SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2017, 07:17 AM
SteveW's Avatar
SteveW SteveW is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 389
Angry Most Recent Win 10 Patches Have Killed My Clients

Just ran into an issue with my Sage 9.0.12 windows client running on Win10 64bit.

Since my windows PC's received these patches yesterday:

Security Update for Microsoft Excel 2010 (KB3178690) 32-Bit Edition
Security Update for Microsoft Office 2010 (KB3178688) 32-Bit Edition
Security Update for Microsoft Word 2010 (KB3178687) 32-Bit Edition
Security Update for Microsoft Office Excel Viewer 2007 (KB3178680)
Security Update for Microsoft Office 2007 suites (KB3127945)
Windows Malicious Software Removal Tool for Windows 8, 8.1, 10 and Windows Server 2012, 2012 R2, 2016 x64 Edition - March 2017 (KB890830)
Update for Windows 10 Version 1607 for x64-based Systems (KB4013418)
Cumulative Update for Windows 10 Version 1607 for x64-based Systems (KB4013429)
Security Update for Adobe Flash Player for Windows 10 Version 1607 (for x64-based Systems) (KB4014329)
Security Update for Microsoft Silverlight (KB4013867)

When I try to play a HDPVR recorded .TS file, or play a ripped Bluray, or play a ripped DVD, SageTV quits and I get:

"SageTV has stopped working. A problem caused the program to stop working. Windows will close the program and notify if a solution is available."

The patches have also run on my Windows server, but I have not yet tried running its local client to see what happens. I had one SageTV client that hadn't updated yet, so I ran up the client, played .TS files and Blurays, let it get the updates, and then rebooted and confirmed it could no longer play these files.

My money is on either of the two Windows 10 KB's that have cause this. I have not backed out the patches yet to see which one it is.

For information, these are clients that were initially installed Sage v7, and then Sage v9 installed over top.

-Steve

Edit: Have confirmed my HD300s are running fine with the server updated
__________________
Server: Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Intel i5, 8 GB, Samsung EVO 850 500 GB for OS, WD Black 4 TB + WD Black 1 TB for Recordings, 36TB Synology 1019+ for DVD/Bluray Rips, Music, Home Movies, etc., SageTV Server 64 Bit Ver 9.2.6.976, HDPVR x 2, Bell TV 6131 Receiver x 2, USB-UIRT with 56 KHz Receiver

Clients: PC Client x 2, HD-300 x 2 (1 Using Netgear MoCA Coax Bridges), SageTV Miniclient on NVidia Shield x 3

Last edited by SteveW; 03-15-2017 at 07:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-15-2017, 07:50 AM
SteveW's Avatar
SteveW SteveW is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 389
I'm pretty sure its KB4013429 that caused it. I just uninstalled it and rebooted the PC and now the Sage Client is working again for playing video.

I'm just waiting for that cumulative patch to download and install again to see if it takes out the video playback again.
__________________
Server: Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Intel i5, 8 GB, Samsung EVO 850 500 GB for OS, WD Black 4 TB + WD Black 1 TB for Recordings, 36TB Synology 1019+ for DVD/Bluray Rips, Music, Home Movies, etc., SageTV Server 64 Bit Ver 9.2.6.976, HDPVR x 2, Bell TV 6131 Receiver x 2, USB-UIRT with 56 KHz Receiver

Clients: PC Client x 2, HD-300 x 2 (1 Using Netgear MoCA Coax Bridges), SageTV Miniclient on NVidia Shield x 3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-15-2017, 08:47 AM
SteveW's Avatar
SteveW SteveW is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 389
Yeah, I just reinstalled KB4013429 and the problem is back.
__________________
Server: Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Intel i5, 8 GB, Samsung EVO 850 500 GB for OS, WD Black 4 TB + WD Black 1 TB for Recordings, 36TB Synology 1019+ for DVD/Bluray Rips, Music, Home Movies, etc., SageTV Server 64 Bit Ver 9.2.6.976, HDPVR x 2, Bell TV 6131 Receiver x 2, USB-UIRT with 56 KHz Receiver

Clients: PC Client x 2, HD-300 x 2 (1 Using Netgear MoCA Coax Bridges), SageTV Miniclient on NVidia Shield x 3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-15-2017, 12:22 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,561
Wonder if these are related.....

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=64247
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2017, 04:50 AM
ranger ranger is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 256
One of my clients failed yesterday in a similar manner. I uninstalled update KB4013429 and the client works fine now.

Thanks for identifying the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-16-2017, 11:29 AM
Monedeath Monedeath is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 514
Incidentally The Windows 7 System that is running SageTV back home also had an odd failure happen yesterday as well. Only it's the reverse scenario. the PC clients still work, the HD200 extender doesn't.

Will have to see if there was a recent Windows update applied there as well, although I have other trees to bark up on that one first. Including ensuring the alternate/backup extenders are properly configured for the TV/Server combination at hand. Seem to be stuck on getting a black screen after connecting to the server right now.

Edit: Issue on the Win7 system was resolved by letting the system shutdown and remain powered off(including extender being unplugged) for 5 minutes before bringing it back up. Seems either the server, or the extender picked up some crud in memory that needed a hard reset to clear out. As that server hadn't been shutoff in years, and it was running Windows, that's not exactly shocking.

Last edited by Monedeath; 03-16-2017 at 02:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-16-2017, 06:22 PM
korben_dallas's Avatar
korben_dallas korben_dallas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,250
Tried switching from MS DTV to Cyberlink decoder, but still CTD.

Dead in the water here.
__________________
SageTV server & client: Win 10 Pro x64, Intel DH67CF, Core i5 2405s, 8 GB ram, Intel HD 3000, 40GB SSD system, 4TB storage, 2x HD PVR component + optical audio, USB-UIRT 2 zones + remote hack, Logitech Harmony One, HDMI output to Sony receiver with native Intel bitstreaming
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-16-2017, 08:33 PM
Denali Denali is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 168
Temporary fix is to uninstall
Cumulative Update for Windows 10 Version 1607 (KB4013429)
which will restore prior CompPkgSup.dll from 10.0.14393.953 to 10.0.14393.
__________________
HTPC: Gigabyte GA-Z170XP-SLI, I7-6700, 16GB, Windows 10 Pro x64, Hauppauge HVR-1600, WinTV-dualHD, Colossus 2, Samsung 850 EVO 120GB, Seagate 3TB, WD 3TB, 3TB, 5TB, Java v1.8.0_231, SageTVx64 v9.2.1.826, Samsung UN60EH6003F, Dish ViP222K, ViewHD 1x2 HDMI Splitter.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-16-2017, 08:43 PM
SteveW's Avatar
SteveW SteveW is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denali View Post
Temporary fix is to uninstall
Cumulative Update for Windows 10 Version 1607 (KB4013429)
which will restore prior CompPkgSup.dll from 10.0.14393.953 to 10.0.14393.
That's what I did... Just left the kb uninstalled.
__________________
Server: Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Intel i5, 8 GB, Samsung EVO 850 500 GB for OS, WD Black 4 TB + WD Black 1 TB for Recordings, 36TB Synology 1019+ for DVD/Bluray Rips, Music, Home Movies, etc., SageTV Server 64 Bit Ver 9.2.6.976, HDPVR x 2, Bell TV 6131 Receiver x 2, USB-UIRT with 56 KHz Receiver

Clients: PC Client x 2, HD-300 x 2 (1 Using Netgear MoCA Coax Bridges), SageTV Miniclient on NVidia Shield x 3
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-16-2017, 11:36 PM
reddragoon reddragoon is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
Same issue

SteveW
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-17-2017, 05:05 PM
korben_dallas's Avatar
korben_dallas korben_dallas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,250
Any response from the devs? Uninstalling Windows patches is a non-starter.
__________________
SageTV server & client: Win 10 Pro x64, Intel DH67CF, Core i5 2405s, 8 GB ram, Intel HD 3000, 40GB SSD system, 4TB storage, 2x HD PVR component + optical audio, USB-UIRT 2 zones + remote hack, Logitech Harmony One, HDMI output to Sony receiver with native Intel bitstreaming
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-17-2017, 06:39 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by korben_dallas View Post
Any response from the devs? Uninstalling Windows patches is a non-starter.
It may have to be the Microsoft devs as this even breaks Windows Media Player if you google it.

Not much to do except revert, wait and hope they fix their patch or I read installing LAV decoders work

k
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-17-2017, 06:54 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
Don't fell bad it seem that SageTV not only one with this problem from what I have read on windows forums
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-17-2017, 07:43 PM
SteveW's Avatar
SteveW SteveW is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by korben_dallas View Post
Any response from the devs? Uninstalling Windows patches is a non-starter.
Agree in the long term. For now, don't see many other options other than leave it uninstalled for the moment until they sort themselves out. Other apps are being affected...
__________________
Server: Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Intel i5, 8 GB, Samsung EVO 850 500 GB for OS, WD Black 4 TB + WD Black 1 TB for Recordings, 36TB Synology 1019+ for DVD/Bluray Rips, Music, Home Movies, etc., SageTV Server 64 Bit Ver 9.2.6.976, HDPVR x 2, Bell TV 6131 Receiver x 2, USB-UIRT with 56 KHz Receiver

Clients: PC Client x 2, HD-300 x 2 (1 Using Netgear MoCA Coax Bridges), SageTV Miniclient on NVidia Shield x 3
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-18-2017, 02:12 AM
weeber weeber is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
It may have to be the Microsoft devs as this even breaks Windows Media Player if you google it.

Not much to do except revert, wait and hope they fix their patch or I read installing LAV decoders work

k
Just as an FYI, I use the LAV decoders and haven't had to uninstall any patches. Since restarting my client HTPC on Wednesday to finish install of the patches, no issues with playback of .ts files from my hdhrprime or homerun for OTA.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-18-2017, 02:13 PM
teedublu's Avatar
teedublu teedublu is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 198
Arcsoft (old that came with retired HDPVR) works -- with Renderer on EVR.
Only needed on video MPEG and H.264 settings.
Seems more stable, so far, than current ver of LAV Filters.

Win10 Home 32bit
Linux in near future!

TW
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-18-2017, 04:36 PM
korben_dallas's Avatar
korben_dallas korben_dallas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,250
Tried LAV, but can't get it to show up available to Sage. How exactly did you install the Arcsoft ones? I have a number of Haupp/HDPVR disks laying around.
__________________
SageTV server & client: Win 10 Pro x64, Intel DH67CF, Core i5 2405s, 8 GB ram, Intel HD 3000, 40GB SSD system, 4TB storage, 2x HD PVR component + optical audio, USB-UIRT 2 zones + remote hack, Logitech Harmony One, HDMI output to Sony receiver with native Intel bitstreaming
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-18-2017, 06:10 PM
Denali Denali is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by korben_dallas View Post
Tried LAV, but can't get it to show up available to Sage. How exactly did you install the Arcsoft ones? I have a number of Haupp/HDPVR disks laying around.
Select "List all decoders" to see LAV.

Just install WinTV to get ArcSoft. Afterwards, may need to disable or uninstall IR utility that it uses.

LAV don't seem to work on my system. Either crashes the UI similar to the problem being discussed for H.264 recordings and causes audio sync problems with MPEG recordings.
__________________
HTPC: Gigabyte GA-Z170XP-SLI, I7-6700, 16GB, Windows 10 Pro x64, Hauppauge HVR-1600, WinTV-dualHD, Colossus 2, Samsung 850 EVO 120GB, Seagate 3TB, WD 3TB, 3TB, 5TB, Java v1.8.0_231, SageTVx64 v9.2.1.826, Samsung UN60EH6003F, Dish ViP222K, ViewHD 1x2 HDMI Splitter.

Last edited by Denali; 03-18-2017 at 06:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-18-2017, 09:37 PM
teedublu's Avatar
teedublu teedublu is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 198
I recall that Arcsoft decoders were installed when installing Arcsoft's Total Media Extreme that came with the HDPVR.

TW
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-19-2017, 06:40 AM
Telecore's Avatar
Telecore Telecore is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 347
Just wanted to confirm - I upgraded from 9.0.11.483 to 9.0.13.536 - both server and PC client. I already had kb4013429 installed prior to updating and the PC client crashed after updating. Uninstalling kb4013429 fixed the problem- however the previous SageTV client version was working with kb4013249.
__________________
SageTV-V9(64bit): Win10/i3-4370/OpenDCT/HDHR-Quatro (OTA)
AndroidTV+Miniclient: Nvidia Shield(x3)/FireTV-4K(x8)
Channels-DVR:Win10/i3-4340/HDHR Quatro 4K/TVE(YTTV)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recent Recordings only shows 1st Run recent sacrament055 Gemstone for v7 2 09-08-2012 03:09 PM
Grouped Recent Recent Recordings? wrems Phoenix 1 03-26-2011 05:54 PM
Patches for extender crashes during slideshow in V7.0.12 Narflex SageTV Beta Test Software 4 07-19-2010 02:05 PM
HVR-22xx Audio registry patches SHS Hardware Support 0 06-16-2009 11:14 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.