SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-19-2008, 11:31 AM
davefred99 davefred99 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 158
Using and HD reciever To record on SD tuner

I am in the middle of a complete change over from a mix of both Verizon Fios & Direct Tv. I have been using the Fios for SD locals and HD locals & Direct Tv for everyting else. My Direct TV is being recorded to a pair of PVR 150 tuners.

Since I am eliminating the Direct TV completely I ordered one SD Receiver (DCT-700) and On HD receiver (QIP6200) to feed my tuners. I am eventually going to get an HD-PVR but my budget is short right now and I am waiting to make sure that all the Bugs get worked out too.

My question is how does the HD well does using an HD receiver for SD recording work via S video . When recording HD content I assume that I will get a letter boxed 4X3 picture. Will it be full screen albeit letter boxed or will it be a smaller inset because of the original 16X9 source. Second How will this apply to non HD Channels that are from a 4X3 SD source.
My thinking is that I can use the HD receiver for now in and when I am ready just upgrade to the HD PVR.
__________________
Server:
SageTv 7.19, XPpro
AMD XP-M 2400 45w@2.2GHZ, 1Gig Ram NF7-S ver2
Seasonic S-12 380w, NEC 3520a Onboard SoundStorm S/PDIF out
WD-Caviar 120GB IDE (System) Seagate (3) Baracuda 250GB sata (Pooled)
GF-7600gs Forceware 93.71 Nvida-Decoder V.4.02.223HDHR-Prime 3-Digital Fios ,HDhomeRun-Qam/FIOS
Clients:GA-MA78GM-S2H -AMD 4800- Sage TV Client-FireFly Remote - Amd x2 Turino LAPTOP - HD-100 + MVP Client DVR Verizon Fios/ B]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-19-2008, 05:40 PM
Conejo Conejo is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: California
Posts: 645
HD STBs have an S-video circuit that will downconvert video to 720480, with a hidden options screen where the user can select output options.

Normally, SD 4:3 video is displayed full screen; Anything HD is displayed letterboxed (black top and bottom)
S-Video Out:
source 4:3 -> 4:3 picture
source 16:9 -> 4:3 (16:9 video letterbox top and bottom)

Then your 4:3 or 16:9 TV display comes into play and will adjust the video again to fit its screen.

One of my local stations is broadcast HD but its news it still 4:3 aspect ratio so they 'force fill' the left and right to prevent auto-stretch. I assume the anchors don't want to look fat. Anyway, this creates a seudo 16:9 image that the S-video circuit then letter boxes so I get a black bars on all sides with a little video running in the middle. It's inset on a 16:9; an even smaller inset on a 4:3 display.

I'm sure you'll run into a couple of anomalies but otherwise it will look great.

Last edited by Conejo; 07-19-2008 at 05:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-21-2008, 06:36 AM
BFisher BFisher is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 394
I set my DirecTV HD receivers to output at 720p in widescreen format. Even though I'm connecting to my Sage box with s-video, it still outputs in widescreen format.

When I play it on a Sage HD Extender, I have to hit the Video button on the remote to change the aspect ratio... otherwise it squeezes the widescreen format into a 4:3 screen (I assume since it was recorded by SVideo, it assumes it's 4:3 recording). There's probably a way to automatically fix this... but I haven't found it yet.

When I play it on a MVP, it automatically fills the screen properly.

Either way... it looks significantly better than recording SD off the DirecTV box. Not HD quality... but a good step above SD.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.