SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2021, 10:00 PM
Tokendude Tokendude is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NW MS
Posts: 28
Recording drives question

I've been running v1 of WHS for many, many years and have finally been forced to upgrade the OS. I've gone to Win10x64 for better or worse. The reason I used WHS was because of the "pooled drive" capability of WHS. I just added more drives as I needed them and let WHS handle drive/file balancing. My questions now are:
1) how does SageTV allocate files when more than 1 drive/directory is provided to SageTV for recording?
2) Is there any advantage (other than redundancy) to using "Storage Spaces" instead of listing multiple drives (I have 5 x 2TB) some of which will be for DVD storage and some for OTA recordings.

It's been so long since I've done much with SageTV other than just use it so I'm looking for a little guidance here. I tried searching the forum but could find much info for either question.

Thanks

TD
__________________
Server: whs-Antec Three Hundred Case w/ extra HD cooling fans, Gigabyte GA-EP43-EU3L, Q9400processor (2.66Hz quad core), 4gig ram. Sage for whs 6.6.2, 3x1TB + 1x1.5TB + 1x2TB pool.
Capture: 2 HDHR's.
Clients: 3 HD200's.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2021, 10:24 PM
peternm22 peternm22 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 670
If you configure multiple recording drives, SageTV will record to the one with the most available space.

So if you have 1 drive that has 500GB free, and another that has 100GB free, SageTV will always record to the 500GB drive until it drops below 100GB free.

There are also "Diskspace Usage Rules" when setting up your recording folders. You can use this setting to set a maximum amount of space to use per drive. You may be able to balance the storage SageTV uses across drives by tweaking this setting.

I can't help with the second question though.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2021, 11:25 AM
Striker:WG Striker:WG is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 334
I'll throw in an unsolicited plug for Unraid here. If you want to run an array, do drive pooling and let something else handle it, check out Unraid. I've got a 14TB array with parity, and it worries about which drive to write to. Sage just sees a recording share and it uses that.

I'm not sure what your watching habits are like, but around here, we tend to watch and delete. The few things we want to keep, I'll re-encode and move to a videos folder. Why not just dedicated one of your 2 TB drives to be a recording drive and use the other drives for other content?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2021, 07:59 PM
Denali Denali is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 166
In Detailed Setup : General there's also
Video Recording Path Optimization Style - Space/Bandwidth
__________________
HTPC: Gigabyte GA-Z170XP-SLI, I7-6700, 16GB, Windows 10 Pro x64, Hauppauge HVR-1600, WinTV-dualHD, Colossus 2, Samsung 850 EVO 120GB, Seagate 3TB, WD 3TB, 3TB, 5TB, Java v1.8.0_231, SageTVx64 v9.2.1.826, Samsung UN60EH6003F, Dish ViP222K, ViewHD 1x2 HDMI Splitter.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-24-2021, 09:49 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,037
I also went from WHS to unRAID. The only downside is that it doesn't do client backups.

But I think Win 10 has something called Storage Spaces which is a successor technlogy to WHS pooled drives.
https://www.onmsft.com/how-to/how-to...-in-windows-10
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for recommendations on recording folders/drives Zogg SageTV Github Development 2 09-11-2016 10:16 PM
question about hard drives reboot_this The SageTV Community 3 02-02-2007 11:18 AM
Force recording to multiple drives NEOSG SageTV Software 14 01-21-2007 12:28 PM
1 out of 4 recording drives being ignored? geogecko SageTV Software 5 11-24-2006 03:42 PM
95+% fragmentation on recording drives evilpenguin SageTV Software 38 04-04-2006 06:30 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.