SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-12-2022, 11:28 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,312
Paid OTA

Here's an interesting video about the current and future state of paid OTA television: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b8Ez3GFZnYw
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.9.2, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-12-2022, 12:35 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Interesting. Those of us across the border in Canada might like the opportunity to get channels like ESPN if they ever became paid OTA. Technically we would not be allowed to do so, but you could likely get away with paying via Paypal and using a US address. Just like many folks from outside of the US use VPNs to access US only services.

I can pull in Toronto and Buffalo OTA channels with my antenna, and I could also get Rochester channels if I wanted with another antenna aimed farther east. Most Canadian live close to the US border so are close enough.

I always thought it was dumb that cable channels charge you for carrying the major networks that are available free OTA. There should be a cable package that is cheaper that excludes the OTA channels and is several dollars cheaper.

@KeithAbbott - Do you pull in channels from Windsor, Ontario on your antenna (assuming that you have one).
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2022, 01:28 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
@KeithAbbott - Do you pull in channels from Windsor, Ontario on your antenna (assuming that you have one).
I do have an antenna (mounted in my attic), but I am in the process of upgrading to a better one. It will still be in the attic, not only to keep it out of sight but also to avoid it getting damaged by the elements. The downside of having an attic antenna is that the signal strength/quality takes a bit of a hit. Also, the location of my house gives me an almost straight shot to the major local signal towers, but the major Canadian tower is not in that path. I can pull in CBET, but there are occasional artifacts, so I tend to just stick with CBET via cable television. The main thing that I would watch Canadian channels for is sports; especially olympics, which will be coming soon. US sports broadcasts just have too much fluff in them...
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.9.2, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-12-2022, 02:15 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Yes, the Canadian Olympic coverage is way better. I am a bit NE of downtown Toronto and due North of Buffalo so one antenna is able to pick up both. It used to be in my attic but a few years ago I mounted it on the exterior wall at the peak of my roof so it looks out over my roof.

I am pretty far from some of the Buffalo transmitters, as much as 81 miles, but I get very good reception, other than things like heavy thunderstorms.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-12-2022, 03:10 PM
emveepee emveepee is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
US sports broadcasts just have too much fluff in them...
Give a choice I don't know any Canadian who'd watch the Superbowl on a Canadian channel and miss the American commercials.

I found that CBC Gem not CBC was the place to watch the last Olympics. There was even a great Kodi addon. VPN users could probably have accessed it too.

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-12-2022, 03:15 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
That's true for the Super bowl commercials. But that point is moot if you can pick up the US network OTA as the simsub rules don't apply in that instance..

This past summer you could watch any Olympic activity via the CBC website or their app - it was great because you got to choose exactly what you wanted. Some of the coverage didn't have broadcasters or you were listening to the international feed, but that was fine.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new server - paid help? profit The SageTV Community 0 08-06-2015 01:44 PM
I paid for the paid version of comskip, now what? Hunter69 SageTV Customizations 22 10-13-2011 06:08 AM
How my HD100's have Practically Paid for themselves paulbeers SageTV Media Extender 7 03-10-2010 05:07 PM
Is There A Better Paid Version? stevec5000 SageTV Software 19 11-22-2009 03:08 PM
I paid up rockwella General Discussion 1 03-17-2007 08:35 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.