SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2010, 09:58 AM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Plugin: SageAlert v2.x

Welcome to the support thread for SageAlert v2.x. This is the latest version of SageAlert and is compatible only with SageTV v7.

NOTE: SageAlert v2.x is not available yet. I'm just creating this thread for future use and to provide the first screen shot.

SageAlert v2.x is getting close to an initial beta release into the plugin repository, but there's still some polish and a couple of features missing that I'd like to introduce first. Those wanting to know when the first beta is added to the repository should subscribe to this thread.

I've attached a screen shot that shows the new GUI. It should give those interested an idea of where SageAlert v2.x is heading.
Attached Images
File Type: gif sagealert_01.gif (221.8 KB, 1391 views)
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-23-2010, 08:12 AM
nethead nethead is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 63
Thank you for the hard work updating this GREAT addon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-30-2010, 04:08 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
First v2.0 beta ready

The first beta for SageAlert v2.0 is now available in the plugin repository.

Please read carefully before installing...

First, this is in a beta state. Functionally, the alerts and notifications are working. If you configure an alert, it should trigger just fine or log why it didn't. The GUI is definitely rough around the edges. Comments welcome.

Docs are lacking - I'm playing catch up trying to get all my plugins ported to v7. A "docs day" is coming soon, however.

Important: Moving to SageAlert v2.0 will require a full reconfiguration. The db formats are not compatible between v1.x and v2.0. You will have to reconfigure all your settings, notifications systems, SMTP settings, etc. Sorry.

Key Changes:

The whole RPC/remote event firing system is deprecated and has been completely removed. This will be replaced by support for firing events to SageAlert using the Sage v7 event model. This is not implemented yet, more details to come.

Twitter: There are no docs yet, but to register a twitter account, click the link to go to twitter web site, give SageAlert access to your account then feed the pin back to SageAlert. Post questions if you have them. Docs are coming for this. (Basically, Twitter now requires OAuth authentication, and this is how it's implemented.)

Events: The low disk space event is missing; this is on purpose. Another plugin will reintroduce this event to SageAlert at a later date.

Right click items in the tree menu to do things (like add/delete accounts). Left click on events to add listeners to them. Hopefully this new interface is more user friendly/intuitive. Comments welcome.

Play around, give me some feedback.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-30-2010, 06:02 PM
korben_dallas's Avatar
korben_dallas korben_dallas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,250
I would download this in a heartbeat if it could be configured & used 100% from within SageTV (i.e. without the browser requirement). I know that might be a different roadmap from where you plan to take this, but just thought I'd give some feedback.
__________________
SageTV server & client: Win 10 Pro x64, Intel DH67CF, Core i5 2405s, 8 GB ram, Intel HD 3000, 40GB SSD system, 4TB storage, 2x HD PVR component + optical audio, USB-UIRT 2 zones + remote hack, Logitech Harmony One, HDMI output to Sony receiver with native Intel bitstreaming
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-30-2010, 06:56 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by korben_dallas View Post
I would download this in a heartbeat if it could be configured & used 100% from within SageTV (i.e. without the browser requirement). I know that might be a different roadmap from where you plan to take this, but just thought I'd give some feedback.
Fair enough. A future version may introduce some of the basic settings into the STV, but the configuration of events and listeners and notifications, etc. will never be done in the STV (by me).

Why? I don't like writing STVi imports. Two reasons:

1) I'm not a big fan of Studio and how STVs are implemented. I'm not saying it's bad, it's just not my thing. If the STV was written in Java (like a Swing app or whatever) then I'd be more inclined to do it [maybe].

2) But the big reason I don't write STVi imports is because I will only ever be using 1 STV and if you support one, you inevitably get asked to support them all and I just don't have the time to do it. The nice thing about web apps is one interface to support, period. Obviously, right now there's only one STV, but Ortus and Phoenix will change that soon enough and I have no interest to write STVi imports for STV(s) that I'll never use.

I challenge other SageAlert users to write an STVi that brings the full configuration options into the Sage STV, but I'll never do it.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-30-2010, 07:25 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Major packaging snafu with the first upload. Web GUI is useless with that build (841). A new build will appear in the repository shortly.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-30-2010, 07:40 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
v2.0.0.842 now in repository. It fixes the packaging errors from 841 that made the web GUI useless.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-30-2010, 08:42 PM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
Never mind, this probably totally a jetty web server issue...
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2

Last edited by darcilicious; 05-30-2010 at 08:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-30-2010, 09:04 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slugger View Post
I challenge other SageAlert users to write an STVi that brings the full configuration options into the Sage STV, but I'll never do it.
Why does it have to be done as an STVI? The SageTVPlugin configuration methods should be adequate (although with this many settings it may be somewhat unwieldy). That would answer both of your objections: you could do it all in Java, without ever opening Studio, and it would be STV-independent.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-30-2010, 09:26 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by GKusnick View Post
Why does it have to be done as an STVI? The SageTVPlugin configuration methods should be adequate (although with this many settings it may be somewhat unwieldy). That would answer both of your objections: you could do it all in Java, without ever opening Studio, and it would be STV-independent.
All the menus with all the options (servers, listeners, events, etc.) are all generated dynamically. To call it unwieldy is being nice. Not impossible, but to make it visually appealing/usable requires some UCD skills that I simply do not possess nor desire to improve upon (at least not through these SageTV projects). The web UI was basically already done, it just required some minor changes to update the look. Again, if someone wants to write an STVi or write the config implementation additions to the plugin class (the plugin class in the source tree is located here) then I'm more than willing to accept a patch. I've got to cut myself off somewhere, and for me, this is my limit.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-30-2010, 09:26 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by darcilicious View Post
Never mind, this probably totally a jetty web server issue...
As in nevermind, it's working?
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-30-2010, 10:19 PM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
No, never mind in that it's not working but I'm not sure it's a SageAlert problem. I'll post again if otherwise

See http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...7&postcount=17 and the rest of the thread for context.
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2

Last edited by darcilicious; 05-30-2010 at 10:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-30-2010, 11:45 PM
Peter_h Peter_h is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kailua, HI
Posts: 798
I can't click on anything in the "Servers" tree. So, I can't configure an email address. However, it is sending emails to the address I had configured in SageAlert v1.X.

Would this happen to be a similar issue to what we saw in the SRE thread? Maybe not compatible with previously installed versions?

-Peter
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-31-2010, 02:48 AM
davidk21770 davidk21770 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 513
When I surf to http://localhost:8080/sagealert, I get:
Quote:
HTTP ERROR: 503

Problem accessing /sagealert. Reason:

SERVICE_UNAVAILABLE

Powered by Jetty://
Jetty's working fine because I have Sage TV Web Interface up and running with no problems.

Actually, this happened with the web interface initially, but it cleared-up when I copied a backed-up config file to the new install (webserver subdir). Could I be missing any files that would be there if I was updating?
__________________
HDHomeRun x2
Cable Box via Hauppauge HD PVR and USB-UIRT
2 SageTV's HD300

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @4025 MHz, 8G G.Skill Performance
DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RS Plus; SilverStone Decathlon DA1000 (died - back to an ancient enermax)
eVGA 7900 GT KO RoHS -- Zalman VP900CU Cooling
Synology NAS 22TB
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-31-2010, 07:34 AM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by darcilicious View Post
No, never mind in that it's not working but I'm not sure it's a SageAlert problem. I'll post again if otherwise

See http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...7&postcount=17 and the rest of the thread for context.
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidk21770 View Post
When I surf to http://localhost:8080/sagealert, I get:

Jetty's working fine because I have Sage TV Web Interface up and running with no problems.

Actually, this happened with the web interface initially, but it cleared-up when I copied a backed-up config file to the new install (webserver subdir). Could I be missing any files that would be there if I was updating?
I need someone to work with me on MSN messenger to get the proper debug info. It could be a SageAlert problem, but until someone can get me the proper logs then I can't make that determination. PM for details on contacting me through MSN (my id is just my email address in case you already know my addr - I just won't post it in here).
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-31-2010, 07:41 AM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter_h View Post
I can't click on anything in the "Servers" tree. So, I can't configure an email address. However, it is sending emails to the address I had configured in SageAlert v1.X.

Would this happen to be a similar issue to what we saw in the SRE thread? Maybe not compatible with previously installed versions?

-Peter
You see Email, Twitter and Growl under "Servers", right? Right click on one of those to add a new account.

Something isn't right. SageAlert 2.x cannot use a v1.x db file... so either 1.x is still running somehow or... well, that's the only possibility. Easiest thing to do is grab me on MSN messenger so we can work through some debugging. PM for my MSN details (my id is just my email address, if you already know what that is).
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-31-2010, 09:53 AM
farfromuman farfromuman is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 128
I got the same result but Sagealert started working after I manually restarted the service. I can confirm that after the service was restated the sagealert files appeared in the jetty folder and the URL started working. It looks like Sage did not do a full restart when installing via the plugin manager.

I setup email alerts and they are working.


Quote:
Originally Posted by davidk21770 View Post
When I surf to http://localhost:8080/sagealert, I get:

Jetty's working fine because I have Sage TV Web Interface up and running with no problems.

Actually, this happened with the web interface initially, but it cleared-up when I copied a backed-up config file to the new install (webserver subdir). Could I be missing any files that would be there if I was updating?
__________________
Server: Sage 9; 8TB, i5 4690k 16GB DDR3 2XHDHR3, Windows 10 PRO 64BIT

Client 1: HD300; Panasonic TC-P65S64;
Client 2: HD300; Samsung 46" LCD;
Client 3: HD300; 60" LCD;
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-31-2010, 10:12 AM
Peter_h Peter_h is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kailua, HI
Posts: 798
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slugger View Post
You see Email, Twitter and Growl under "Servers", right? Right click on one of those to add a new account.

Something isn't right. SageAlert 2.x cannot use a v1.x db file... so either 1.x is still running somehow or... well, that's the only possibility. Easiest thing to do is grab me on MSN messenger so we can work through some debugging. PM for my MSN details (my id is just my email address, if you already know what that is).
Sounds good. I have to work today, (IT emergency ) so it will be when I get home later.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-31-2010, 11:21 AM
davidk21770 davidk21770 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 513
I tried restarting the server, restarting sage, and rebooting my computer -- but your update finally fixed it!

Thanks.
__________________
HDHomeRun x2
Cable Box via Hauppauge HD PVR and USB-UIRT
2 SageTV's HD300

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @4025 MHz, 8G G.Skill Performance
DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RS Plus; SilverStone Decathlon DA1000 (died - back to an ancient enermax)
eVGA 7900 GT KO RoHS -- Zalman VP900CU Cooling
Synology NAS 22TB
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-31-2010, 11:27 AM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slugger View Post
I need someone to work with me on MSN messenger to get the proper debug info. It could be a SageAlert problem, but until someone can get me the proper logs then I can't make that determination. PM for details on contacting me through MSN (my id is just my email address in case you already know my addr - I just won't post it in here).
Thanks to darcilicious, one major bug was tracked down this morning. I failed to include the SQLite JDBC driver dependency in the plugin. So users who didn't already have that plugin/driver installed would not be able to use SageAlert.

A new build is now available in the repository. I'm also noticing a race condition between Jetty and SageAlert where the start up may not work properly. I'll follow up with jreichen on that. This, I think, is what farfromuman experienced. In this case, opening and resaving SageAlert.context.xml in SageTV\jetty\contexts should fix things (by forcing a restart of the app).
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugin: MizookLCD (Alternate SageTV LCDSmartie Plugin) cslatt SageTV Customizations 48 06-11-2012 10:44 AM
MediaPlayer Plugin/STV Import: Winamp Media Player Plugin deria SageTV Customizations 447 12-11-2010 07:38 PM
Plugin: SageAlert Slugger SageTV Customizations 201 06-28-2010 07:47 PM
SageAlert new release notifications Slugger Customization Announcements 2 03-06-2010 09:53 AM
Hulu: Possible to Use XBMC Hulu Plugin to create SageTV Plugin? Brent SageTV Customizations 8 02-24-2009 04:16 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.