SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software

Notices

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-17-2004, 05:05 PM
BLS BLS is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 55
Want to install V2RC1, uninstall 1.4 or not?

What's the right way to install the latest version?

Thanks,

Brad
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2004, 05:07 PM
Brett Brett is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 184
Backup your wiz.bin and properties file and install right over it .

-Brett
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2004, 05:07 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
The easiest way is to just install right over 1.4, but I'd back up the Frey Technologies dir just in case.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-17-2004, 05:16 PM
BLS BLS is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 55
Thanks guys, things have been working well the past few months and I don't want to rock the boat. But I am interested in trying out the latest version.

The safest way would be to image the hard drive, but I don't use Powerquest's Drive Image anymore. It got worse over the last two versions. I didn't like Ghost and I can't get the program I do like (Bootitng) to work on my Sage machine.

Brad
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-17-2004, 05:36 PM
BLS BLS is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 55
Backed up the Frey directory and installed V2 on top. Seems to work fine so far, but where do I find the manual?

I looked for awhile at the V2 web section and looked in the forum.

I've already poked around and can't get out of a couple of menus.

Brad
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-17-2004, 05:40 PM
TunaBoo TunaBoo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 202
Send a message via ICQ to TunaBoo Send a message via AIM to TunaBoo Send a message via Yahoo to TunaBoo
Beta 2 manual will most likely come out when v2 comes out
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-17-2004, 05:47 PM
BLS BLS is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 55
Ok, but I all the beta testers weren't left on their own to muddle through the program. There must be some basic instructions compiled in one place.

I have seen questions asked and answered about how to use it, but are you saying we just gather the answers from all of the diferent posts?

brad

Last edited by BLS; 04-17-2004 at 06:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-17-2004, 06:43 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,619
Most of the basics haven't changed from v1.4, including most commands linked to the remote. But, yes, the beta testers pretty much muddled through on their own, along with questions/comments on the forum. What menus can't you get out of? Most of the time, you can use the left arrow key to go back a menu. There is a big triangle/arrow at the top of the screen you can click on to go back. Or, you can link the BACK command to a key/remote button.

- Andy
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-17-2004, 08:56 PM
BLS BLS is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 55
I got out of them. I thought the whole idea of version two was a lot of new features.

I read about them from time to time. I'm just saying it would be nice to have the changes in one place to learn about.

Customized UI and so on.

Brad
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-17-2004, 09:05 PM
jominor's Avatar
jominor jominor is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 573
Quote:
Originally posted by BLS
Thanks guys, things have been working well the past few months and I don't want to rock the boat. But I am interested in trying out the latest version.

The safest way would be to image the hard drive, but I don't use Powerquest's Drive Image anymore. It got worse over the last two versions. I didn't like Ghost and I can't get the program I do like (Bootitng) to work on my Sage machine.

Brad
Try CasperXP. It records "hot", meaning you don't have to shutdown Windows and even backs up to USB drives.

It is an awesome(and cheap) backup program.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.