SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2009, 08:09 AM
dherman4 dherman4 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
First few seconds of recording with ir blaster...

Is there an easy way to remove the first few seconds of a recording. The previously tuned channel shows on the box while the ir blaster is changing it to the desired content. I would hate the kids to see inappropriate content while their show is being tuned. This probably has been answered previously, but I couldn't find it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-01-2009, 08:19 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,619
In Sage.properties, you could set each tuner's mmc/encoders/<some number>/delay_to_wait_after_tuning value to force it to wait a few seconds after tuning before it starts recording. The value is in milliseconds, so for example: use 4000 for a 4 second delay.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2009, 08:25 AM
dherman4 dherman4 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Awesome, thanks a bunch.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-22-2010, 12:21 AM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
In Sage.properties, you could set each tuner's mmc/encoders/<some number>/delay_to_wait_after_tuning value to force it to wait a few seconds after tuning before it starts recording. The value is in milliseconds, so for example: use 4000 for a 4 second delay.
I'm wondering if tweaking this parameter will help with a new problem I'm experiencing:
Comcast just moved some of my most-recorded channels to different QAM locations, and my 1600 is having trouble tuning them, and so missing recordings. For now, I've disabled those channels and am recording via STB and USBIRT on another tuner, but I want my QAM back. What's happening now is that when I try to record, it doesn't tune and the recording gets lost. When I preview the channel, it comes up zero strength, but if I click preview a second time, it will tune in at 88%. Will adjusting the tuning delay give it time to tune successfully? Would re-scanning help? (I entered the channel locations manually, based on where my QAM-tuning TV found them). Or, am I doomed to buy another analog tuner and pay for another STB to regain my recording flexibility?
__________________
Server: Windows 8.1 4gb RAM; 4TB SATA + others. Homebrew quad core AMD. Inputs: Haup. 980, 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast 2 DTAs with USBUIRT for NTSC. Haup 1800 on ATSC. HDHR Dual (ATSC). Sage 9.22 64 bit.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-22-2010, 08:36 PM
paulbeers paulbeers is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,550
No. You need to fix your signal strength. It sounds like you are experiencing very borderline signal strength and sometimes the 1600 is able to tune it and other times it is not.
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Athlon II 630, Asrock 785G motherboard, 3GB of RAM, 500GB OS HD in RAID 1 and 2 - 750GB Recording Drives, HDHomerun, Avermedia HD Duet & 2-HDPVRs, and 9.0TB storage in RAID 5 via Dell Perc 5i for DVD storage
Source: Clear QAM and OTA for locals, 2-DishNetwork VIP211's
Clients: 2 Sage HD300's, 2 Sage HD200's, 2 Sage HD100's, 1 MediaMVP, and 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-23-2010, 10:59 PM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulbeers View Post
No. You need to fix your signal strength. It sounds like you are experiencing very borderline signal strength and sometimes the 1600 is able to tune it and other times it is not.
I already have the signal amplified as it comes in, and where it splits to go into the QAM and STB inputs. Any other ways to fix? The channel (MSNBC) worked fine at 88.2, now it's at 72.2 and flaky. A few other stations were moved from the 88-90 range down to 71-74 and some work better than others.
__________________
Server: Windows 8.1 4gb RAM; 4TB SATA + others. Homebrew quad core AMD. Inputs: Haup. 980, 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast 2 DTAs with USBUIRT for NTSC. Haup 1800 on ATSC. HDHR Dual (ATSC). Sage 9.22 64 bit.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording a program after the Hauppauge IR Blaster sends the IR signal to my cablebox joneng22 Hardware Support 4 06-23-2008 03:41 PM
Possible to automatically skip first few seconds of a recording? losingmymarbles SageTV Software 14 12-24-2007 11:21 AM
Always Recording Selected Channel (Need help with MCE blaster) Jgart Hardware Support 4 01-07-2006 02:25 PM
Suddenly, 40 seconds to load recording? samgreco SageTV Software 5 06-04-2005 05:47 PM
Slight Pause a Few Seconds After Recording Starts sshapiro63 SageTV Software 1 06-09-2003 02:51 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.