SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Information & Announcements > SageTV Downloads & Instructions

Notices

SageTV Downloads & Instructions This forum is for discussions containing Downloads and Instructions related to the Open Source version of SageTV. Please do not post questions in this forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-08-2020, 06:41 PM
hogburgs's Avatar
hogburgs hogburgs is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 24
HDHR Prime 3 found then lost after Windows install

Installed Version 9.2.2 (2020-05-16) 64 bit to new computer for the first time. I was very happy to see that during setup all three HDHR Prime 3 were found and I was able to configure them as usual, no other software needed. After a couple days started to receive recording errors every few minutes. I have a windows 7 32 bit computer running Sage vr. 9.1.10.783, Java vr. 1.8.0_201, with OpenDCT installed. Verified HDHR Prime 3 still working with no errors.
Uninstalled SageTv, and Java using BCUninstaller. Reinstalled Version 9.2.2 (2020-05-16) 64 bit as before, this time no tuners found. Installed Version 9.2.2 (2020-05-16) 32 bit allowing installer to install Java 1.8 32 bit, to a different folder on a different hard drive. With 64 bit Sage & service shut down, 32 bit Sage loads but same results during configuration, no tuners found.
I have not tried installing OpenDCT, when in a hole stop digging!
Do I need OpenDCT? Why did Sage 64 bit find the tuners the first time? Without having installed 32 bit Sage or OpenDCT?
Any help will be greatly appreciated, been using Sage since 06/19/2008.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-08-2020, 07:12 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,422
Yes, you need OpenDCT to use a Prime3 cablecard tuner correctly in Sage. As I recall, SageTV always 'finds' the tuners, but they don't actually work until you select the tuner that is delivered to Sage via OpenDCT.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-08-2020, 08:44 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,925
Itís possible that your new install was seeing the OpenDCT on the other Windows 7 computer and thatís why it worked before. Iím guessing something changed and your new computer can no longer see OpenDCT running on the other computer for some reason (maybe you donít have the Win7 computer running anymore, or itís no longer in the same network, or your firewall is blocking it, ...).

OpenDCT doesnít need to be installed on the same computer as Sage, but it needs to be running somewhere for Sage to access any cable card tuners. Sage has no native support for cable card.
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-09-2020, 06:32 PM
hogburgs's Avatar
hogburgs hogburgs is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 24
Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Everything went well, now have 64 bit Sage running on my new Windows 10 computer.
You nailed it about OpenDCT running on other computer, the reason no tuners were found after fresh install was because I was being "extra careful" and had shut down the other computer. Can't believe it worked at all.
Again, thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-09-2020, 06:36 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
Itís possible that your new install was seeing the OpenDCT on the other Windows 7 computer and thatís why it worked before.
Great call, Tiki. Hadn't even considered that.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-18-2020, 09:22 AM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,597
Quote:
Originally Posted by hogburgs View Post
Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Everything went well, now have 64 bit Sage running on my new Windows 10 computer.
You nailed it about OpenDCT running on other computer, the reason no tuners were found after fresh install was because I was being "extra careful" and had shut down the other computer. Can't believe it worked at all.
Again, thank you.
OpenDCT has a feature to restrict tuners to only being discoverable by specific computers on your network. Basically, when the server queries OpenDCT, it will only reply with those tuners if the server asking is allowed to see them. I can't recall the setting at the moment, but if you're interested, let me know.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New HDHR device unveiled HDHR Prime 6 wayner Hardware Support 22 01-22-2018 05:39 AM
no luck with HDHR Prime channels in new Ubuntu install matt91 SageTV Github Development 7 12-14-2015 09:00 PM
HDHR Dying - Is HDHR Prime any differnt for OTA other then 3rd tuner personalt Hardware Support 2 11-19-2012 03:50 PM
HDHR Prime, Sage, Windows Media Center Diego Garcia Hardware Support 10 10-30-2012 06:18 PM
No Devices found using HDHomerun Prime RayAlto Hardware Support 3 01-17-2012 02:49 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.