SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 12-09-2018, 06:20 PM
crarbo1 crarbo1 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
I never bother to isolate the problem, but I think it was the network traffic with the SageTV server. (Yes, I was using Gigabit switches.) I was recording 6 stream at a time.
  • 6 streams in (3 from each HRHomeRun Prime)
  • 6 streams out recording shows

It is also an older PC and it would miss 1 or 2 recordings. It looked like it could not keep up. Recording to the local drives solved the problem, so I never went back to investigate.
Thanks for the update. Executing my plan may be a challenge and I am not sure if it is really worth trying the NAS or just keeping what I have.

Thanks,
Chuck
__________________
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64 bit)
Motherboard/CPU/RAM: Gigabyte EP43-UD3/Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz/8 GB RAM
System Drive : Samsung 850 Pro SSD (256 GB)
Recording Drive's: 2 x WD WD4001FAEX (4 TB)
Tuner's: 2 x Ceton InfiniTV 4's
Clients: 3 x Nvidia Shield TV's; Spares: 2 x HD300's
SageTV v9.1.2.662 with OpenDCT v0.5.28
Java 1.8.0_111-b14 (32bit)
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-10-2018, 04:31 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by crarbo1 View Post
Thanks for the update. Executing my plan may be a challenge and I am not sure if it is really worth trying the NAS or just keeping what I have.

Thanks,
Chuck
I would definitely get the NAS. I love having almost unlimited storage. One of the 4 drives failed a few months ago. The NAS kept going in a "degraded" state. (I really did not notice any difference.) I replace the bad drive and 1 other (they work in pairs) with larger drives and got an extra 5Tb of space.

I also use it to nightly back all of my PC's. That has saved me more than once.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD300; Onkyo TX-SR607; Sony XBR-65X850D
Client: HD300; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: Nexus Player / Mini-Client; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 9
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-10-2018, 06:48 PM
crarbo1 crarbo1 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
I would definitely get the NAS. I love having almost unlimited storage. One of the 4 drives failed a few months ago. The NAS kept going in a "degraded" state. (I really did not notice any difference.) I replace the bad drive and 1 other (they work in pairs) with larger drives and got an extra 5Tb of space.

I also use it to nightly back all of my PC's. That has saved me more than once.
I kinda do the same thing with my current SageTV server. I have a OS SSD drive and I have two 4TB drives that I record to. I have another 4TB drive that I keep all my other regular data on and create shares so others can use it. I have a fourth 4TB to be the back up of the 4TB data drive. I also use Macrium Reflect (Free Version) to do all my computer backups. Not a true server but I make it work. Not sure how much I would gain by going the NAS route if I would still have to use a local drive to do my SageTV recordings. I would hate to invest in getting a NAS setup and finding out it wouldn't be good enough for recording and have to go back. I guess I will think about it for a while before I make a decision.

Thanks,
Chuck
__________________
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64 bit)
Motherboard/CPU/RAM: Gigabyte EP43-UD3/Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz/8 GB RAM
System Drive : Samsung 850 Pro SSD (256 GB)
Recording Drive's: 2 x WD WD4001FAEX (4 TB)
Tuner's: 2 x Ceton InfiniTV 4's
Clients: 3 x Nvidia Shield TV's; Spares: 2 x HD300's
SageTV v9.1.2.662 with OpenDCT v0.5.28
Java 1.8.0_111-b14 (32bit)
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-11-2018, 05:18 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by crarbo1 View Post
I kinda do the same thing with my current SageTV server. I have a OS SSD drive and I have two 4TB drives that I record to. I have another 4TB drive that I keep all my other regular data on and create shares so others can use it. I have a fourth 4TB to be the back up of the 4TB data drive. I also use Macrium Reflect (Free Version) to do all my computer backups. Not a true server but I make it work. Not sure how much I would gain by going the NAS route if I would still have to use a local drive to do my SageTV recordings. I would hate to invest in getting a NAS setup and finding out it wouldn't be good enough for recording and have to go back. I guess I will think about it for a while before I make a decision.

Thanks,
Chuck
If the only thing you are using it for is SageTV recordings, I would agree.

Mine is also a digital music server, backup server for all PC's and archival storage. When traveling, I use the VPN server access my network. When I was doing web development, it was my local WordPress site.

You will be surprised all the things you start using it for.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD300; Onkyo TX-SR607; Sony XBR-65X850D
Client: HD300; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: Nexus Player / Mini-Client; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 9
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-11-2018, 05:55 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by crarbo1 View Post
Thanks for the update. Executing my plan may be a challenge and I am not sure if it is really worth trying the NAS or just keeping what I have.

Thanks,
Chuck
I have a NAS and a computer on the network that acts like a NAS. The NAS is way easier and more reliable. I never mess with it other than to make sure the disks are healthy. It's a great little appliance.

I don't use it for recording and can't vouch for how that will work. In the past I recorded to a network drive and eventually ran into issues. In the end I decided it was easier to buy a bigger case with good cooling and use local drives especially since drives now are so big that you don't need many.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-11-2018, 03:32 PM
crarbo1 crarbo1 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
If the only thing you are using it for is SageTV recordings, I would agree.

Mine is also a digital music server, backup server for all PC's and archival storage. When traveling, I use the VPN server access my network. When I was doing web development, it was my local WordPress site.

You will be surprised all the things you start using it for.
My current SageTV server does it all (recording, music, other videos, documents, backups, etc.). Ideally I would like to move everything over to a NAS but if SageTV recordings might be an issue, I'm not sure I will change over. I guess I could try it and see but if it doesn't work, I spent money I didn't need to.

Thanks for your input,
Chuck
__________________
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64 bit)
Motherboard/CPU/RAM: Gigabyte EP43-UD3/Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz/8 GB RAM
System Drive : Samsung 850 Pro SSD (256 GB)
Recording Drive's: 2 x WD WD4001FAEX (4 TB)
Tuner's: 2 x Ceton InfiniTV 4's
Clients: 3 x Nvidia Shield TV's; Spares: 2 x HD300's
SageTV v9.1.2.662 with OpenDCT v0.5.28
Java 1.8.0_111-b14 (32bit)
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-11-2018, 03:33 PM
crarbo1 crarbo1 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
I have a NAS and a computer on the network that acts like a NAS. The NAS is way easier and more reliable. I never mess with it other than to make sure the disks are healthy. It's a great little appliance.

I don't use it for recording and can't vouch for how that will work. In the past I recorded to a network drive and eventually ran into issues. In the end I decided it was easier to buy a bigger case with good cooling and use local drives especially since drives now are so big that you don't need many.
Thanks for your input. Any suggestions on the NAS device?

Thanks,
Chuck
__________________
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64 bit)
Motherboard/CPU/RAM: Gigabyte EP43-UD3/Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz/8 GB RAM
System Drive : Samsung 850 Pro SSD (256 GB)
Recording Drive's: 2 x WD WD4001FAEX (4 TB)
Tuner's: 2 x Ceton InfiniTV 4's
Clients: 3 x Nvidia Shield TV's; Spares: 2 x HD300's
SageTV v9.1.2.662 with OpenDCT v0.5.28
Java 1.8.0_111-b14 (32bit)
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-11-2018, 06:10 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by crarbo1 View Post
Thanks for your input. Any suggestions on the NAS device?

Thanks,
Chuck
I have a ReadyNAS. It was cheap but it works. It supports dockers as well which in theory means you can run Sage on it. I've never tried that but have been tempted to.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 12-12-2018, 03:40 AM
crarbo1 crarbo1 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
I have a ReadyNAS. It was cheap but it works. It supports dockers as well which in theory means you can run Sage on it. I've never tried that but have been tempted to.
Thanks for the suggestion. I have no experience on how to use dockers but I may have to learn so I can get Sage off of my PC and onto a NAS. I can't do that just yet since I don't have a SD Prime 6 tuner yet, but I'm in the planning phase right now.

Thanks again,
Chuck
__________________
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64 bit)
Motherboard/CPU/RAM: Gigabyte EP43-UD3/Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz/8 GB RAM
System Drive : Samsung 850 Pro SSD (256 GB)
Recording Drive's: 2 x WD WD4001FAEX (4 TB)
Tuner's: 2 x Ceton InfiniTV 4's
Clients: 3 x Nvidia Shield TV's; Spares: 2 x HD300's
SageTV v9.1.2.662 with OpenDCT v0.5.28
Java 1.8.0_111-b14 (32bit)
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 12-12-2018, 05:14 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by crarbo1 View Post
Thanks for your input. Any suggestions on the NAS device?

Thanks,
Chuck
I have a Synology. More expensive, but more functionality. For example: it will run a PLEX server.

Read a few articles the compare different manufacturers.
https://www.techradar.com/news/the-1...vices-reviewed
https://www.lifewire.com/best-nas-ne...torage-4140167

Decide what functionality you need and what you might want in the future. You should think of it as an investment.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD300; Onkyo TX-SR607; Sony XBR-65X850D
Client: HD300; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: Nexus Player / Mini-Client; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 9
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 12-12-2018, 03:52 PM
crarbo1 crarbo1 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
I have a Synology. More expensive, but more functionality. For example: it will run a PLEX server.

Read a few articles the compare different manufacturers.
https://www.techradar.com/news/the-1...vices-reviewed
https://www.lifewire.com/best-nas-ne...torage-4140167

Decide what functionality you need and what you might want in the future. You should think of it as an investment.
Thanks! I will take a look.
__________________
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64 bit)
Motherboard/CPU/RAM: Gigabyte EP43-UD3/Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz/8 GB RAM
System Drive : Samsung 850 Pro SSD (256 GB)
Recording Drive's: 2 x WD WD4001FAEX (4 TB)
Tuner's: 2 x Ceton InfiniTV 4's
Clients: 3 x Nvidia Shield TV's; Spares: 2 x HD300's
SageTV v9.1.2.662 with OpenDCT v0.5.28
Java 1.8.0_111-b14 (32bit)
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 12-18-2018, 08:00 PM
jchiso jchiso is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 608
I've had a Sage server that wrote to networked shares in the past, and really did not have any problems doing so. I did not try to do too much with the hardware capabilities. In fact, I used Ubuntu desktop distributions and set up the write drives as SAMBA shares.

I've thought about going this route again recently (particularly during a recent long period of networking issue) in the interest of simplification and power usage. I may revisit this during the year-end break using an Odroid HC2 or HC1. These devices allow you to turn a drive into a sophisticated NAS using supported software such as Open Media Vault.

I don't have any experience with the HC1 or HC2 devices, or Open Media Vault, but this is what I will most likely try next ...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should recordings under Suggestions prefer HD channels? Martoon SageTV Software 9 06-29-2010 02:23 PM
SageTV with networked storage remmy925 Hardware Support 4 04-13-2010 07:25 PM
Disk Storage for Recordings with Multiple Drives SkierHiker SageTV Software 7 06-17-2009 01:02 AM
Placeshifter local file storage locations - Vista RefCache SageTV Placeshifter 2 05-20-2009 10:38 AM
Recordings too dark. Suggestions? johnb41 Hardware Support 2 08-31-2005 09:56 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.