SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-05-2016, 01:30 PM
Daweeze Daweeze is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 39
SageTV - ASCII Message Popup from External System Options

Hello,

I was curious what the best way might be to send an external ASCII message alert to a SageTV screen that would auto-disappear after a certain time without user interaction with the remote.

Also, if there is a good solution would it still work in v9 or would I have to wait for an update?

Thanks,

-Travis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2016, 08:48 AM
awhenry awhenry is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Old Town, ME, US
Posts: 39
You want InfoPopup: http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=49514

Unfortunately it looks like there is currently an issue installing that plugin in v9. However, I can confirm that the plugin works fine with v9 (I upgraded my v7 with it already installed), and performs exactly the function you are looking for. It is unfortunately unclear to me from that thread if the developer is working on fixing the install process though... Hopefully it does get fixed, because that is one of the few plugins I have that I consider absolutely indispensable, to the extent that I would really love to see that functionality incorporated as a core feature of SageTV.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2016, 09:29 AM
SteveW's Avatar
SteveW SteveW is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by awhenry View Post
You want InfoPopup: http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=49514

Unfortunately it looks like there is currently an issue installing that plugin in v9. However, I can confirm that the plugin works fine with v9 (I upgraded my v7 with it already installed), and performs exactly the function you are looking for. It is unfortunately unclear to me from that thread if the developer is working on fixing the install process though... Hopefully it does get fixed, because that is one of the few plugins I have that I consider absolutely indispensable, to the extent that I would really love to see that functionality incorporated as a core feature of SageTV.

Hope this helps.
Last I talked to him he was. I think he's planning to move the files to another site. Somehow they got turned into zip files on the sage forum site. That's why they are not installing.
__________________
Server: Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Intel i5, 8 GB, Samsung EVO 850 500 GB for OS, WD Black 4 TB + WD Black 1 TB for Recordings, 36TB Synology 1019+ for DVD/Bluray Rips, Music, Home Movies, etc., SageTV Server 64 Bit Ver 9.2.6.976, HDPVR x 2, Bell TV 6131 Receiver x 2, USB-UIRT with 56 KHz Receiver

Clients: PC Client x 2, HD-300 x 2 (1 Using Netgear MoCA Coax Bridges), SageTV Miniclient on NVidia Shield x 3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2016, 05:32 PM
Daweeze Daweeze is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 39
Thanks for the info! Is there any way to install the plug-in manually at this time?

-Travis
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-15-2016, 06:50 PM
SteveW's Avatar
SteveW SteveW is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daweeze View Post
Thanks for the info! Is there any way to install the plug-in manually at this time?

-Travis
Possibly. I am testing Sage 7 on Win 10 and used my existing Sage 7 in Win 7 where Sage Popup is working and used it to reverse engineer getting it working on my Win 10 by putting files in directories and editing the Sage properties file...
__________________
Server: Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Intel i5, 8 GB, Samsung EVO 850 500 GB for OS, WD Black 4 TB + WD Black 1 TB for Recordings, 36TB Synology 1019+ for DVD/Bluray Rips, Music, Home Movies, etc., SageTV Server 64 Bit Ver 9.2.6.976, HDPVR x 2, Bell TV 6131 Receiver x 2, USB-UIRT with 56 KHz Receiver

Clients: PC Client x 2, HD-300 x 2 (1 Using Netgear MoCA Coax Bridges), SageTV Miniclient on NVidia Shield x 3
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-21-2016, 12:07 AM
shadeblue.com's Avatar
shadeblue.com shadeblue.com is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 435
Please try InfoPopup v7.0.3

Sorry this has taken me so long to get fixed. Work .. Life .. Travel .. You Know :-)

Please try the newly posted v7.0.3 which should be updated in the plugin repository soon. This update seems to fix the install issue ... at least it did on my old (Windows XP) SageTV system.

Thanks, Robert
__________________
Server Hardware: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 2.66GHz CPU, 4GB DDR2 RAM, NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI Motherboard, GeForce 8600 GT, Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 2.5TB
Operating System: Windows XP Professional
HTPC/DVR Software: SageTV 7
Capture Devices: 2 @ Hauppauge HD-PVR (1212), Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600 ATSC/QAM, HD Homerun
Media Extenders: 2 @ Sage HD100 & 1 @ Sage HD200
Signals/Providers: AT&T UVerse, OTA ATSC
Set-Top-Box: 2 @ Motorola Box VIP 1200
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-29-2016, 08:34 PM
Daweeze Daweeze is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 39
Thank you very much. Works perfectly!

-Travis
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd System Message waynedunham SageTV Software 1 12-18-2012 07:11 PM
System Message: null JonTom Phoenix 11 10-21-2011 10:06 AM
Anyone getting 'null system message'? Dingdul SageTV Beta Test Software 1 10-20-2010 07:40 PM
STV Import: CallerID/Message popup plugin nielm SageTV Customizations 294 08-12-2010 03:16 PM
HDHomerun and System Message Reports scm Hardware Support 11 09-30-2009 03:19 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.