SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-02-2020, 07:56 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 777
LOCAST

I have been trying to get a good OTA signal for the past year and running into some problems. The only alternative seems to be putting an antenna on the roof. I then found LOCAST which has been working great. (And at $5 a month it is a real bargain)

Recently Channels DVR added LOCAST as a supported tuner. I tried it and it works great recording broadcast channels. ($8 per month)

It got me thinking, if Channels DVR was able to write a software tuner for LOCAST, why couldn't someone create an OpenDCT type of network tuner that SageTV could use to record from LOCAST?

What does everyone think?
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: (2) HD300
Client: Mini-Client, ShieldTV
Client: (2) Mini-Client, Fire TV Stick 4K
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-02-2020, 09:44 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,126
That would be amazing!
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.8.3, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-02-2020, 11:47 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,922
At first glance this sounds like Aereo that was shut down that had these tiny antennas to record or rebroadcast OTA TV.

This article says that they were sued 14 months ago. Doesn't seem as if the case has been heard yet.

https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/th...cognize%20this.

Here is another story: https://www.nexttv.com/news/locast-e...alling-aereo-2
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-02-2020, 12:16 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
At first glance this sounds like Aereo that was shut down that had these tiny antennas to record or rebroadcast OTA TV.

This article says that they were sued 14 months ago. Doesn't seem as if the case has been heard yet.

https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/th...cognize%20this.

Here is another story: https://www.nexttv.com/news/locast-e...alling-aereo-2
I can't put my fingers on it right now, but what I read is that because locast.org is set up as a non-profit, they have a good chance of succeeding where Aereo failed.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.8.3, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-02-2020, 12:32 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
I have been trying to get a good OTA signal for the past year and running into some problems. The only alternative seems to be putting an antenna on the roof. I then found LOCAST which has been working great. (And at $5 a month it is a real bargain)

Recently Channels DVR added LOCAST as a supported tuner. I tried it and it works great recording broadcast channels. ($8 per month)

It got me thinking, if Channels DVR was able to write a software tuner for LOCAST, why couldn't someone create an OpenDCT type of network tuner that SageTV could use to record from LOCAST?

What does everyone think?
Or if only you could add a M3U tuner in SageTV or OPENDCT. I have TVE XFINITY and Locast working on EMBY/NEXTPVR using Channels DVR as a backend supplying the M3U feed.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-02-2020, 02:01 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Or if only you could add a M3U tuner in SageTV or OPENDCT. I have TVE XFINITY and Locast working on EMBY/NEXTPVR using Channels DVR as a backend supplying the M3U feed.
What is an M3U tuner and what is TVE Xfinity? Does that allow you to access LiveTV via Comcast's Xfinity service?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-02-2020, 02:19 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
What is an M3U tuner and what is TVE Xfinity? Does that allow you to access LiveTV via Comcast's Xfinity service?

https://community.getchannels.com/t/...erywhere/18127
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-02-2020, 02:24 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,922
Very interesting. There seems to be a Docker container for the Channels DVR-TVE. It would be cool if you could access this via a Docker on a system also running SageTV in a Docker (or on Windows).
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-02-2020, 03:34 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 777
You need a cable subscription for TV Everywhere. I like Channels DVR because it records from LOCAST without a cable subscription.

LOCAST is staying in business because they are a non-profit.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: (2) HD300
Client: Mini-Client, ShieldTV
Client: (2) Mini-Client, Fire TV Stick 4K
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-02-2020, 05:14 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 777
Apparently someone figured out how to integrate Locast into Kodi.
https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=334947
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: (2) HD300
Client: Mini-Client, ShieldTV
Client: (2) Mini-Client, Fire TV Stick 4K
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-02-2020, 06:40 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
You need a cable subscription for TV Everywhere. I like Channels DVR because it records from LOCAST without a cable subscription.

LOCAST is staying in business because they are a non-profit.
You do not need a Cable subscription a Philo Youtube hulu etc will do.

A major U.S. cable or OTT provider like AT&T TV Now, Cox, Direct TV, Direct TV Now, Dish Network, Frontier, FuboTV, HTC Digital, Hulu Live TV, Optimum, PSVue, Philo, Sling TV, Spectrum, Verizon Fios, Xfinity, YouTube TV, etc.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-02-2020, 06:47 PM
hb4 hb4 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
Apparently someone figured out how to integrate Locast into Kodi.
https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=334947
And it works for Emby as well.
__________________
Server: Intel i5-2400 @3.1GHz 4 cores Windows 8.1 Pro, Sage 9.2.1 with Comskip
Capture: OTA; Comcast to HD-PVR, HDHR, HDHR Prime with Firmware version 20150826 and OpenDCT version 0.5.13 beta
Storage: 1Tb HD on Server, 2Tb Buffalo NAS
Network: Gb Buffalo Router, Gb 8-port Netgear Switch connected to Server, HD-200, NAS, HDHR, Prime, LAN
Playback: HD-200, Server to HDTV; HD-300 and Emby for off-site playback
Tech Level: Hobbyist

Last edited by hb4; 10-02-2020 at 10:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-02-2020, 09:03 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,433
Is LOCAST a moving target, that would require constant developer attention to keep it working properly?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-03-2020, 02:04 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 777
How does Locast.org comply with copyright?

Locast.org operates under the same copyright statute that allows broadcast translators to receive and transmit a primary local broadcast TV station without a copyright license, meaning it may provide the digital translator service to you even if local broadcasters object.

Before 1976, under two Supreme Court decisions, any company or organization could receive an over-the-air broadcast signal and retransmit it to households in that broadcaster’s market without receiving permission (a copyright license) from the broadcaster. Then, in 1976, Congress passed a law overturning the Supreme Court decisions and making it a copyright violation to retransmit a local broadcast signal without a copyright license. This is why cable and satellite operators, when retransmitting a broadcast signal, either must operate under a statutory “compulsory” copyright license, or receive permission from the broadcaster.

But Congress made an exception. Any “non-profit organization” could make a “secondary transmission” of a local broadcast signal, provided the non-profit did not receive any “direct or indirect commercial advantage” and either offered the signal for free or for a fee “necessary to defray the actual and reasonable costs” of providing the service. 17 U.S.C. 111(a)(5).

Sports Fans Coalition NY is a non-profit organization under the laws of New York State. Locast.org does not charge viewers for the digital translator service (although we do ask for contributions) and if it does so, will only recover costs as stipulated in the copyright statute. Finally, in dozens of pages of legal analysis provided to Sports Fans Coalition, an expert in copyright law concluded that under this particular provision of the copyright statute, secondary transmission may be made online, the same way traditional broadcast translators do so over the air.

For these reasons, Locast.org believes it is well within the bounds of copyright law when offering you the digital translator service.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: (2) HD300
Client: Mini-Client, ShieldTV
Client: (2) Mini-Client, Fire TV Stick 4K
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-03-2020, 02:05 PM
hb4 hb4 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 212
Apparently the Plex code takes the Locast stream and converts it to act like an HDHomerun tuner.
__________________
Server: Intel i5-2400 @3.1GHz 4 cores Windows 8.1 Pro, Sage 9.2.1 with Comskip
Capture: OTA; Comcast to HD-PVR, HDHR, HDHR Prime with Firmware version 20150826 and OpenDCT version 0.5.13 beta
Storage: 1Tb HD on Server, 2Tb Buffalo NAS
Network: Gb Buffalo Router, Gb 8-port Netgear Switch connected to Server, HD-200, NAS, HDHR, Prime, LAN
Playback: HD-200, Server to HDTV; HD-300 and Emby for off-site playback
Tech Level: Hobbyist
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-03-2020, 02:09 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 777
Quote:
Originally Posted by hb4 View Post
Apparently the Plex code takes the Locast stream and converts it to act like an HDHomerun tuner.
So, it is possible to do the same for SageTV?
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: (2) HD300
Client: Mini-Client, ShieldTV
Client: (2) Mini-Client, Fire TV Stick 4K
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-03-2020, 02:29 PM
hb4 hb4 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
So, it is possible to do the same for SageTV?
That's way beyond my pay grade! Hopefully someone with real knowledge and experience will comment.

I've been skimming the Reddit and GitHub pages to try and understand how it works and have reached my limit. I did see that someone had installed the software on a Pi, which would be pretty slick if one could just buy one, plug it in, find it as a tuner, and go from there.

There must be a gotcha here... if Locast is an IPTV stream and can be picked up with Sage, why can't any other IPTV stream be accessed as well? I'm sure I'm missing something.

Here's a link to what I think is the code to read the Locast stream..
__________________
Server: Intel i5-2400 @3.1GHz 4 cores Windows 8.1 Pro, Sage 9.2.1 with Comskip
Capture: OTA; Comcast to HD-PVR, HDHR, HDHR Prime with Firmware version 20150826 and OpenDCT version 0.5.13 beta
Storage: 1Tb HD on Server, 2Tb Buffalo NAS
Network: Gb Buffalo Router, Gb 8-port Netgear Switch connected to Server, HD-200, NAS, HDHR, Prime, LAN
Playback: HD-200, Server to HDTV; HD-300 and Emby for off-site playback
Tech Level: Hobbyist

Last edited by hb4; 10-03-2020 at 02:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-03-2020, 03:22 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 777
There is also Telly. IPTV proxy for use with Plex Media Server.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: (2) HD300
Client: Mini-Client, ShieldTV
Client: (2) Mini-Client, Fire TV Stick 4K
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-04-2020, 01:34 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,572
Another option
https://github.com/tgorgdotcom/locast2plex
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-12-2020, 10:40 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,129
Without digging into the LOCAST website too much, is it absolutely tied to geolocation such that you can ONLY get the locals in your area and you have to be in the "viewing area" of one of their sites? Or could you easily VPN your way around it?

The reason I ask - and this would seem to me to be a big sticking point - is rights to professional sports games. For instance, if you live in Chicago you can watch the Bears on your local CBS or Fox, but if you are a Bears fan living somewhere else, your only options to see the Bears would be paying for something like DirecTV's NFL package (premium $$$). MLB is well-known too for paying to keep cutting-edge algorithms in place to prevent people from watching out-of-market games. With LOCAST, if there was not strict geolocation, you could choose Chicago as your locals and watch the Bears or Cubs game. It would be way cheaper for sports fans to get LOCAST just for out-of-market sports than to pay for the officially-sanctioned league option.

So while they may not get shut down by the FCC, they may get sued by the NFL or MLB.
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 10 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9x64, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.