SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-29-2006, 01:46 AM
stevech stevech is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,643
Drive spin-down - impact?

If I arrange the (XP) PC to spin down the drives for video storage due to inactivity - and since they take several seconds to spin-up, would SageTV lose data or otherwise "foul-up" a recording due to the spin-up?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-29-2006, 05:32 AM
ukmgranger's Avatar
ukmgranger ukmgranger is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Derby England
Posts: 609
I have all of my drives spin down after 10 mins. It does not cause a problem with Sage. The only downfall is when you watch live TV for the first time (after the drives have spun down) it takes a few seconds for the drive to spin up.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-29-2006, 05:43 PM
TakeFlight's Avatar
TakeFlight TakeFlight is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 150
I know this goes along the lines of the argument of whether you keep a computer on all the time or shut it off when not in use so I realize there are varying opinions. But, my opinion is you are creating more wear and tear having the hard drive spin down and up then just leaving it running all the time. And the electricity savings is going to be pennies anyway.
__________________
Pegasus - SageTV/HomeSeer Server: Core2Duo 1.8GHz, 1GB, 1.5TB RAID5, 2.25TB RAID5, Radeon X1050, (2) Hauppauge PVR250 (only used for security cameras now), SiliconDust HDHomeRun, Hauppauge HD-PVR, WinXP Pro
Prometheus - SageTV Client: Core2Duo 2.66GHz, 1GB, 500GB, GeForce 8400GS, WinXP Pro, 848x480 to InFocus SP4805 projector on a 78" screen
HD Theater (HD200) connected via HDMI to Panasonic TH-42PX60U 42" plasma
web server plugin | 2 MediaMVP Extenders | FiOS TV
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-29-2006, 10:16 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,643
well - I just installed more Video recording storage - added a 250GB Maxstor IDE drive. $70 after rebates

BUT - it's quite noisy. Much more so than any other drive I've had. Does not sound defective. It tends to vibrate at the resonant freq. of the tin in my PC case. I fiddled with mounting location/screws, etc. I'm on the verge of returning it. But alas, I'll get store credit and there are no more of these cheap drives in stock.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-30-2006, 01:59 AM
ukmgranger's Avatar
ukmgranger ukmgranger is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Derby England
Posts: 609
Quote:
Originally Posted by TakeFlight
I know this goes along the lines of the argument of whether you keep a computer on all the time or shut it off when not in use so I realize there are varying opinions. But, my opinion is you are creating more wear and tear having the hard drive spin down and up then just leaving it running all the time. And the electricity savings is going to be pennies anyway.
The only reason I have my drives spin down is the noise factor. My server (which is located in my bedroom built-in wardrobe) has 4 x drives in the case and 4 x firewire drives hanging off it. when I'm in bed I prefer not to have them all spinning as I can hear the humming noise coming from the wardrobe.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-30-2006, 10:43 AM
joe123 joe123 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 954
I also have my hard drives (4 of them) set to spin down after 15 minutes of non-use through Windows XP power setup.

Now, you have me thinking with regards to SA (ShowAnalyzer). The DirMom program is set to check every 10 minutes for new movies to process, does this means that my disks will never spin down since it is checking so often even if there is no new movie to process?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-30-2006, 12:38 PM
TakeFlight's Avatar
TakeFlight TakeFlight is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by ukmgranger
The only reason I have my drives spin down is the noise factor. My server (which is located in my bedroom built-in wardrobe) has 4 x drives in the case and 4 x firewire drives hanging off it. when I'm in bed I prefer not to have them all spinning as I can hear the humming noise coming from the wardrobe.
I can understand that. But I guess that means you don't record any shows during the night when you are asleep? Because for me at least, the spinning up of the drives in the middle of the night would be more likely to wake me up than the constant sound of them always spinning. But, that's just me. Of course, if you don't record anything during those hours then I can see spinning them down then.
__________________
Pegasus - SageTV/HomeSeer Server: Core2Duo 1.8GHz, 1GB, 1.5TB RAID5, 2.25TB RAID5, Radeon X1050, (2) Hauppauge PVR250 (only used for security cameras now), SiliconDust HDHomeRun, Hauppauge HD-PVR, WinXP Pro
Prometheus - SageTV Client: Core2Duo 2.66GHz, 1GB, 500GB, GeForce 8400GS, WinXP Pro, 848x480 to InFocus SP4805 projector on a 78" screen
HD Theater (HD200) connected via HDMI to Panasonic TH-42PX60U 42" plasma
web server plugin | 2 MediaMVP Extenders | FiOS TV
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-30-2006, 12:39 PM
TakeFlight's Avatar
TakeFlight TakeFlight is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe123
Now, you have me thinking with regards to SA (ShowAnalyzer). The DirMom program is set to check every 10 minutes for new movies to process, does this means that my disks will never spin down since it is checking so often even if there is no new movie to process?
That sounds about right.
__________________
Pegasus - SageTV/HomeSeer Server: Core2Duo 1.8GHz, 1GB, 1.5TB RAID5, 2.25TB RAID5, Radeon X1050, (2) Hauppauge PVR250 (only used for security cameras now), SiliconDust HDHomeRun, Hauppauge HD-PVR, WinXP Pro
Prometheus - SageTV Client: Core2Duo 2.66GHz, 1GB, 500GB, GeForce 8400GS, WinXP Pro, 848x480 to InFocus SP4805 projector on a 78" screen
HD Theater (HD200) connected via HDMI to Panasonic TH-42PX60U 42" plasma
web server plugin | 2 MediaMVP Extenders | FiOS TV
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-30-2006, 01:03 PM
joe123 joe123 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 954
Quote:
Originally Posted by TakeFlight
That sounds about right.
A lot of data is cache before it hits the drive, so I was wondering if ShowAnalzer was simply getting it's data (pardon the punch ) from memory instead of actually going out to the drives.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-30-2006, 01:10 PM
ben_95sl1 ben_95sl1 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 290
For hard drive noise - If you haven't already: Suspend your hard drives, they will be much quieter (see silentpcreview). Most modern drives are near silent then, especially with AAM. Of course suspending only takes my 7200rpm scsi drive from the loudest seeks I have ever heard by a long shot to 2nd loudest seeks I've ever heard Rotational Vibration is gone though.
__________________
Server: XP SP3, X2 BE 5000+, WD 1.5TB x 2, PVR150 & HD-PVR, USB-UIRT
Clients: HD300, HD100 x 2, Media MVP in a box somewhere
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-30-2006, 03:17 PM
TakeFlight's Avatar
TakeFlight TakeFlight is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe123
A lot of data is cache before it hits the drive, so I was wondering if ShowAnalzer was simply getting it's data (pardon the punch ) from memory instead of actually going out to the drives.
Well, I haven't used ShowAnalyzer but if it is looking for new recordings at a specified period of time it will have to look at the actual hard drive to do this. There won't be anything in cache to tell it this. Something would need to be accessed first before it will get into cache. You wouldn't want a utility that relies on finding new files to simply look at the cache and say "nope, no new files".
__________________
Pegasus - SageTV/HomeSeer Server: Core2Duo 1.8GHz, 1GB, 1.5TB RAID5, 2.25TB RAID5, Radeon X1050, (2) Hauppauge PVR250 (only used for security cameras now), SiliconDust HDHomeRun, Hauppauge HD-PVR, WinXP Pro
Prometheus - SageTV Client: Core2Duo 2.66GHz, 1GB, 500GB, GeForce 8400GS, WinXP Pro, 848x480 to InFocus SP4805 projector on a 78" screen
HD Theater (HD200) connected via HDMI to Panasonic TH-42PX60U 42" plasma
web server plugin | 2 MediaMVP Extenders | FiOS TV
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-30-2006, 04:01 PM
mikesm mikesm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,293
You might be able to adapt pvrscheduler to do what you want. Take a look here: http://nolanparty.com/mediaportal.so...ic.php?t=12179

It doesn't work with Sage right now, but you might be able to work with the author to enable that.

Thanks,
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-30-2006, 11:55 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,643
drive noise... this new 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB disk is far more noiser than any other disk I've owned. It's the platter motor, not the head positioner.

I've never seen but will look for mounting isolator/dampers. But really, either this drive is bad or the design is bad - not what I've found typ. of WD drives in the past.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-31-2006, 12:07 AM
TakeFlight's Avatar
TakeFlight TakeFlight is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 150
Something doesn't seem right. I have the following WD drives...

80GB IDE
(2) 100GB IDE
160GB SATA
200GB IDE
400GB SATA

They are located among three different computers and the only thing I hear in those computers are the fans, not the hard drives. The newest drive is only about 2 weeks old and the oldest is around 4 years old.

Hard drives only seem to be getting quieter with each new purchase. Unlike 5-10 years ago when they used to "chug" and "whine".
__________________
Pegasus - SageTV/HomeSeer Server: Core2Duo 1.8GHz, 1GB, 1.5TB RAID5, 2.25TB RAID5, Radeon X1050, (2) Hauppauge PVR250 (only used for security cameras now), SiliconDust HDHomeRun, Hauppauge HD-PVR, WinXP Pro
Prometheus - SageTV Client: Core2Duo 2.66GHz, 1GB, 500GB, GeForce 8400GS, WinXP Pro, 848x480 to InFocus SP4805 projector on a 78" screen
HD Theater (HD200) connected via HDMI to Panasonic TH-42PX60U 42" plasma
web server plugin | 2 MediaMVP Extenders | FiOS TV
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-31-2006, 01:03 AM
stevech stevech is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,643
maybe I'll RMA it to WD. I've never done that.
I wonder if they'll just send it back marked NoTroubleFound since it's not a hard failure.

My WAF has declined on noise since I put this in.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-31-2006, 02:19 AM
TakeFlight's Avatar
TakeFlight TakeFlight is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevech
maybe I'll RMA it to WD. I've never done that.
I wonder if they'll just send it back marked NoTroubleFound since it's not a hard failure.
I doubt they will even bother to check your drive before sending the replacement. I RMA'd a WD drive several years ago with no issues.
__________________
Pegasus - SageTV/HomeSeer Server: Core2Duo 1.8GHz, 1GB, 1.5TB RAID5, 2.25TB RAID5, Radeon X1050, (2) Hauppauge PVR250 (only used for security cameras now), SiliconDust HDHomeRun, Hauppauge HD-PVR, WinXP Pro
Prometheus - SageTV Client: Core2Duo 2.66GHz, 1GB, 500GB, GeForce 8400GS, WinXP Pro, 848x480 to InFocus SP4805 projector on a 78" screen
HD Theater (HD200) connected via HDMI to Panasonic TH-42PX60U 42" plasma
web server plugin | 2 MediaMVP Extenders | FiOS TV
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-31-2006, 08:09 AM
aperry's Avatar
aperry aperry is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 680
Sound-wise, most people think that the best quietest drives are Seagate drives. WD and Maxtor are not known for being quiet when running.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-31-2006, 01:58 PM
ben_95sl1 ben_95sl1 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 290
With current drives, it seems samsung is better in general for noise then seagate. Plus there are issues with AAM settings which can't be changed by the end user on recent seagate drives due to some sort of lawsuit. My IDE 7200.8 is one of those, though it's pretty quiet as is (which is all relative).
__________________
Server: XP SP3, X2 BE 5000+, WD 1.5TB x 2, PVR150 & HD-PVR, USB-UIRT
Clients: HD300, HD100 x 2, Media MVP in a box somewhere
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.