into PlayOn's setup or you won't be able to receive those channels thru PlayOn.
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-18-2015, 12:33 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,055
If I was going to cut the cord my first choice would be Android TV such as a Google player and The Silicondust connect tuners ... it would not be playon.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-18-2015, 12:55 PM
Dargason Dargason is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
If I was going to cut the cord my first choice would be Android TV such as a Google player and The Silicondust connect tuners ... it would not be playon.
I agree... I think a Roku or Fire TV would get you access to Netflix, Hulu, SlingTV (for sports, TNT, and some others), Amazon, Vudu, etc.

This is what I use, plus an OTA antenna and tuner for local stations. There are some things I don't get anymore (Syfy) but there's still plenty to choose from.

(By the way, I also have playon/playlater, which I can access from Roku, but I haven't used it yet...)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-18-2015, 01:05 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dargason View Post
I agree... I think a Roku or Fire TV would get you access to Netflix, Hulu, SlingTV (for sports, TNT, and some others), Amazon, Vudu, etc.

This is what I use, plus an OTA antenna and tuner for local stations. There are some things I don't get anymore (Syfy) but there's still plenty to choose from.

(By the way, I also have playon/playlater, which I can access from Roku, but I haven't used it yet...)
My plan is hopefully to eliminate my server all together and use a Nas to do all the recordings. too much of a headache keeping a server up to date.

Nexus player ... HdHomerunDvr and a high Quality Nas.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-19-2015, 10:51 AM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelenWeathers View Post
Also keep in mind that for most channels (like AMC, FX, TNT BBCA etc) that come via cable, you'll have to enter your cable company's name and your cable account password into PlayOn's setup or you won't be able to receive those channels thru PlayOn.
That is a great point. I use PlayOn/Play Later to supplement cable, not replace it. Like a show didn't record the other day so I was able to grab it off Play Later.

I will say this though, the new version of PlayOn/Play Later works 20 times better than the previous version and the HD quality is much better.

As for your system, it doesn't appear to meet the minimum requirements (https://www.playon.tv/support/minreqs). Also, are you sure you have a Pentium III? I think they maxed out at 1.4 GHz and only had one core. Perhaps you have a Pentium D, which I believe was the only Pentium brand chip that had more than one core (the D was dual core).

Since you don't care about HD, why not look into getting rid of cable boxes and just get SD basic cable. A lot of cable companies will sell basic channels for less than $40/month.

I agree with everyone else though, a Roku, FireTV, etc. device and a Hulu/Netflix subscription would be your best option.
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client, 1 MiniClient
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-19-2015, 11:31 AM
Paul H Paul H is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 248
I stand corrected, it is a D,I used an old copy of Everest that reported the CPU was a Pentium III.
Comca$t (XFLIMSY), the only cable I can get, offers a Digital Economy package for $20.00 (40+ channels) but it doesn't offer the channel I want.
The Digital Starter package $90.00 (140+ channels) has channels I'll never watch and it still does not offer all the channels I like. Plus The Economy Plus Internet is $30.00. So that's $120.00 or $50.00.

BTW I don't use HDMI, Prefer Component Video.

So thanks for all the input and advice.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sling TV and PlayLater wayner General Discussion 19 07-17-2015 09:05 AM
Setting Up PlayLater HDMission SageTV v7 Customizations 31 04-28-2015 07:36 PM
Playlater Audio, no 5.1? KryptoNyte General Discussion 3 03-23-2015 09:56 PM
PlayOn and PlayLater Recordings hummedan SageTV v7 Customizations 2 03-21-2014 11:04 AM
Playlater for PlayOn lotusvball SageTV v7 Customizations 12 12-31-2013 11:03 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.