SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-27-2005, 03:59 PM
abasu2003's Avatar
abasu2003 abasu2003 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 551
Memory leak in Sage?

I have seen this pretty consistently when running sage in service mode but for some reason never reported it here. I'm sure most of you ahve seen this but, it seems like, for whatever reason, SageTV.exe just starts to shoot up in memory and it never comes back down. The only solution is to restart Sage and it comes back down to a reasonable number. Whenever the memory gets really high, the UI becomes sluggish, doesn't respond to key presses, etc. Just now, it shot up to 175Megs of memory. I restarted and its back to 65M. Playing live tv makes it go to around 80-100M, which is still manageable, but anything more and it gets sluggish again. This is only for the UI part, and as far as i can tell, the SageTVService.exe seems pretty constant in its memory usage.

Anybody else seen this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-27-2005, 04:08 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Haven't seen this. I've had my instance running for 98 days now. And I run it in service mode. I also have a client running on this machine and another client for MVP use.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-27-2005, 05:37 PM
Wheemer's Avatar
Wheemer Wheemer is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Deer Lake, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,493
I've seen norton cause this, however excluding the record folder din't solve it. I deleted and reinstall norton and all seems to be fine again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-27-2005, 05:50 PM
abasu2003's Avatar
abasu2003 abasu2003 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 551
I have no norton on my system
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-27-2005, 06:02 PM
AndyS AndyS is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 383
I've seen this with the client (running on an MVP). The problem happens pretty consistently. I've been able to get it to reduce its memory overhead by sending it to sleep or minimizing it to the system-tray, but the fix is only temporary.

I've occasionally also seen this with the Sage server in Service mode. The only fix then is to restart the service.

All in all it's pretty annoying. This problem is the only thing that makes Sage unstable. I doubled the memory on the server (which also runs the MVP Client mentioned above) but that just meant the memory overhead gets bigger before the same eventual symptoms show.

I'm currently running 2.2.2 Beta on Win2K3 server. I'm running Java 1.4.2b28.

Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-27-2005, 06:41 PM
abasu2003's Avatar
abasu2003 abasu2003 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 551
I'm using windows xp/java 1.5
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.