SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-26-2020, 11:47 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,635
Low-Power CPU recommendations for Windows 10 64 bit

Looking at finally updating my old, 32 bit Win 7 setup, and going to Windows 10 64bit, as long as everyone is happy with that concept

My current CPU is an AMD Phenom II X4 905e, 2.50GHz, Quad Core.

Dual core just isn't enough for remote streaming I found, when out of town. I usually am only running ONE media extender at any given time, i.e. when one's in use, the others are off. Also use the Android MiniClient from time to time, but not that much. I'm running three, 3.5" drives and one SSD boot, which will stay the same. Video card is built into the motherboard's chipset. One Colossus card otherwise. The machine stays on 24/7 at the moment.

The reason I went this way was the 65w rating, as electricity is expensive in these parts.

So, those are the requirements: low power and more than two cores.

Anyone?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson

Last edited by tvmaster2; 05-26-2020 at 02:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-27-2020, 04:00 PM
rrhorer rrhorer is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
requirements: low power and more than two cores.

Anyone?
To me, low power means 65 W with video on chip. I have two 4-core machines that fit that description and, I believe, your requirements: an AMD Ryzen 3 3200g (CPU Mark 7354) and an Intel Core i3 8100 (CPU Mark 6217). Both machines are more than adequate for non-gaming applications, even if they are a little dated. The Core i3 has done a very reliable job as my unRaid Sage server. For comparison, your AMD Phenom II X4 905e shows as having a CPU Mark of 1781; so just about anything should be a big improvement.
__________________
unRAID Basic Server, Sage & OpenDCT Dockers, Core i3-8100, 8G Memory, HDHR Prime, HD300 Extender, Shield & Android Miniclient, Harmony Hub/Remote
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-27-2020, 04:10 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrhorer View Post
To me, low power means 65 W with video on chip. I have two 4-core machines that fit that description and, I believe, your requirements: an AMD Ryzen 3 3200g (CPU Mark 7354) and an Intel Core i3 8100 (CPU Mark 6217). Both machines are more than adequate for non-gaming applications, even if they are a little dated. The Core i3 has done a very reliable job as my unRaid Sage server. For comparison, your AMD Phenom II X4 905e shows as having a CPU Mark of 1781; so just about anything should be a big improvement.
Thanks, good info. Iíve always leaned towards AMD because of cost, but now, theyíre actually being reviewed very well. What MBís are you using? Radeon onboard graphics?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-27-2020, 08:34 PM
rrhorer rrhorer is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 211
The graphics are included on the cpu - the g in Ryzen 3 3200g is for graphics. That's why, at 65 W, it is a very good low power solution. But, I misspoke -- mine is a Ryzen 3 2200g (the 3200g is newer/faster). I put it on a MSI MB (B450M PRO-VDH Plus) with a 256GB NVMe M.2 PCIe Gen3x4 2280 TLC SSD for my boot drive and OS. Make sure to go with NVMe and not SATA for the M.2 slot -- big performance difference. The other factor in a low power build is the power supply. I got the Seasonic FOCUS 450 Gold SSR-450FM 450W 80+ Gold ATX12V & EPS12V Semi-Modular 7 Year Warranty Compact 140 mm Size Power Supply. So far, I'm very happy with this setup and it is definitely low power according to the CyberPower UPS energy monitoring software.
__________________
unRAID Basic Server, Sage & OpenDCT Dockers, Core i3-8100, 8G Memory, HDHR Prime, HD300 Extender, Shield & Android Miniclient, Harmony Hub/Remote
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-27-2020, 08:42 PM
rrhorer rrhorer is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 211
And I am running Windows 10 64 bit, mostly without issue once I dumped Windows Edge.
__________________
unRAID Basic Server, Sage & OpenDCT Dockers, Core i3-8100, 8G Memory, HDHR Prime, HD300 Extender, Shield & Android Miniclient, Harmony Hub/Remote
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-27-2020, 10:09 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrhorer View Post
And I am running Windows 10 64 bit, mostly without issue once I dumped Windows Edge.
Super. Thanks. Good info about the boot drive, I wouldnít have thought there would have been a big difference.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-28-2020, 05:09 AM
xjim1's Avatar
xjim1 xjim1 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: colorado
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
...electricity is expensive in these parts.

So, those are the requirements: low power and more than two cores.

Anyone?
Don't know if you're interested in something along these lines, but I just picked up a refurb'd system. I would typically avoid something used, but there appears to be an active market for used business pc's as part of corporate tech refreshes. This is my second refurb, my first was a business laptop I've been happy with.

This new-used one will be my HTPC. It's a gen 3 i5 w/4 cores, came decently equipped, including Win10Pro. Initial testing has gone well. It's quiet, and a SFF, so I'm happy so far. And at $150, the price was certainly right. I think TDP was 77w, if I decoded my notes correctly.

And if you don't mind me asking, where 'bouts is Tarana? :headscratchin:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-28-2020, 01:46 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by xjim1 View Post
Don't know if you're interested in something along these lines, but I just picked up a refurb'd system. I would typically avoid something used, but there appears to be an active market for used business pc's as part of corporate tech refreshes. This is my second refurb, my first was a business laptop I've been happy with.

This new-used one will be my HTPC. It's a gen 3 i5 w/4 cores, came decently equipped, including Win10Pro. Initial testing has gone well. It's quiet, and a SFF, so I'm happy so far. And at $150, the price was certainly right. I think TDP was 77w, if I decoded my notes correctly.

And if you don't mind me asking, where 'bouts is Tarana? :headscratchin:
I bought a used car, and a used house, so a used computer? For the price of the CPU alone? Sure. Where do you look for these? And ‘Tarana’? That’s how Torontonians know you’re actually from Toronto.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-28-2020, 06:12 PM
xjim1's Avatar
xjim1 xjim1 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: colorado
Posts: 156
I'm not a fan of Amazon, though I've seen them on there. Don't know if they have a presence in Canada, but I have been a long time Newegg customer. But even they have been migrating toward resellers on their site.
Here's their link:
https://www.newegg.com/d/Desktop-Com...ed-Desktop-PCs
Just make sure you get full clarification on any mentions of warranties in writing.
I chose reseller ITReplay. They answer their email and phone and seemed to know what they were doing. They mention grade A , which they told me is a 'like new condition'. Both of mine pass that test. ymmv.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-28-2020, 09:15 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,791
Amazon.ca has good refurbished PCs, I have bought one in the last year.

Here is an i5 with a 512GB SSD and Win 10 Pro for C$310.

https://www.amazon.ca/HP-Flagship-Pr...XYW/ref=sr_1_1
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-28-2020, 10:03 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,635
Thanks - Iíll start looking. W10, if the license can be moved to a new owner, is worth $100 alone.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-28-2020, 10:42 PM
xjim1's Avatar
xjim1 xjim1 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: colorado
Posts: 156
Wow, I say you folks up North do pay a premium. A 500GB SSD would be a nice addition, even if it is sata.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-28-2020, 11:38 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by xjim1 View Post
Wow, I say you folks up North do pay a premium. A 500GB SSD would be a nice addition, even if it is sata.
Iím FROM Tarana.... W10 is between $90 and $200 at Microcenter, depending on versioning...
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-29-2020, 05:44 AM
Len_Lekx Len_Lekx is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 28
I built my media PC around an AMD Ryzen 5 2500X - 6 cores, 65W power consumption, 3.9GHz base clock rate. Runs Win10 64-bit easily.

My biggest issue was finding a CPU cooler that would fit in the case...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-29-2020, 09:51 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by xjim1 View Post
Wow, I say you folks up North do pay a premium. A 500GB SSD would be a nice addition, even if it is sata.
There are other PCs for cheaper - I just posted that as one example. And don't forget currency conversion - C$310 is US$220. That model comes with Win10 Pro which can cost at least C$120.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-29-2020, 06:13 PM
xjim1's Avatar
xjim1 xjim1 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: colorado
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
There are other PCs for cheaper - I just posted that as one example. And don't forget currency conversion - C$310 is US$220. That model comes with Win10 Pro which can cost at least C$120.
I was just doing some comparing between sites. Newegg has a .ca store and comparing like for like hardware.

Didn't mean to imply anything about Canada, Canadians, or Torontonians.

I had my new-used system open last night, a small form factor HP 8300. It reminds me of the old HP Kayak workstations of decades ago. Very well built and maintainable.

Yeah most of these refurb'd business pc's I've looked at seem to come w/Win10 Pro. But I made sure mine came with a COA sticker on it, just to make sure.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-29-2020, 06:26 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by xjim1 View Post
I was just doing some comparing between sites. Newegg has a .ca store and comparing like for like hardware.

Didn't mean to imply anything about Canada, Canadians, or Torontonians.

I had my new-used system open last night, a small form factor HP 8300. It reminds me of the old HP Kayak workstations of decades ago. Very well built and maintainable.

Yeah most of these refurb'd business pc's I've looked at seem to come w/Win10 Pro. But I made sure mine came with a COA sticker on it, just to make sure.
Hehe, take off, eh? Donít worry about Canada, weíre able to laugh at ourselves. But all my shopping is done in U.S. $$. Whatís a COA sticker, Certificate of Authenticity? From HP or Microsoft?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-29-2020, 07:00 PM
xjim1's Avatar
xjim1 xjim1 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: colorado
Posts: 156
Yes, it's from Microsoft. When you register W10, you have to scratch off a serial number or something and plug that into Windows. It supposedly tells Msoft that you have an authentic copy.

Just don't sniff it. It's not a scratch and sniff type. Learned that the hard way.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-30-2020, 02:43 PM
jerryb33 jerryb33 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrhorer View Post
And I am running Windows 10 64 bit, mostly without issue once I dumped Windows Edge.
What kind of problems were you having with edge?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-01-2020, 09:25 PM
rrhorer rrhorer is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 211
I've used Edge pretty much since it first came out with W10 and have had a number of issues over the years (e.g., for a while, not accommodating Web Outlook that I used for work email). The latest issue was Edge simply closing, no error message, nothing. This would happen occasionally at a inopportune time. So. if I weren't using Chrome now, I might have to redo this post.
__________________
unRAID Basic Server, Sage & OpenDCT Dockers, Core i3-8100, 8G Memory, HDHR Prime, HD300 Extender, Shield & Android Miniclient, Harmony Hub/Remote
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
recommendations for a Windows 7 PCI USB card tvmaster2 Hardware Support 10 11-27-2010 11:06 PM
Need recommendations for Capture card on Windows 7 gurvindersinghb Hardware Support 2 09-24-2009 02:53 PM
Any Recommendations for a LOC? bcjenkins General Discussion 2 06-02-2007 04:06 AM
Chipset recommendations for 350 ? jadawin Hardware Support 4 08-19-2004 12:56 PM
tv-out recommendations farmboy03 Hardware Support 1 06-03-2003 01:42 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.