SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2009, 06:11 PM
devman devman is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Getting the most out of SageTV + HD PVR

Hi, new user here.

I'm currently on trial with SageTV 6. I already own an HD PVR and would like to know what I should do to get decent live playback of HD content. I've been searching for a 'how to' or a guide on google and haven't really come up with reliable material. I've got it running for now, but live playback is choppy.

I'd particularly like to know:

What settings should be changed from defaults?

Which H.264 codec I should use? [x264, CoreAVC, Arcsoft, Cyberlink, ffdshow, etc]

Machine Specs:
AMD Athlon X2 5000+ (Brisbane)
Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H (780G Chipset)
1TB Hard drive partitioned with 80G system and 850GB @64k/block for media.
Display is a 42" Sharp Aquos 1080p
HD PVR for component capture.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2009, 06:26 PM
bastian74 bastian74 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 136
You didn't mention video card.
I use Arcsoft Video, ac3filter for audio, and dxva is enabled.
I verify dxva is enabled by using graph-edit and clicking properties on Arcsoft.

For me, if Powerdvd or CoreAVC was even installed, I couldn't get smooth playback from Sage.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2009, 06:29 PM
devman devman is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Video card is part of the 780G chipset on the motherboard. Uses the Radeon HD 3200 hardware iirc.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-2009, 10:59 PM
devman devman is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Cyberlink H.264 never gave me stable playback in SageTV. It worked fine in graph edit and it other players though so I'm not sure what the problem is.

I'll try ArcSoft and ffdshow when I get home from work tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-11-2009, 03:56 PM
Rico66 Rico66 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 407
Do you have the problem only with live playback, or with recorded shows as well? I've seen this as well, though not consistently and I don't think it's a decoder problem (at least not if your using e.g. cyberlink which supports dxva fine with this mobo). What seemed to help is to hit pause and play, which essentially means that your playback is about 1/2 a second delayed.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-12-2009, 09:44 PM
devman devman is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Did some more searching, got some excellent info from the following threads.

Hardware Acceleration in SageTV w/HD-PVR
HD-PVR h.264, XP, Vista, Demux, Overlay, VMR9, EVR, DXVA 1/2, What I know...

It is almost perfect using the ArcSoft Decoder but there is still noticeable tearing present during playback. This tearing is not present in Total Media Theater, it is however present in GraphEdit and WMP so I'm wondering what extra filter TMT must be using to clean up the output (if that is indeed the case).

Not perfect yet but a lot closer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
codec, h.264, h264, hd pvr


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD-PVR with SageTV jblaty Hardware Support 2 01-27-2009 02:34 PM
SageTV Mac beta and myTV.PVR/WinTV PVR USB2 users iconic SageTV Beta Test Software 2 12-18-2007 05:00 PM
PVR 500 working on gb-pvr but not sagetv davidjrichard Hardware Support 5 07-18-2007 01:41 PM
SageTV Releases SageTV Lite PVR Software for Windows Hardware OEMs dkardatzke Announcements 0 07-06-2005 09:43 AM
Using PVR on my TV; with SageTV? Gunn SageTV Software 9 05-24-2003 02:52 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.