SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v9 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v9 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 9 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 9 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-13-2022, 08:37 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,564
Jetty Web Server v3 released - plus more

The update of the Jetty Web Server to support Jetty 9 (old version was Jetty 6) is now completed and released.

IMPORTANT

This is an "All or nothing update"...most old apps will not work with Jetty 9 and the updated apps will not work with jetty 6. Please take the time to update Jetty and then each web app you use.


Install/Update process
Troubleshooting
  • Clear cache in web browser before running any of the updated web apps.
  • Upload logs from - logs/jettystarter.log
  • With SageTV stopped - clean out any FOLDERS from the jetty/webapps folder other than "apidocs" folder if that exists. Do NOT delete any of the .war FILES. Restart SageTV

Features/Changes
  • Jetty 9...supports Java 8+
  • new feature to set default app in plugin configuration
  • new feature to disable login security in plugin confguration
  • update to the /apps webapp
  • enables future web app development

Recommended Java version = 8 or 11 (will not work with Java 7)
Note: Due to lack of direct support of Javascript in Java 16+, some web apps may not fully function...may review in future. Java 8 and 11 seem fine

Updates
  • Jetty Starter - updated to Jetty 9.4.44
  • SageTV Web Applications - lists and links to all web apps running on SageTV Jetty 9 server
  • SageTV Web Interface - SkiingWiz has completed the update
  • SageTV Mobile Web Interface - updated to support Jetty9
  • Media Streaming Services - used by Mobile Web Interface
  • SageTV Sagex API Extensions (sagex-api) - updated to Jetty9
  • SageTV Sagex Remote API Services (sagex-services) - updated to Jetty9
  • SageTV Swagger interface for Sagex remote api testing - updated to Jetty9 and newer swagger ui
  • Batch Metadata Tools - Web Interface - updated to Jetty9
  • SageAlerts - updated to work with Jetty9 (only works on Java 8)
  • SJQ - tested and works with Jetty9
  • SJQ Web UI - minor changes to allow to install with SageTV 9
  • SRE - SkiingWiz updated to work with Jetty9

Attached Images
File Type: png WebApplications.png (80.7 KB, 464 views)
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page

Last edited by jusjoken; 01-15-2022 at 11:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-13-2022, 08:39 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,564








Attached Images
File Type: png WebUI_Screenshot.png (74.6 KB, 437 views)
File Type: png MobileWebApp.png (76.3 KB, 442 views)
File Type: png BMT.png (86.3 KB, 429 views)
File Type: png SagexAPI_Swagger.png (81.2 KB, 438 views)
File Type: png SageAlert.png (16.9 KB, 435 views)
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-13-2022, 09:34 AM
hvymetal hvymetal is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 143
Nice Job...Thanks for your development
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-13-2022, 10:20 AM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,207
Thanks a bunch. I'm proud to be a member of your Patreon page!
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-13-2022, 02:22 PM
egeller egeller is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 309
So what do I change to remove the password requirement?

It used to be in the XML files in the ../jetty/contexts folder, but I see that they did not get updated. Therefore, I'm guessing that it is no longer used.

In the jettystarter.log I saw a note "updateJettyConfigFilesPropertyForJetty9 - No Extra Jetty configuration files are specified in Sage.properties".
Do I need to create an extra Jetty configuration and reference it in Sage.properties?
__________________
Server:UnRaid;2x Intel Xeon E5; SuperMicro moboard;Also:BM3000 w/ WMC; 2x Ceton ETH 6; OpenDCT
SageTV Extender:3x HD200 1x HD300 1xFireTV
Sage TV: 9.2, Standard STVi, Comskip Playback, Web Interface, 24 Hour Clock, SRE, Playon
All in lovely Drexel Hill, PA
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-13-2022, 04:24 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by egeller View Post
So what do I change to remove the password requirement?

It used to be in the XML files in the ../jetty/contexts folder, but I see that they did not get updated. Therefore, I'm guessing that it is no longer used.

In the jettystarter.log I saw a note "updateJettyConfigFilesPropertyForJetty9 - No Extra Jetty configuration files are specified in Sage.properties".
Do I need to create an extra Jetty configuration and reference it in Sage.properties?
I thought that there was no way of removing the password in the previous version of the web server. There is a way of forming the URL with the username and password if that would work for you.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-13-2022, 04:57 PM
jhkoenig's Avatar
jhkoenig jhkoenig is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 181
So the Jetty update went very well, along with the other plugins, except for the SageTV Web Interface. It now shows:
HTTP ERROR 404 Not Found
URI: /sage/Home
STATUS: 404
MESSAGE: Not Found
SERVLET: -

Any thoughts on what I did wrong?
__________________
Win10@16GB RAM, 30TB Disk across 6 disks. 2 Prime tuner units
Sage v9 (64bit) using OpenDCT to control the Primes
2 HD-300s, an Android mini-client, and a Windows client
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-13-2022, 05:01 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by egeller View Post
So what do I change to remove the password requirement?

It used to be in the XML files in the ../jetty/contexts folder, but I see that they did not get updated. Therefore, I'm guessing that it is no longer used.

In the jettystarter.log I saw a note "updateJettyConfigFilesPropertyForJetty9 - No Extra Jetty configuration files are specified in Sage.properties".
Do I need to create an extra Jetty configuration and reference it in Sage.properties?
The short answer is you can't. I was unable to find a clean programmatic was to toggle off the security and the security setup is embedded inside the war and jar.

Can you detail your use case for this and I can spend more time to figure it out in the new jetty 9 model.

K
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-13-2022, 05:02 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhkoenig View Post
So the Jetty update went very well, along with the other plugins, except for the SageTV Web Interface. It now shows:
HTTP ERROR 404 Not Found
URI: /sage/Home
STATUS: 404
MESSAGE: Not Found
SERVLET: -

Any thoughts on what I did wrong?
Did you launch that from the apps list or from an old favorite?
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-13-2022, 05:21 PM
jhkoenig's Avatar
jhkoenig jhkoenig is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
Did you launch that from the apps list or from an old favorite?
Either way fails. It seems to be a pathing issue.

What used to be at:
http://192.168.1.49:8080/sage/Home

is now at:
http://192.168.1.49:8080/nielm_sagew...sage/menu.html

but, of course, all of the links point to the old locations.
__________________
Win10@16GB RAM, 30TB Disk across 6 disks. 2 Prime tuner units
Sage v9 (64bit) using OpenDCT to control the Primes
2 HD-300s, an Android mini-client, and a Windows client
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-13-2022, 05:27 PM
egeller egeller is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
The short answer is you can't. I was unable to find a clean programmatic was to toggle off the security and the security setup is embedded inside the war and jar.

Can you detail your use case for this and I can spend more time to figure it out in the new jetty 9 model.

K
My use case is simple. I have no need for authentication within the confines of my home network. In the past, when the web interface was updated, I usually needed to apply the fix, described below, upon each update of the plug-in.

Below are my notes from my server maintenance documentation. In short, changing
<Set name="authenticate">true</Set>
to
<Set name="authenticate">false</Set>
in three xml files in ..jetty/contexts did the trick.
Notes start here
[passwords to false Sage Server]
to remove password requirement modfiy app.xml; also nielm_websrv.xml; also bmt.xml
set authenticate to false.

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...ord#post449493
__________________
Server:UnRaid;2x Intel Xeon E5; SuperMicro moboard;Also:BM3000 w/ WMC; 2x Ceton ETH 6; OpenDCT
SageTV Extender:3x HD200 1x HD300 1xFireTV
Sage TV: 9.2, Standard STVi, Comskip Playback, Web Interface, 24 Hour Clock, SRE, Playon
All in lovely Drexel Hill, PA
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-13-2022, 05:30 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhkoenig View Post
Either way fails. It seems to be a pathing issue.

What used to be at:
http://192.168.1.49:8080/sage/Home

is now at:
http://192.168.1.49:8080/nielm_sagew...sage/menu.html

but, of course, all of the links point to the old locations.
I see. I believe you have an old temp folder in the jetty webapps folder that needs to be deleted. SageTV may need to be stopped to delete it. It is likely named nielm...
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-13-2022, 05:31 PM
jhkoenig's Avatar
jhkoenig jhkoenig is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 181
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhkoenig View Post
Either way fails. It seems to be a pathing issue.

What used to be at:
http://192.168.1.49:8080/sage/Home

is now at:
http://192.168.1.49:8080/nielm_sagew...sage/menu.html

but, of course, all of the links point to the old locations.
Problem solved. It turns out that updating or deleting the old Web Server plugin did not delete the files on the server. I deleted the plugin, then deleted the folder, installed the plugin, and everything works great.

Thanks for the hard work! It is great to have all the updated code!
__________________
Win10@16GB RAM, 30TB Disk across 6 disks. 2 Prime tuner units
Sage v9 (64bit) using OpenDCT to control the Primes
2 HD-300s, an Android mini-client, and a Windows client
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-13-2022, 05:59 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Great work Ken. Thanks for keeping this going for everyone.

For everyone that is not already doing this then please make sure that you support Ken on Patreon. https://www.patreon.com/user?u=58035567
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-13-2022, 06:05 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by egeller View Post
My use case is simple. I have no need for authentication within the confines of my home network. In the past, when the web interface was updated, I usually needed to apply the fix, described below, upon each update of the plug-in.

Below are my notes from my server maintenance documentation. In short, changing
<Set name="authenticate">true</Set>
to
<Set name="authenticate">false</Set>
in three xml files in ..jetty/contexts did the trick.
Notes start here
[passwords to false Sage Server]
to remove password requirement modfiy app.xml; also nielm_websrv.xml; also bmt.xml
set authenticate to false.

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...ord#post449493
I agree and support this and can look into a solution but it is the item I spent the most amount of time on already and did not find a solution. But will try

K.
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-13-2022, 10:41 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by egeller View Post
My use case is simple. I have no need for authentication within the confines of my home network. In the past, when the web interface was updated, I usually needed to apply the fix, described below, upon
Here is how I deal with this issue in a driver I wrote for my home automation system that uses the WebRemote to control SageTV.

All URLs include the username and password. Depending on how you are doing things this might work for you.

http://sage:frey@192.168.1.251:8080/...tServerAddress

To get to the home page of the SageTV web UI you would use:
http://sage:frey@192.168.1.251:8080/sage/Home

You might be able to set up some other way, like a reverse proxy, to insert the userass as a prefix to the URL.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-14-2022, 02:52 AM
Eternal Eternal is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 76
completely broken for me on 32 bit sage 9.2.6.976

503 error as soon as I updated the plugin.

uninstalled all plugins that depended on jetty and deleted jetty folder and jar files and only installed jetty and the web interface and still 503. Url automatically adds the /apps to 127.0.0.1:8081 but nothing loads

solved: didnt want to redo all the settings and tuner info by nuking everything so did a clean install on a vm and installed all the exact same plugins then copied over the jar, jetty, webserver folders so it works now, not sure what the problem was

Last edited by Eternal; 01-14-2022 at 04:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-14-2022, 05:48 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eternal View Post
completely broken for me on 32 bit sage 9.2.6.976

503 error as soon as I updated the plugin.

uninstalled all plugins that depended on jetty and deleted jetty folder and jar files and only installed jetty and the web interface and still 503. Url automatically adds the /apps to 127.0.0.1:8081 but nothing loads

solved: didnt want to redo all the settings and tuner info by nuking everything so did a clean install on a vm and installed all the exact same plugins then copied over the jar, jetty, webserver folders so it works now, not sure what the problem was
Glad you worked it out and sorry for your pain...this was/is a massive update.

K
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-14-2022, 07:29 AM
DarkWolf77 DarkWolf77 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 161
I seem to be getting an error updating SageTV Web interface to 4.0.0... I'm getting a FAILED resource download error for the sage-webui-jar-4.0.0.zip file. When I manually type the url into a browser, it's just timing out.


Edit: Nevermind! Seems that my firewall is the culprit. Disabling it for a second fixed it long enough to let it run.
Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot 2022-01-14 082253.png (91.6 KB, 21 views)

Last edited by DarkWolf77; 01-14-2022 at 07:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-14-2022, 07:32 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkWolf77 View Post
I seem to be getting an error updating SageTV Web interface to 4.0.0... I'm getting a FAILED resource download error for the sage-webui-jar-4.0.0.zip file. When I manually type the url into a browser, it's just timing out.
I imagine it was just an issue with bitbucket where the file is. I just tried it and the zip was available.

K
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugin: Jetty Web Server 2.0 jreichen SageTV v7 Customizations 389 06-19-2021 09:38 PM
Jetty Web Server (status update) stuckless SageTV Github Development 65 09-19-2016 08:34 AM
Another Jetty Web Server issue mlcarson SageTV v9 Customizations 2 09-19-2016 05:08 AM
Jetty Web Server Issue Ghildebr SageTV v9 Customizations 17 09-03-2016 09:52 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.