SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2020, 03:21 PM
phantomii phantomii is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 156
Mini Client Joining Disconnects other Clients?

I have a Linux Server and 7 Android devices running the Mini Client. For tuners I have a Ceton Eth6 and a HD Homerun Prime for a total of 9 Tuners. This is at a vacation house I own so i do not use this setup every day. With Covid-19 I headed to this other home and discovered an odd anomaly I never noticed before. When watching TV on one of the Mini Clients all works fine. When someone tries to connect to Sage from a different Mini Client the first client stops playing live TV and exits SageTV to the Android Launcher. Very Strange. I also noted that the HDHomerun which was from a Merit standpoint set as tuners 7, 8. and 9 seemed to be the tuner selected though they were last in line.

So I deleted all the tuners and only re-installed the 6 Ceton Tuners. These all re-installed fine and they will display live television just fine from one Mini Client, but the disconnects that occured before still persist once a second client is started up. I also noted that it appears to select the last Tuner in the Merit for the Eth6 Ceton tuner rather than the first.

Running the latest versions of SageTV and Open-DCT......

Any thoughts on how to fix this? Kinda confused........

Last edited by phantomii; 03-26-2020 at 03:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-26-2020, 05:08 PM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 485
Sorry, I can't offer any help about why the client stops. But the mini-client stop isn't related to the tuner/merit selection.

The merit behavior described isn't indication of a failure, just unexpected. I've seen that Sage seems to not always honor the merit value when selecting among tuners that use a common EPG lineup. The SageTv manual says merit is "used to determine which capture device is 'preferred' when all other things are equal; higher numbers mean higher priority". But it's not always obvious what factors come into play for "all other things equal".
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2020, 05:08 PM
phantomii phantomii is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 156
Never mind the above post. I am responding to that post as I identified my issue and thought I should document this in case some one else experiences this in the future.

Several weeks back I upgraded all my Android devices with a new version of firmware to resolve some issues. Moved from ver 6 to version 7.12 I found on the web. All of my Android boxes are basically the same model so I installed the the firmware, and all my apps on one box and configured each app the way I wanted it to be. Then using TWRP I backed up the whole box and restored the full image to all the other boxes. Apparently since SageTV had been run and configured before the backup, when restoring to all the other boxes, they appeared to be the same exact box as the initial unit. Then when SageTV was started on a second box, the first box running SageTV would simply shut down. I suspect the server did this since it thought it was the same box.

i simply uninstalled SageTV from each box, re-installed it which forced me through the setup and all was ok.... Learn from my lesson.......

Last edited by phantomii; 03-26-2020 at 06:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stick Mini Clients will SageTV Clients Development 38 07-16-2018 06:45 PM
Mini ITX cases for Sage clients wayner Hardware Support 20 06-02-2011 10:00 AM
Hangs/Disconnects between Client and Server ben_95sl1 SageTV Software 0 02-01-2009 07:14 AM
CC problems & client disconnects Wheemer SageTV Software 4 01-08-2006 06:22 PM
Client disconnects. All Requirements met. kzatu SageTV Software 1 08-06-2005 01:46 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.