SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-29-2003, 01:05 AM
mikeconte mikeconte is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 9
.WMA audio files

I added .wma files to the list of extensions searched for in library directories, and sure enough, the server took a loooong time to boot up while searching for them. But they do not show up in the library list for music.

Ideas?

Thanks,
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-29-2003, 03:18 AM
mikeconte mikeconte is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 9
Now i see that they are in the list for Video. But if you try to play them, it gives a Directshow error .

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-29-2003, 08:03 AM
mangriotis mangriotis is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 345
In an earlier thread here, Narflex explains why Sage doesn't support this Microsoft proprietary file compression system...
__________________
m2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2003, 09:51 AM
mikeconte mikeconte is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 9
Thanks. So is it a technical decision or a political one?

I have 50+gb of WMA so if Sage will never support it, I will look elsewhere.

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-29-2003, 08:10 PM
andrewswright andrewswright is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 75
I too have my 300+ CDs ripped in wma lossless. I use myHTPC to manage music, DVDs, digital photos and the internet. I have an option in myHTPC to start SageTV for television viewing and recording. Works well using Girder to control everything via a remote control.

I don't see any technical reason why Sage couldn't support wma files. My understanding is that any program can use the codecs if they are installed on the system.

Andrew
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.