SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-14-2022, 01:29 PM
bnflaherty's Avatar
bnflaherty bnflaherty is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winchester, CT
Posts: 13
Slowness browsing through imported videos

Good day!

I've come across an issue and wanted to get some input - I originally chalked it up to a NAS issue - but it's now fine.

If I go through my Recorded videos - all is well

However, when I try to traverse the imported videos - it just bogs down

Stats on that is as follows:
1,273 Files, 53 Folders - 337 GB

Most of those files are on a NAS some are local to the Sage box.

This is primarily an issue on an HD300.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-14-2022, 05:11 PM
jhkoenig's Avatar
jhkoenig jhkoenig is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 155
You may be running into Java garbage collection. I had a similar slowness browsing large lists until I upgraded from 32bit to 64bit SageTV and bumped up the Java heap size. Once I did that, the slowness/freeze ups vanished.
__________________
Win10@16GB RAM, 30TB Disk across 6 disks. 2 Prime tuner units
Sage v9 using OpenDCT to control the Primes
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-14-2022, 07:25 PM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhkoenig View Post
You may be running into Java garbage collection. I had a similar slowness browsing large lists until I upgraded from 32bit to 64bit SageTV and bumped up the Java heap size. Once I did that, the slowness/freeze ups vanished.
Curious, what did you bump it up to and what is the size of your wiz.bin?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-14-2022, 07:58 PM
jhkoenig's Avatar
jhkoenig jhkoenig is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by graywolf View Post
Curious, what did you bump it up to and what is the size of your wiz.bin?
My wiz.bin is only 124M. I moved my heap up to 1400Hex. Using 3 clients at once is rock solid!
__________________
Win10@16GB RAM, 30TB Disk across 6 disks. 2 Prime tuner units
Sage v9 using OpenDCT to control the Primes
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Browsing non-imported folders myrrh55 SageTV Beta Test Software 2 05-22-2010 08:50 AM
Browsing My Videos on client is slow phareous SageMC Custom Interface 4 12-08-2009 09:42 AM
Cursor keeps jumping to top of screen when browsing imported videos OverClock SageTV Software 7 04-10-2009 10:44 PM
Browsing non-SageTV videos otakucode SageMC Custom Interface 0 06-22-2008 04:45 PM
Browsing imported videos, have to click OK twice just to view... travisbell SageTV Software 1 02-26-2007 01:17 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.