SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-06-2012, 11:59 PM
WellThen's Avatar
WellThen WellThen is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Great Pagoda of Funn
Posts: 193
HD-PVR Cable Box Audio SPDIF Survey

Hello All,

I've recently moved my Sage server to a different WHSv1, so I got to set the HD-PVR up all over again. I was hopeful that the problems I had with SPDIF recording (some recordings have a crackling sound at the beginning, and then no sound) would be addressed by the fresh install and the newer HD-PVR drivers. However, these problems persist with the new setup.

This made me wonder if it's a problem with the Comcast Motorola cable box I have. Could folks reply with which cable box they have, and whether SPDIF recording is working for them? I know that many folks report that SPDIF is now working for them, so maybe we can see a pattern.

I'll start it off.

Cable Provider: Comcast
Box Brand: Motorola
Box Model: RNG150N
Change change method: Hauppauge IR Blaster (rock solid)
SPDIF Audio Recording Reliably: No
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2012, 03:37 AM
korben_dallas's Avatar
korben_dallas korben_dallas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,250
Cable Provider: Time Warner
Box Brand: Sci Atlanta
Box Model: 4250HDC, 3250HD
Change change method: USB-UIRT 2 Zone
SPDIF Audio Recording Reliably: on both yes

I just replaced my Colossus with a 2nd HD PVR because the Colossus couldn't handle optical audio.
__________________
SageTV server & client: Win 10 Pro x64, Intel DH67CF, Core i5 2405s, 8 GB ram, Intel HD 3000, 40GB SSD system, 4TB storage, 2x HD PVR component + optical audio, USB-UIRT 2 zones + remote hack, Logitech Harmony One, HDMI output to Sony receiver with native Intel bitstreaming
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2012, 06:06 AM
JerryB JerryB is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 273
Cable Provider: Verizon FIOS
Box Brand: Motorola
Box Model: QIP 7216 1
Change change method: Firewire
SPDIF Audio Recording Reliably: Yes
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2012, 11:33 AM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
Cable Provider: Frontier (formerly Verizon) FiOS
Box Brand: Motorola
Box Model: QIP 6200
Change change method: Hauppauge IR Blaster (99% rock solid)
SPDIF Audio Recording Reliably: Yes

(I haven't updated the drivers in years though)
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-2012, 08:46 PM
SteveD's Avatar
SteveD SteveD is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Alabama
Posts: 228
Cable Provider: Directv
Box Brand: Directv
Box Model: H20-600 and H23-600
Change change method: Serial Tuning paterson devices
SPDIF Audio Recording Reliably: Solid
__________________
Serv:ECS H61H2-T1 ITX I7 3770S CPU@3.1GHZ 8G Ram WIN1064 HDPVR, HD Homerun|network encoder Unraid Server:B75MU3B I5-3550 CPU@3.30GHz 9TB 16G Ram|Network HDPVR encoder:Win10 VM 8G Ram with Processor passthrough. Directv Http tuning to Genie, exemultitunplugin to Genie client. Http scheduled task bat file to defeat screensaver on Genie. Usb uirt scheduled task bat file to defeat screensaver on Genie client. Clients Android TV, Samsung TAB A
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-2012, 09:57 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,122
cox cable Motorola 6200 series I think. 1394 channel changing, and spdif audio, both working fine with a HD PVR with the drivers previous to the current drivers, on W7 32 bit
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-08-2012, 12:06 AM
WellThen's Avatar
WellThen WellThen is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Great Pagoda of Funn
Posts: 193
Thanks to everyone who responded so far.

I'm happy to hear so many people getting SPDIF audio to work well. To try to get a picture of what might be different, hopefully we'll also hear from some of the folks who have problems with SPDIF - if I'm not the only one left!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-08-2012, 01:30 PM
thomaszoo thomaszoo is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 487
Cable Provider: Comcast
Box Brand: Motorola
Box Model: DCT-6200
Change change method: Firewire
SPDIF Audio Recording Reliably: Yes

The only recent problem I had with it was the power supply died. Prior to that I was having no problems with it and now that it is fixed, it appears to be just as reliable.

Wayne
__________________
i5-6400, MSI B150M Micro ATX MB, 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 - WD Green 2TB SATA Drives, Lite-On SATA 4X Blu-ray Reader, Corsair 400W 80+ Power Supply, Silverstone Sugo SG02-BF MicroATX Case, Windows 10 (64), HDHR Dual X2, Quatro and Prime, 5 x HD300 + 2 x HD100
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-08-2012, 02:10 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Cable Provider: Rogers
Box Brand: SA
Box Model: SA3250HD and SA4250HD
Change change method: Firewire
SPDIF Audio Recording Reliably: Yes

I waited a longtime before using SPDIF to do the problems what others were having but since I have gone to it, which is abotu 1-2 years ago on two HD-PVRs, all has been well.

My HD-PVRs are also very reliable - except for the fact that both power supplies died. I wonder if bad power supplies were the root of many problems that people have had with the HD-PVR over the years.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-09-2012, 11:27 AM
Wirenut Wirenut is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 183
Cable Provider: Time Warner
Box Brand: SA/Cisco
Box Model: 2-SA4650HD's
Change change method: Firewire
SPDIF Audio Recording Reliably: Yes / Very stabile
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-09-2012, 12:56 PM
DRB DRB is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 126
Cable Provider: Time Warner
Box Brand: Sci Atlanta
Box Model: 4250HDC
Change change method: IR Blaster
SPDIF Audio Recording Reliably: never had a problem.

DRB
__________________
DRB

I WANT MY HDTV
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-11-2012, 08:19 PM
WellThen's Avatar
WellThen WellThen is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Great Pagoda of Funn
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomaszoo View Post
Cable Provider: Comcast
Box Brand: Motorola
Box Model: DCT-6200
Change change method: Firewire
SPDIF Audio Recording Reliably: Yes

Wayne
Wayne,

What version of the HD-PVR drivers are you using?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-11-2012, 09:03 PM
thomaszoo thomaszoo is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 487
I am using 1.0.5 (I know, it is getting a little bit old). Didn't want to mess with something that was working, and it didn't seem that I would be getting anything new that I wanted.

Wayne
__________________
i5-6400, MSI B150M Micro ATX MB, 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 - WD Green 2TB SATA Drives, Lite-On SATA 4X Blu-ray Reader, Corsair 400W 80+ Power Supply, Silverstone Sugo SG02-BF MicroATX Case, Windows 10 (64), HDHR Dual X2, Quatro and Prime, 5 x HD300 + 2 x HD100
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-12-2012, 08:42 AM
equalize equalize is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 45
Have you tried to take the cable box back to Comcast and get another one? The levels might be borderline causing the issue.
__________________
APEVIA HTPC case, ASUS Z87-EXPERT MB, i5-4670, 16G, Hauppauge QuadHD capture card. View directly from server, no extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-12-2012, 08:51 AM
vividweb vividweb is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 401
Just so you don't feel left out.

Cable Provider: Bell
Box Brand: Bell
Box Model: 6131/6141
Change change method: USB-UIRT
SPDIF Audio Recording Reliably: NO (on all three boxes, with various revisions of HD-PVRs)

I need to try again with the latest (or possibly older) drivers. But have tried setting it up various times and eventually I get lock ups, without SPDIF I have ZERO lock ups.
__________________

Sage Server: i5-2500K 8 GB DDR, 6000gb HDD, 4xHD-PVR < 4xBell 6141, Win7 x64
Client 1: HD-200, Panasonic 42PX75
Client 2: HD-300, Samsung LCD
Client 3: HD-300, Samsung PN50C550
Client 4: MS Surface Pro
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-12-2012, 09:09 AM
mangriotis mangriotis is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 345
Elgin, IL

Cable Provider: Comcast
Box Brand: Motorola
Box Model: DCH-3200
Change change method: Firewire
SPDIF Audio Recording Reliably: Yes

HD-PVR
Hardware Revision: E1
Driver Version: 1.5.7.0 (dated 6/23/2010)
Windows WHSv1
__________________
m2
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-13-2012, 06:49 AM
gdippel gdippel is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bayside, New York
Posts: 289
Cable Provider: Time Warner Cable
Box Brand:Cisco
Box Model: Explorer 4640HDC
Channel Changing: Firewire
SPDIF Audio Recording Reliable: Yes

I'm using the latest beta drivers, 1.6.29353
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-13-2012, 10:32 PM
WellThen's Avatar
WellThen WellThen is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Great Pagoda of Funn
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by equalize View Post
Have you tried to take the cable box back to Comcast and get another one? The levels might be borderline causing the issue.
Yes, I'm on my second RNG150N. I may go back and ask for a different model of box. I actually did ask when I went to exchange the box, but all they had (for non DVR, with HD) was the RNG150N.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cable Reception Survey itms Hardware Support 9 07-11-2009 02:24 AM
Ac3 audio over spdif bigbeav SageTV Placeshifter 7 07-04-2008 04:13 PM
No audio out using SPDIF Jesse SageTV Software 3 03-14-2005 08:48 PM
No Sound With Cable and SPDIF aitf311 General Discussion 2 07-31-2004 05:51 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.