SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-19-2008, 06:43 PM
John.Kelly John.Kelly is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 24
Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250

My Daughter's computer recently died so I had her purchase a new one. She, at my suggestion when we were at the Micro Center computer store, bought a Gateway GT 5692 I didn't realize it until we took it home, but it has Windows 64 bit (not 32 bit) Vista Home Premium loaded as its operating system.

I Emailed SageTV to ask if the Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 (Model 01213: the WinTV-HVR-2250 Media Center Kit) was supported by SageTV (only the WinTV-HVR-2200 is listed on Sate's Supported Tuners List), and if it worked with 64 bit Vista Home Premium. I still have not heard from SageTV so I ordered the 2250 board, thinking that we could return it if we had to.

I can report that after putting the board in and then loading the drivers for it off of the Hauppauge CD (I did not install the Hauppauge applications), Windows Media Center worked. Tested both the analog and digital tuners and found that both worked on both tuners. Then I installed SageTV version 6 4 8 184.

Sage works, but I am having a problem I have never encountered before. I have set up two other SageTV systems - one for myself and one for another daughter of mine. Both of these were with XP and not Vista. The video for the buttons, and sometimes the text, is messed up when you play a tv program in a window or in full screen. Looks like a video problem so I turned "Aero" off, by switiching the Preferences > Windows Colors & Appearance" to "Windows Vista Basic". Things improved but still have the play button disappear every once in a while.

I also found that only the Window Media Center remote works with Sage TV. I have extra 45 key Hauppauge remotes, but they didn't work. Which leads me to another problem. I really dislike Microsoft's Media Center. The Vista 64 bit Home Premium comes with the operating system, and the Windows button on the remote, wakes up Media Center instead of SageTV. Is there anything I can do about this - like disable Media Center, or have the Media Center key changed to wake up SageTV?

I would appreciate any suggestions anyone has for me.

Last edited by John.Kelly; 12-19-2008 at 06:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-19-2008, 08:30 PM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
Go to Start, Control Panel, Default programs. Select Set program access and computer defaults. Select Custom. Scroll down to choose a deault media player. Remove checkmark by Media Center from enable access to this program. Click OK. That should do it.

EDIT: Here's a link to software that make's the Green Button launch SageTV or (with editing) SageTV Client.
http://babgvant.com/files/folders/sa...ntry11254.aspx
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT

Last edited by HelenWeathers; 12-19-2008 at 08:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-20-2008, 06:28 AM
Polypro Polypro is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,803
I don't know why turning off Aero would help...Aero is a huge benefit as everything runs in 3D and you no longer have to worry about full screen exclusive mode (to prevent tearing in DVD/HD). What video card did it come with and are the drivers updated?

P
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-22-2008, 04:26 PM
John.Kelly John.Kelly is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 24
Thanks for the help

Quote:
Originally Posted by HelenWeathers View Post
Go to Start, Control Panel, Default programs. Select Set program access and computer defaults. Select Custom. Scroll down to choose a deault media player. Remove checkmark by Media Center from enable access to this program. Click OK. That should do it.

EDIT: Here's a link to software that make's the Green Button launch SageTV or (with editing) SageTV Client.
http://babgvant.com/files/folders/sa...ntry11254.aspx
Thanks so much for trying to help. Right now I am still trying to figure out my video problems.

I did download and try the software you suggested. However, I have a remote that came with the Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 board and the green button doesn't do anything.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-22-2008, 04:35 PM
John.Kelly John.Kelly is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polypro View Post
I don't know why turning off Aero would help...Aero is a huge benefit as everything runs in 3D and you no longer have to worry about full screen exclusive mode (to prevent tearing in DVD/HD). What video card did it come with and are the drivers updated?

P
I'm a little confused. I have both a Vista 32 bit portable, and now this Vista 64 bit machine. When I run SageTV PlaceShifter on the portable, Vista always says "The color scheme has been changed to Windows Vista Basic". This is what happens when I run SageTV on the 64 bit machine. Obviously Vista thinks Vista Aero has a problem with Sage applications whether Vist is 32 or 64 bit.

The above error messages are why I changed the display to vista basic. Although there was some improvement, there are still video problems. I think it might be a hardware issue. At least, that is what I am pursueing now.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-23-2008, 07:44 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
John on shspvr.com you fine the latest 7.5.6.26354 PreRelease driver for HVR-2250 that has big improvements that help with ATSC channel scan if you using ATSC.
Have you try install the latest ATI Catalyst drivers after all I do belive that system has HD 3200.
Sorry I can't help you with MCE Remote problem as I don't have one been there no points any way as the IR Blaster dosen't work rigth outside of MCE any way.

Last edited by SHS; 12-23-2008 at 10:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-23-2008, 10:21 AM
John.Kelly John.Kelly is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
John on shspvr.com you fine the latest 7.5.6.26354 PreRelease driver for HVR-2250 that has big improvements that help with ATSC channel scan if you using ATSC.
Have you try install the latest ATI Catalyst drivers after all I do belive that system has HD 3200.
Sorry I cn help you with MCE Remote problem as I don't have one be there points any way as the IR Blaster do work rigth outside of MCE any way.
Thanks for the advice. I did go get the driver. Haven't installed it yet. I am testing the unit at my house with OTA ATSC. I did have some funny things happen in the channel line up. My daughter will be using analog cable though.

My problems began with an incorrect ATI Radeon HD 3200 driver being downloaded from Microsoft's Update site. The update on this site is a Vista 32 bit driver, but it is being downloaded to 64 bit Vista machines. Mistake 2 was that the Gateway Tech gave me the wrong ATI drivers - it was suposedly the original driver, but wasn't. Mistake 3 was that another Gateway Tech talked me into thinking it was missing Codecs. It wasn't.

Only really solved the problem by a total reinstall of the operating system which, of course, wiped out all of my hours of installation work.

Save us from support technitions who are absolutely sure that the customer is stupid and is never right!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-23-2008, 05:08 PM
RickE RickE is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
John on shspvr.com you fine the latest 7.5.6.26354 PreRelease driver for HVR-2250 that has big improvements that help with ATSC channel scan if you using ATSC. ...
Although not directly related to the focus of this thread: Thanks for that driver! I installed it and scanning for channels now works much better with my XP Pro and SageTV.

Regards,
Rick
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hauppauge 2250 HVR Issues joshabts Hardware Support 5 11-21-2008 07:09 AM
Capture Devices Gone After Reboot hchucky Hardware Support 6 11-14-2008 10:24 PM
Hauppauge WinTV HVR 1800 CC support OldPCGUY Hardware Support 2 03-05-2008 02:02 AM
Dropped favorite recording -- with debug logs Surtr SageTV Software 4 02-19-2008 10:48 AM
Puzzled: Sage not using 3rd tuner wvpolekat SageTV Software 2 11-15-2007 01:36 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.