SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV EPG Service

Notices

SageTV EPG Service Discussion related to the SageTV EPG Service used within SageTV. Questions about service area coverage, channel lineups, EPG listings, XMLTV, or anything else related to the service or programming guide data for SageTV should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-13-2012, 04:02 PM
mrrrl mrrrl is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Draper, Utah
Posts: 133
Now that mc2xml EPG Plugin is dead...

OK, looks like we have 6 more months to get another viable EPG service running. I was following Slugger's mc2xml EPG Plugin, which looked very good and promising, but he is no longer updating as he has moved on to other projects outside of SageTV. He will answer questions but no more upgrades or bug fixes. I would like to look at options over the next few months and try to see which works the best. I for one plan on keeping SageTV up and running for as long as possible. V7 is such a wonderful product and is very stable. I have been running SageTV since Jan 2006 so its grown on me.

So what has everyone else found, or is using, or ...

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2012, 05:42 PM
gabrielcab gabrielcab is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 287
I can only beg for narflex to maintain the EPG up and running at least until Google gives us another option sage alike. For me I can stay with SageTV until the television change to holograms or a laser that project the picture inside our retina.
__________________
Waiting for Sage 8.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2012, 07:42 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Hmm... I don't want to make any false promises, but I will say this:

I currently use the mc2xml EPG plugin (have been using it for months) and plan on using it as long as I continue to use SageTV. As long as I continue to use Sage, you are pretty much assured that this plugin will work. I can't promise how long that will be other than to say that as long as I'm using it, I'll deliver updates to ensure that it keeps working on my system - and therefore, presumably, anyone else's who is using it.

I'll never go back to the Sage EPG and so I keep actively using it every day so if it were to break it'd be a quick fix.*

What will not happen is quick (if any) response to feature requests. Even bug reports that don't affect my install are unlikely to be addressed at this point. However, I can tell you I haven't touched the code in months for anything and it continues to operate fine. As long as the source EPG data's format doesn't change then there isn't likely ever going to be a need to touch the code - it really isn't all that complicated a plugin -- basically a glorified XML processor.

* I use this plugin, but I use mc2xml to grab my EPG data via the Schedule's Direct option. I pay the $25/yr for access to the SD data feed instead of using the MS data feed so if you're using the MS data feed and that feed were to break then you may not get a quick response (or any response) at all from me since an MS feed breakage won't affect my environment. But, as I said, the code for this plugin really is rather straightforward and I'd gladly accept a quick patch and build it and drop it in the repository for people. I'd probably even address quick fixes for the MS feed if they were brought to my attention - but I wouldn't expect like a same day fix, especially if I had to write it. As I've said, I'm still around and would definitely be willing to support this plugin for people as long as I have a SageTV environment myself, which I expect will be the case for some time to come.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...

Last edited by Slugger; 06-13-2012 at 07:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2012, 07:42 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrrrl View Post
OK, looks like we have 6 more months to get another viable EPG service running. I was following Slugger's mc2xml EPG Plugin, which looked very good and promising, but he is no longer updating as he has moved on to other projects outside of SageTV. He will answer questions but no more upgrades or bug fixes. I would like to look at options over the next few months and try to see which works the best. I for one plan on keeping SageTV up and running for as long as possible. V7 is such a wonderful product and is very stable. I have been running SageTV since Jan 2006 so its grown on me.

So what has everyone else found, or is using, or ...

Thanks
There are no Bugs I have been on it for a while since Sage is not changing anymore what makes you think this is not a viable solution? and if you look in the Customization forum you will see that Slugger has answered questions and has offered help? You should really do a little more research before saying something is dead.

Slugger beat me to it.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 06-13-2012 at 07:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-13-2012, 07:54 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slugger View Post
* I use this plugin, but I use mc2xml to grab my EPG data via the Schedule's Direct option. I pay the $25/yr for access to the SD data feed instead of using the MS data feed so if you're using the MS data feed and that feed were to break then you may not get a quick response (or any response) at all from me since an MS feed breakage won't affect my environment. But, as I said, the code for this plugin really is rather straightforward and I'd gladly accept a quick patch and build it and drop it in the repository for people. I'd probably even address quick fixes for the MS feed if they were brought to my attention - but I wouldn't expect like a same day fix, especially if I had to write it. As I've said, I'm still around and would definitely be willing to support this plugin for people as long as I have a SageTV environment myself, which I expect will be the case for some time to come.
Forgot to mention that the docs for the plugin clearly state that only the MS legacy data feed is "officially" supported and though that is technically true, the SD feed is, obviously, possible (since I use it), but not "officially" supported. There are limitations to using the SD feed (the big one being multiple SD lineups configured in your SD account won't play nice when used via this plugin). That limitation is overcome with some work to the code, but I never got around to it before I "retired" and since I only have one lineup in my SD account, I didn't really need to address this particular limitation. Because of the support nightmare the limitation presents, I simply never "officially" supported that data source, but I mention this here for those who want to accept this limitation and work around it should you want to use the SD data feed via mc2xml to feed your Sage EPG.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-13-2012, 08:54 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,117
we are all indebted to what you have created. if Sage EPG does go dark, please don't out-rule a subscription fee to ensure access to future listings. If you took a poll, I think you could ensure steady income. Sage 7, as it stands, will keep me happy for YEARS to come, unless there is some radical change in TV technology, and judging by how long we have stuck with not-the-same-color, I don't see Sage loosing much steam
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300’s networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-14-2012, 09:31 AM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slugger View Post
.....There are limitations to using the SD feed (the big one being multiple SD lineups configured in your SD account won't play nice when used via this plugin).....
I use mc2xml with SD subscription and two lineups - one OTA and one DirecTV. I use two lineup folders like with MS Legacy - but for the OTA lineup I filter in only the channels that are numbered under 100 and for the DirecTV lineup filter out the channels numbered below 100.

This works easily for me because I never record the local channels using my DirecTV boxes - only record those with my OTA tuners.
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-14-2012, 03:40 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelenWeathers View Post
I use mc2xml with SD subscription and two lineups - one OTA and one DirecTV. I use two lineup folders like with MS Legacy - but for the OTA lineup I filter in only the channels that are numbered under 100 and for the DirecTV lineup filter out the channels numbered below 100.

This works easily for me because I never record the local channels using my DirecTV boxes - only record those with my OTA tuners.
Yes, that's the other alternative. The issue is that mc2xml downloads all configured SD lineups in a single xml file and doesn't download the individual lineup info so there's no way to split the lineups apart based on the received xml file. So, as you figured out, you'd have to create multiple lineups with the plugin and filter out the channels for each lineup within Sage.

I've partially implemented a web client capable of communicating directly with SD, which can then get your lineup details and sort it all out automatically, but I never got around to finishing and have no need for it myself so it's not likely to be finished now. Maybe when the Sage EPG is no more and if there's enough demand for it, I'll finish it.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-18-2012, 06:17 PM
jhowelljr jhowelljr is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Gautier, MS
Posts: 3
no epg data

First thanks Slugger for your contributions and support and for all the others who contribute to this great community.

My issue is epg data has ceased to update and my lineup shows no data for all channels.

I am running Sage version 7.1.9.7 March 10, 2012 Name: SageTV7

When attempting updates for the epg, an error occurs saying something to the order of "unable to connect to server".

Decided to try the mc2xml plugin but I am unable to successfully navigate the process.

Following the user guide at http://code.google.com/p/sagetv-addo...mlEpgUserGuide I am noticing slight differences that may be contributors or misunderstandings on my part.

First, I notice that the server software is specified. I am running a stand-alone installation of Sage.

When I run the mc2xml command from the cmd window, the xmltv file is generated and based on the contents seems to contain the appropriate data. But when I try to set up a video source, I get to the screen where I am to choose my cable or satellite provider but there are none listed therefore I can not proceed with setting up the video source.

I notice when I attempt to configure the mc2xml plugin the four options listed are the location of the xml file, sd login name, sd password, and number of days to download. The guide mentions two executing filters options and a refresh option which I do not see.

I have resorted to setting up my video source with no epg data as I can not seem to move forward or backward on this issue at this time. Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-19-2012, 10:03 AM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhowelljr View Post
I am running Sage version 7.1.9.7 March 10, 2012 Name: SageTV7

When attempting updates for the epg, an error occurs saying something to the order of "unable to connect to server".
You should probably contact Sage support. The Sage EPG server should still be fully functional for all, as far as I know, but I don't personally use it so I can't say for certain though I suspect there'd be quite a flood of messages if the EPG server were down.

Quote:
Decided to try the mc2xml plugin but I am unable to successfully navigate the process.

Following the user guide at http://code.google.com/p/sagetv-addo...mlEpgUserGuide I am noticing slight differences that may be contributors or misunderstandings on my part.

First, I notice that the server software is specified. I am running a stand-alone installation of Sage.
This should not matter. The instructions should be the same regardless.

Quote:
When I run the mc2xml command from the cmd window, the xmltv file is generated and based on the contents seems to contain the appropriate data. But when I try to set up a video source, I get to the screen where I am to choose my cable or satellite provider but there are none listed therefore I can not proceed with setting up the video source.
This (usually) means you did not create the lineup.properties file required inside your lineup directory or it was not created properly. It must be named literally "lineup.properties" inside the directory you created for your lineup. Reread this section of the user's guide. Pay special attention to the subsection "Configure mc2xml > Windows"

Quote:
I notice when I attempt to configure the mc2xml plugin the four options listed are the location of the xml file, sd login name, sd password, and number of days to download. The guide mentions two executing filters options and a refresh option which I do not see.
The SD login/pwd options can be ignored. They are not fully implemented and are ignored by the plugin. The filter options are missing, presumably, because you are not running the licensed version of the plugin. The filter, thetvdb.com, and other functionality is only enabled in the licensed version and unavailable features are not shown on the config screen.

Please also move any other support questions to this thread. I subscribe to that thread and will definitely see posts to it. I may or may not see support questions in other threads such as this one. You got lucky this time and I happened to read this thread, I may not continue to do so.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-19-2012, 07:30 PM
jhowelljr jhowelljr is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Gautier, MS
Posts: 3
thank you slugger for your response

will update as i am able to work through the process.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-24-2012, 06:05 PM
sdsean's Avatar
sdsean sdsean is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 568
Uh just curious:

Quote:
OK, looks like we have 6 more months to get another viable EPG service running
Why do you say that? Are you just basing that on what the Sage guys said forever ago?
__________________
AMD Ryzen 9 3900XT 12 Core+HT, 64GB DDR5, GeForce 1060, MSI Prestige x570 Creation Mobo, SIIG 4 port Serial PCIe Card, Win10, 1TB M.2 SSD OS HDD, 1 URay HDMI Network Encoder, 3 HD-PVR, 4 DirecTV STB serial tuned


Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD-PVR dead? wayner Hardware Support 29 04-27-2015 01:45 PM
Plugin: mc2xml EPG Plugin Slugger SageTV v7 Customizations 281 06-08-2013 11:27 AM
MC2XML and XMLTV Importer for SageTV nyplayer SageTV EPG Service 3 07-25-2011 05:54 PM
Sigh… EPG Dead as usual (using Zap2It plugin for Canadian listings) FreeBSD4me SageTV EPG Service 18 09-15-2005 08:19 AM
How can you tell when your 250 is dead EncoderHouse Hardware Support 6 07-15-2004 04:13 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.